IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
HDMI audio drops out for about a second when skipping or changing trac
anony
post Mar 25 2013, 09:31
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 6-August 06
Member No.: 33700



I use HDMI to output audio to my receiver. When I skip forward in a track, or change the track, foobar2000 would fail to play the audio over HDMI for about a second, even though track visualization suggests that the audio is already playing. However, when foobar automatically changes the tracks by itself, the audio plays ok and doesn't drop out. I think this is a foobar2000 problem because when I play the same tracks in Media Player Classic, the audio resumes instantly when I skip forward. Any ideas? I tried going into preferences and changing the device, buffer and fading settings, but that didn't help.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Mar 25 2013, 10:13
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 943
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



what output mode are you using?


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
anony
post Mar 25 2013, 17:28
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 6-August 06
Member No.: 33700



I was using Primary Sound Driver.

I just went back to the preference settings and pressed "reset page". I'm not sure if this made any difference, but now the behavior seems to have changed: now there's no delay when I manually skip around within the track, but when I manually change tracks it still outputs no audio sometimes, but not every time. If I click on a new track, it generally won't play the first couple seconds. But, if I click on the same track again while it's playing, the audio would then play properly from the beginning without dropping out. And if I click stop first before I click on the same track, then it still has the same problem.

I also tried VLC player and it doesn't seem to have this problem: I can stop a track and replay it, and it doesn't have the problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rix81
post Mar 26 2013, 18:26
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 14-October 12
Member No.: 103844



if you're not AMD-videocard user then it's seems to be 'Silent Stream bug' ,. Type in google for details. Fortunately for directsound there's fix for this
http://www.avforums.com/forums/home-entert...stream-bug.html
but directsound (DS in foobar) is useful for those who don't care about sound quality.


This bug just makes me mad for a long of time, but these's no solution for wasapi/exclusive crying.gif
check my posts about this
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....c=98948&hl=
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/51...eam-bug-still-/
so if you nvidia 600 Series user, there's simple workaround - convert stereo to 4 channels dsp http://clip2net.com/s/4OmtPb , I've NO IDEA why it works though. (but not useful for me, because it disables audysey in reciever)
it can be solved in foobar but seems like no one interested.....

This post has been edited by rix81: Mar 26 2013, 18:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 10:24