IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

16 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Game Emu Player (foo_gep) by kode54, Was “Game Emu Player” subt. “feature request” / Now a catch-all thread
imiganai
post Feb 8 2008, 01:28
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 13-November 07
Member No.: 48713



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 7 2008, 14:46) *
QUOTE (imiganai @ Feb 6 2008, 16:29) *

Hmm, I seem to be having trouble tagging some .spc files.
From snesmusic.org, I have issues tagging Super Mario All-Stars and the two Mario Worlds. I haven't had (and still don't have) any trouble tagging others, such as EarthBound, but when I try to save the tags on, say, a Super Mario All-Stars track I get the error "Could not update tags (bad allocation) on: ___.spc".
Bad dump? Or foo_gep issue? I thought the snesmusic.org tracks were supposed to be of the highest quality, and Super Jukebox seems to be able to tag them...

Update the component and try again.

Hmm...just updated, and...same error. huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 9 2008, 00:12
Post #27





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (imiganai @ Feb 7 2008, 16:28) *
QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 7 2008, 14:46) *

QUOTE (imiganai @ Feb 6 2008, 16:29) *

Hmm, I seem to be having trouble tagging some .spc files.
From snesmusic.org, I have issues tagging Super Mario All-Stars and the two Mario Worlds. I haven't had (and still don't have) any trouble tagging others, such as EarthBound, but when I try to save the tags on, say, a Super Mario All-Stars track I get the error "Could not update tags (bad allocation) on: ___.spc".
Bad dump? Or foo_gep issue? I thought the snesmusic.org tracks were supposed to be of the highest quality, and Super Jukebox seems to be able to tag them...

Update the component and try again.

Hmm...just updated, and...same error. huh.gif

Oops, now it's fixed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
imiganai
post Feb 9 2008, 01:01
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 13-November 07
Member No.: 48713



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 8 2008, 15:12) *
Oops, now it's fixed.

Yes, it is! Thank you so much! laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
imiganai
post Feb 18 2008, 21:37
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 13-November 07
Member No.: 48713



Does GEP support tagging on genesis (GYM) files? I'm getting a "Could not update tags (Unsupported format or corrupted file) on:" error when I try to.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 18 2008, 23:30
Post #30





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



The only formats that support tag writing at this time are NSF/E and SPC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
imiganai
post Feb 18 2008, 23:36
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 13-November 07
Member No.: 48713



Ah, okay, thanks! Is support planned? I'm patient biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pixel
post Feb 26 2008, 03:26
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-February 08
Member No.: 51602



Hello kode54.
I recently downloaded a collection of GBS files from the GBS Penultimate Archive. Some of these GBS files have an 'extended m3u', or something like that, which allows them to have titles and different play times, but only a few of them work. For example, the GBS files for Final Fantasy Legends, Mario Tennis and Tales of Phantasia - Narikiri Dungeon will play, but their titles are mixed up, while other files, such as Donkey Kong Land 1-3 won't play at all. They all work in Winamp using NEZplug. Is there a possibility that you could support these extended m3u files? If not, it's alright, since the GBS files will play as intended, without titles, if I just remove or rename the m3u files. Otherwise, I would like to thank you for a kickass plugin. I don't know what I would do without it. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 26 2008, 04:47
Post #33





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Fixed, enjoy.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pixel
post Feb 27 2008, 03:51
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-February 08
Member No.: 51602



Wow, thanks for the speedy update. smile.gif
But there still seems to be a few issues. Donkey Kong Land 3 JP, Dragon Quest, Duck Tales, Kirby's Dream Land, Super Mario Land 1-2, Tetris and Tetris v1.0 still won't open, while Donkey Kong, Donkey Kong Country and Donkey Kong Land 1-3 will play, but the song titles/play time are only only shown on the foobar Title/Status bars, not the playlist itself. They also don't follow the designated play time, but use the default length instead.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 28 2008, 00:08
Post #35





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Pixel @ Feb 26 2008, 18:51) *
Wow, thanks for the speedy update. smile.gif
But there still seems to be a few issues. Donkey Kong Land 3 JP

Comma in the filename, followed by a date, was tripping up the filename parser. Fixed.

QUOTE (Pixel @ Feb 26 2008, 18:51) *
Dragon Quest

GBR, currently unsupported.

QUOTE (Pixel @ Feb 26 2008, 18:51) *
Duck Tales, Kirby's Dream Land, Super Mario Land 1-2, Tetris and Tetris v1.0 still won't open

Decimals in the length fields. Handled now.

QUOTE (Pixel @ Feb 26 2008, 18:51) *
while Donkey Kong, Donkey Kong Country and Donkey Kong Land 1-3 will play, but the song titles/play time are only only shown on the foobar Title/Status bars, not the playlist itself.

Force info reload, there's no way for the player to know that the metadata has changed since the modification times are the same.

QUOTE (Pixel @ Feb 26 2008, 18:51) *
They also don't follow the designated play time, but use the default length instead.

Fixed, this also affected AY, GYM, HES, KSS, and SAP files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pixel
post Feb 28 2008, 18:55
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-February 08
Member No.: 51602



Fantastic, thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Borisz
post Mar 17 2008, 18:09
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 381
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9041



With the latest version, GYM files only play PSG and DAC.

Is there a chance that we'll see looping/fadeout for vgm files?


--------------------
http://evilboris.sonic-cult.net/346/
Sega Saturn, Shiro!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Mar 17 2008, 23:18
Post #38





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Borisz @ Mar 17 2008, 10:09) *
With the latest version, GYM files only play PSG and DAC.

