IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Opus and CPU
lithopsian
post Mar 6 2014, 02:55
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 27-February 14
Member No.: 114718



I've written a plugin to play Opus and noticed that it uses more CPU than other formats I looked at, about 3x Flac and about 50% more than Ogg Vorbis and AAC. Does that seem about right, or did I make some big booboo in there?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Mar 6 2014, 03:47
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4868
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



What CPU?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Mar 6 2014, 09:51
Post #3


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4883
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



50% more on decode sounds reasonable. I mean it is doing more stuff after all.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lithopsian
post Mar 6 2014, 16:47
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 27-February 14
Member No.: 114718



QUOTE (saratoga @ Mar 6 2014, 03:47) *
What CPU?

Doesn't seem to matter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lithopsian
post Mar 6 2014, 16:49
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 27-February 14
Member No.: 114718



QUOTE (Garf @ Mar 6 2014, 09:51) *
50% more on decode sounds reasonable. I mean it is doing more stuff after all.

Thanks. Just wanted to be sure that this was expected for the codec.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Mar 6 2014, 17:05
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4868
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (lithopsian @ Mar 6 2014, 10:47) *
QUOTE (saratoga @ Mar 6 2014, 03:47) *
What CPU?

Doesn't seem to matter.


ARM vs. x86 will matter enormously given the different level of optimization for each platform. I'm guessing though that you mean x86?

Opus complexity is actually not that great, but most optimization has been for ARM CPUs, as very few people care about a few MHz on multicore PC running in the GHz.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lithopsian
post Mar 11 2014, 01:57
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 27-February 14
Member No.: 114718



About half the extra CPU turns out to be down to resampling. My system is set up for 44.1 kHz by default, since that is mostly what I listen to, but Opus is strictly 48kHz.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st August 2014 - 15:26