IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
File, Add folder takes hours, was: "windows 8 with foobar" (TOS #6)
bruce1x
post Jan 13 2013, 18:04
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-January 13
Member No.: 105843



Hello,
Been a big fan of foobar for a very long time now, and have yet to find anything else half as good, however I recently installed windows 8 from 7 and I am having problems loading my music which mainly consists of flac files. What use to take less than a minute now can take hours and sometimes seems to get halfway and then start up again loading from scratch? this is weird . My music is not a big collection being some 7000 or so files which are all in one folder on d drive. I am running foobar 1.2.1 Can anyone help.
huh.gif

This post has been edited by bruce1x: Jan 13 2013, 18:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Jan 13 2013, 18:28
Post #2





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



Loading the library or a playlist?

Does the console (view->console) give you any indication of the issue?


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bruce1x
post Jan 13 2013, 18:50
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-January 13
Member No.: 105843



QUOTE (shakey_snake @ Jan 13 2013, 17:28) *
Loading the library or a playlist?

Does the console (view->console) give you any indication of the issue?

I Have always clicked file then add folder
could not enumerate tracks (Object not found) on:
D:\my music\Music\1-04 David Guetta feat. Usher - Without You.
I did delete this one earlier cos it was duplicated

This post has been edited by bruce1x: Jan 13 2013, 18:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jan 13 2013, 19:23
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1337
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



So not using Media Library then?

If you want to remove all bad files:
Edit > Remove dead items.


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bruce1x
post Jan 13 2013, 19:38
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-January 13
Member No.: 105843



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Jan 13 2013, 18:23) *
So not using Media Library then?

If you want to remove all bad files:
Edit > Remove dead items.

yes I am using media library which is currently monitoring my file/folder path. But is this the answer to my problem one being load time.
I have never tried removing dead items incase it deleted something it shouldn't, but I will give it a go and see if any changes occur.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bruce1x
post Jan 13 2013, 20:00
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-January 13
Member No.: 105843



QUOTE (bruce1x @ Jan 13 2013, 18:38) *
QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Jan 13 2013, 18:23) *
So not using Media Library then?

If you want to remove all bad files:
Edit > Remove dead items.

yes I am using media library which is currently monitoring my file/folder path. But is this the answer to my problem one being load time.
I have never tried removing dead items incase it deleted something it shouldn't, but I will give it a go and see if any changes occur.

WOW thank you so much Andreasvb I did the Edit remove dead items and it worked new playlist loaded in about 2 min, great! Solved.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jan 13 2013, 21:50
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1337
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Playlists are static.
Unless you make Autoplaylists, those uses the library.

Great that it was solved. smile.gif


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bruce1x
post Jan 13 2013, 22:00
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 13-January 13
Member No.: 105843



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Jan 13 2013, 20:50) *
Playlists are static.
Unless you make Autoplaylists, those uses the library.

Great that it was solved. smile.gif

How do I make autoplaylists, and if I add new tracks to my music folder will foobar sense this automatically or do I have to deete the playlist and add the music folder again like I have been doing all this time unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Jan 13 2013, 23:26
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1301
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



The very purpose of an autoplaylist is to automatically add/remove items when files change in the folder.

For example, go to Library > Search, type something, then click the [...] button, and select Create Autoplaylist, or [...] for more options.

You'll find a lot of information if you search the forums a little.

This post has been edited by dhromed: Jan 13 2013, 23:27
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st August 2014 - 18:26