Not here.

QUOTE (Borisz @ Mar 17 2008, 10:09) *
Is there a chance that we'll see looping/fadeout for vgm files?

I may squeeze that into the preferences somewhere. Soonish, maybe.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Borisz
post Mar 18 2008, 05:05
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 381
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9041



QUOTE (kode54 @ Mar 17 2008, 23:18) *
Not here.

Strange, it only happens if you set the sampling rate to 53268 or above. Below that number, it plays fine.

QUOTE
I may squeeze that into the preferences somewhere. Soonish, maybe.

That would ne nice, I know it was asked before... years ago.


--------------------
http://evilboris.sonic-cult.net/346/
Sega Saturn, Shiro!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Mar 18 2008, 20:27
Post #40





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Borisz @ Mar 17 2008, 21:05) *
QUOTE (kode54 @ Mar 17 2008, 23:18) *

Not here.

Strange, it only happens if you set the sampling rate to 53268 or above. Below that number, it plays fine.

The resampler seems to be having trouble with upsampling the FM. Hmm...

QUOTE (Borisz @ Mar 17 2008, 21:05) *
QUOTE

I may squeeze that into the preferences somewhere. Soonish, maybe.

That would ne nice, I know it was asked before... years ago.

Done.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Borisz
post Mar 19 2008, 04:05
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 381
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9041



Nice. A few problems though, song length (as displayed on the playlist) is not updated per the loop info, making it impossible to seek in the subsequent loops. And its not possible to set fadeout lengths, even though there is a default one set. I think this and the lack of extra silence applied after tracks (selectable) is all that the old vgm plugin had to offer over foo_gep.

Also, sampling rate does not display, only when playback is active. This happend in foo_sid and foo_dumb as well.

This post has been edited by Borisz: Mar 19 2008, 04:08


--------------------
http://evilboris.sonic-cult.net/346/
Sega Saturn, Shiro!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Mar 19 2008, 19:19
Post #42





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Borisz @ Mar 18 2008, 20:05) *
Nice. A few problems though, song length (as displayed on the playlist) is not updated per the loop info, making it impossible to seek in the subsequent loops. And its not possible to set fadeout lengths, even though there is a default one set. I think this and the lack of extra silence applied after tracks (selectable) is all that the old vgm plugin had to offer over foo_gep.

Then I would need to make length reporting dynamic, as loop counts can change any time. Note that the default fade setting applies to VGM. Extra silence?

QUOTE (Borisz @ Mar 18 2008, 20:05) *
Also, sampling rate does not display, only when playback is active. This happend in foo_sid and foo_dumb as well.

That was suggested since the sample rate is configurable and not a property of the files themselves. The only format in foo_gep which reports the sample rate always is SPC, which is fixed at 32KHz.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Borisz
post Mar 20 2008, 00:39
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 381
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9041



I can see why length and samplerate is not displayed per settings, still, doesn't foobar re-read meta info every time the file is played? I know older versions did that. I much prefer exact length being reported, the only reason I can still seek in the vgm files is because I originally had them loaded with in_vgm in foobar 0.8, and still use that playlist.

About the extra silence: a selectable pause after tracks. One of the older versions of foo_vgm had it, I think. its similar to the option in the winamp plugin, cept it actually counts in the track length.


--------------------
http://evilboris.sonic-cult.net/346/
Sega Saturn, Shiro!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cutter
post Apr 14 2008, 23:34
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 266
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 10152



Kode54 can you please make it so that the "Playback override" settings are used by the converter? It would make it possible to rip separate tracks or samples from a tune.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Apr 15 2008, 00:26
Post #45





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Cutter @ Apr 14 2008, 15:34) *
Kode54 can you please make it so that the "Playback override" settings are used by the converter? It would make it possible to rip separate tracks or samples from a tune.

Since that dialog overrides track play time and silence detection so tracks never end, I don't see how it can work properly with the converter. I will have to work around that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
moozooh
post May 14 2008, 23:51
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 357
Joined: 22-September 04
From: Moscow
Member No.: 17192



Hey kode54, I've tried to find your foo_gep for 0.8.3, but failed. If you tell me the link, it will be greatly appreciated.


--------------------
Infrasonic Quartet + Sennheiser HD650 + Microlab Solo 2 mk3. 
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post May 15 2008, 01:10
Post #47





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Mo0zOoH @ May 14 2008, 15:51) *
Hey kode54, I've tried to find your foo_gep for 0.8.3, but failed. If you tell me the link, it will be greatly appreciated.


Here it is, but I must warn you, it hasn't been maintained since the end of 2005, so don't expect any of the new features or formats I've added since then.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nahkranoth
post May 15 2008, 13:27
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 12-March 08
Member No.: 51973



kode, is it possible to add support for .minisnsf files that can be found at Modland? It is music from SNES, just the format is kinda weird, I mean the layout of files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post May 15 2008, 20:02
Post #49





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Nahkranoth @ May 15 2008, 05:27) *
kode, is it possible to add support for .minisnsf files that can be found at Modland? It is music from SNES, just the format is kinda weird, I mean the layout of files.

That would require a more complete SNES emulator than is already required for SPC. So, not at this time.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zachastrife
post May 15 2008, 21:36
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 144
Joined: 27-March 05
Member No.: 20990



I just had to post even though I'm not using GEP ATM (no use for it right now, have used it before).
I'm really amazed at how you are really listening to everybody and the speed of your replies and fixes.
You are truly the way a component dev should be. Kudos to you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

16 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th August 2014 - 02:45