IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Reducing mp3 File Size While Retaining Tags
8tracks
post Jan 3 2006, 07:15
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 17252



I have my entire CD collection on my hard drive, with most encoded using LAME v3.90.3 "--alt-preset standard" (when this was still the preferred version). I'd like to reduce the size of a number of these files to place them on an older mp3 player. I know to optimize sound quality I should encode from the source .wav files, but I'm willing to trade the difference in sound for the time saved.

Is there a way, either on the command line or through a front-end GUI, that I can retain all my mp3 tags when I create an mp3 file from an mp3 file? With the following command I lose all my tags:

lame -V5 --vbr-new --mp3input "f:\mp3\Beatles\Revolver\01 - The Beatles - Taxman.mp3" "f:\mp3portable\Beatles\Revolver\01 - The Beatles - Taxman.mp3"


Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Jan 3 2006, 07:25
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



Foobar2000.


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
8tracks
post Jan 3 2006, 17:38
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 17252



QUOTE (dreamliner77 @ Jan 2 2006, 10:25 PM)
Foobar2000.
*


Can you give more details? I use fb2k to listen to mp3 files on my PC and to copy mp3 files in order to rename them starting with a playlist track number so my DVD player plays songs in the order I want. I also use the plugins replaygain to standardize volume and diskwriter to create .wav files from mp3 files.

How can I use fb2k to encode an mp3 file from an existing mp3 file? Will I be able to place files in multiple directories in one pass (when converting files in \Beatles\Help and \Beatles\Revolver will I be able to place the new files in respectively different directories)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rutra80
post Jan 3 2006, 20:09
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 810
Joined: 12-September 03
Member No.: 8821



QUOTE (8tracks @ Jan 3 2006, 06:38 PM)
How can I use fb2k to encode an mp3 file from an existing mp3 file?
*

With the same thing you use to create .wav files from mp3 files - with Diskwriter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
8tracks
post Jan 3 2006, 23:05
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 17252



QUOTE (rutra80 @ Jan 3 2006, 11:09 AM)
QUOTE (8tracks @ Jan 3 2006, 06:38 PM)
How can I use fb2k to encode an mp3 file from an existing mp3 file?
*

With the same thing you use to create .wav files from mp3 files - with Diskwriter.
*



I only see two output options for the diskwriter component and both are .wav files. I've combed through the fb2k components forum and cannot figure out how to get any type of dialog box that includes mp3 settings. I assume I will need to place my lame_enc.dll somewhere (components directory?), but I can't find anything regarding that either.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gfngfgf
post Jan 4 2006, 02:52
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 2-November 04
Member No.: 17951



You'll need the Command-Line Encoder plugin for foobar2000 (foo_clienc.dll), and lame.exe (NOT lame_enc.dll).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Shade[ST]
post Jan 4 2006, 03:07
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1189
Joined: 19-May 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 22144



The current foobar beta comes with the diskwriter preconfigured with lame; all you need is to get the current recommended lame version (3.97b2), place it anywhere (it will ask for the path) and you can set the quality with a slider.

http://foobar2000.org/beta/index.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 05:53