IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Conversion failed: File is already in use
golfer20636
post Jan 10 2013, 04:00
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-January 13
Member No.: 105751



I am getting "Conversion failed: File is already in use" when using the file converter to go from FLAC to AAC(Nero). This issue seems to be related to having a duplicate album. I have the software set up to skip, if file already exists. I'm running v1.2.


Duplicate album paths:

E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration
E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration_


Converter Status Report:

8 out of 24 tracks converted with major problems.

Source: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration_\01 Plainsong.flac"
Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) : "C:\Users\user\Desktop\New folder (2)\The Cure - Disintegration - 01 Plainsong.m4a"
Conversion failed: File is already in use
Source: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration_\02 Pictures Of You.flac"
Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) : "C:\Users\user\Desktop\New folder (2)\The Cure - Disintegration - 02 Pictures Of You.m4a"
Conversion failed: File is already in use
Source: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration\03 Closedown.flac"
Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) : "C:\Users\user\Desktop\New folder (2)\The Cure - Disintegration - 03 Closedown.m4a"
Conversion failed: File is already in use
Source: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration_\04 Lovesong.flac"
Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) : "C:\Users\user\Desktop\New folder (2)\The Cure - Disintegration - 04 Lovesong.m4a"
Conversion failed: File is already in use
Source: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration\05 Last Dance.flac"
Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) : "C:\Users\user\Desktop\New folder (2)\The Cure - Disintegration - 05 Last Dance.m4a"
Conversion failed: File is already in use
Source: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration_\06 Lullaby.flac"
Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) : "C:\Users\user\Desktop\New folder (2)\The Cure - Disintegration - 06 Lullaby.m4a"
Conversion failed: File is already in use
Skipped: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration_\07 Fascination Street.flac"
Skipped: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration\08 Prayers For Rain.flac"
Skipped: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration\09 The Same Deep Water As You.flac"
Skipped: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration_\10 Disintegration.flac"
Source: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration_\11 Homesick.flac"
Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) : "C:\Users\user\Desktop\New folder (2)\The Cure - Disintegration - 11 Homesick.m4a"
Conversion failed: File is already in use
Source: "E:\Music\The Cure\Disintegration\12 Untitled.flac"
Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) : "C:\Users\user\Desktop\New folder (2)\The Cure - Disintegration - 12 Untitled.m4a"
Conversion failed: File is already in use
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 10 2013, 04:39
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 4689
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



That is likely due to multi-threading the conversion process, when two or more threads try to convert to the same target at once. Quite an interesting error case.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
techsav
post Jan 4 2014, 13:30
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 4-January 14
Member No.: 113779



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 10 2013, 03:39) *
That is likely due to multi-threading the conversion process, when two or more threads try to convert to the same target at once. Quite an interesting error case.


I have a similar problem. I have recently purchased Sansa Clip+ and I am trying to play by FLAC files (Mix of 24 bit and 16 bit) on it knowing that Clip+ supports this format. However, when I try to play FLAC songs, some of the songs get skipped.

I read lots of threads around this topic with following being the reasons -
1. Clip+ does not support 24 bit
2. Tool -> reference libFLAC 1.2.1 20070917 (this is an issue even with 16 bit)

And I agree with this as this is my observation as well.

And the recommendation was to use foobar2k convert function to convert these songs to 16 bit and tool -> libFLAC 1.3.0 20130526.

I am trying to do this but get following error with no conversion - 1 out of 1 tracks converted with major problems. Source: "filepath\filename" Unable to open file for writing (File is already in use) "filepath\filename" Conversion Failed: File is already in use.

I am using foobar2000 v1.3 and Free_Encoder_Pack_2013-12-06.exe. And I perform following steps for the conversion -

1. Add FLAC songs to the default playlist (tried single and multiple songs conversion with same error)
2. Right click songs and select convert with following options
- Output file format: FLAC, Output bit depth: 16-bit, Dither:never, Compression Level: tried all 0-8
- Output path: Source track folder (as I don't want to create another copy but overwrite existing one), If file already exists: Overwrite, Name format: %filename% (as I want to overwrite existing file)
- ReplayGain: None (default selection)
- In Other tab - no selection except Transfer attached pictures checked (default)

Could you please let me know what am I doing wrong? And how to resolve this problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jan 4 2014, 13:44
Post #4





Group: Developer
Posts: 3464
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



It's not possible to overwrite an input file.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
techsav
post Jan 4 2014, 15:09
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 4-January 14
Member No.: 113779



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Jan 4 2014, 12:44) *
It's not possible to overwrite an input file.

Could you please elaborate?

Understood that you cannot write back on the same file while its being converted. However, my thinking was while each file is being converted a temporary file (unknown extn) is created for the converted file. And when the conversion is complete, the source file is overwritten with converted file.

What else is this option "Output path: Source track folder" for?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Jan 4 2014, 16:12
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4483
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (techsav @ Jan 4 2014, 15:09) *
What else is this option "Output path: Source track folder" for?
Conversion between different formats or - more generally - for when the output file name is different from the input file name.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
techsav
post Jan 4 2014, 18:15
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 4-January 14
Member No.: 113779



QUOTE (foosion @ Jan 4 2014, 15:12) *
QUOTE (techsav @ Jan 4 2014, 15:09) *
What else is this option "Output path: Source track folder" for?
Conversion between different formats or - more generally - for when the output file name is different from the input file name.

Ok, thanks foosion.
Is there anyway by which I can retain my source folder (album) structure while converting files?
I have collection some 1000 plus flac files Organised in folder/album structure. And I want to convert all these songs in one go while retaining the source folder structure. How do I achieve this using foobar2000?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LifeWOutMilk
post Jan 4 2014, 18:37
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 13-October 12
Member No.: 103827



QUOTE (techsav @ Jan 4 2014, 10:15) *
Is there anyway by which I can retain my source folder (album) structure while converting files?
I have collection some 1000 plus flac files Organised in folder/album structure. And I want to convert all these songs in one go while retaining the source folder structure. How do I achieve this using foobar2000?


You can still use the source folder option, but rename the output file to include something that differentiates it from the original. Of course, you'll need to have space available for the converted tracks plus the original until you delete the originals.

What I would do, use source folder, and and then use %filename%-16 for the output filenames, this will allow you to convert, then you can easily filter out all the tracks that don't have "-16" in the filename and remove them.

Depending on how much space you have available, you can convert an album or group of tracks at a time.

This post has been edited by LifeWOutMilk: Jan 4 2014, 18:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Jan 4 2014, 18:38
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4871
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



in the Destination bit of the converter, try this as the pattern...

CODE
$replace(%path%,$left(%path%,3),,%filename_ext%,%filename%)


the number 3 there is stripping the first 3 characters from the path like e:\

you could use 9 if you wanted to strip e:\music\
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jan 4 2014, 19:34
Post #10





Group: Developer
Posts: 3464
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



I use something like
CODE
$substr($directory_path(%path%),10,10000)\%filename%

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
techsav
post Jan 4 2014, 20:01
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 4-January 14
Member No.: 113779



Thanks LifeWOutMilk, maec2003, lvqcl.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 13:00