IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

79 Pages V  « < 20 21 22 23 24 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_upnp, UPnP/DLNA client and server (previously foo_upnp_mediaserver)
bubbleguuum
post Dec 16 2009, 20:21
Post #526





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (Peti @ Dec 15 2009, 08:28) *
QUOTE
new: server: option in streaming profile to apply RG only to files that would be transcoded to mp3 or decoded to PCM according to the rules.

Thank you for implementing this feature, but unfortunately I can't find it.


The option is not in the UI, you have to edit foo_upnp.xml and restart the server. look for the "decoded_and_transcoded_only" attribute in the file and set it to "yes" in the relevant profile.

This post has been edited by bubbleguuum: Dec 16 2009, 20:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hengest
post Dec 17 2009, 08:25
Post #527





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 27-April 06
From: Perth, WA
Member No.: 30103



Request: Not sure if this is possible, but an option to scrobble tracks to last.fm (via foo_audioscrobbler - similar to how foo_dop does it) when they are streamed to another device. Eg., if I use foo_upnp to play a track on my Xbox360, the track would also get scrobbled.

This post has been edited by Hengest: Dec 17 2009, 08:28


--------------------
"Lifting Shadows Off a Dream"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zerox
post Dec 18 2009, 14:36
Post #528





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 25-June 07
Member No.: 44727



This is probably the single best plugin (IMHO) for foobar. Keep up the great work!

Were you the same person who had done some of the work years(s) ago on Java integration? If so I'm very interested in helping / forking if you'd be willing to share source.

On to the meat of the post...

Suggestion/Request:

Is it possible to add some working/progress indicitators to both the tree and the search request? There are many times when clicking on the tree that it's not immediately obvious that something is happening. I understand that things ARE happening but the immediate user feedback will make the UI "feel" better, specifically in the case of searching. Something as simple as a rotating icon, "Working...", indeterminate progress bar, etc. I've dealt with very similar issues with my users (at work) and often times feedback goes a long way.

See http://www.extjs.com/deploy/dev/examples/d...direct-tree.php. In particular look at the animated dots/circle when expanding a node, not the animated node expansion itself.

Hopefully that makes sense, if not I can dig up more example videos / screenshots

This post has been edited by zerox: Dec 18 2009, 14:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Dec 19 2009, 12:05
Post #529





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (Hengest @ Dec 17 2009, 08:25) *
Request: Not sure if this is possible, but an option to scrobble tracks to last.fm (via foo_audioscrobbler - similar to how foo_dop does it) when they are streamed to another device. Eg., if I use foo_upnp to play a track on my Xbox360, the track would also get scrobbled.


If foo_audioscrobbler offers an API (likely if foo_dop uses it), I'll look into it


QUOTE (zerox @ Dec 18 2009, 14:36) *
This is probably the single best plugin (IMHO) for foobar. Keep up the great work!

Were you the same person who had done some of the work years(s) ago on Java integration? If so I'm very interested in helping / forking if you'd be willing to share source.


True, I did an experimental Java plugin loader some time ago. Its source is available here. I never devellopped it
further because mapping the SDK to Java classes is a huge and non trivial task.


QUOTE
Is it possible to add some working/progress indicitators to both the tree and the search request? There are many times when clicking on the tree that it's not immediately obvious that something is happening. I understand that things ARE happening but the immediate user feedback will make the UI "feel" better, specifically in the case of searching. Something as simple as a rotating icon, "Working...", indeterminate progress bar, etc. I've dealt with very similar issues with my users (at work) and often times feedback goes a long way.


I agree some visual feedback is really needed. I'll do something about it.

This post has been edited by bubbleguuum: Dec 19 2009, 12:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mccarver
post Dec 19 2009, 12:43
Post #530





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 11-December 05
From: Italy
Member No.: 26362



Nice to see such a useful plugin is kept up to date. Bubbleguuum, you're work is really appreciated.

But I have a issue I couldn't find in the previous thread pages. Using foobar 1.0 and your last beta 0.99.17.

I work with FLACs with embedded cuesheets. Foo_upnp seems to work really nice when it streams un-transcoded music, which gets to the client in the form of 1411 kbps PCM. But since this format is quite inapplicable over the internet, I prefer to have mp3 streamed to the client. When I switch to 'always' transcoding to MP3 the client can't get a correct tracklists of FLAC albums: the tracklists it receives are made of the same (the last) track over and over. Albums that were already coded in MP3 are no issue.

It does seem something which can be easily handled, I think.

Thank you very much.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Dec 19 2009, 14:03
Post #531





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



@mccarver: streaming url is missing the subsong index. This will be fixed in the next release
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Dec 19 2009, 17:28
Post #532





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



0.99.18 (first post to download)

- browser: new: added visual indication of browsing and searching actions
- server: new: send fodlerPath MS specific property for WMP to be able to browse by folder path. Return MS specific rating property if present (%rating% between 0 and 5)
- server: fix: transcoding to mp3 items with subsong would not work
- server: chg: removed childCount property of returned containers, was slowing down browsing too much in some cases (most noticeably, when browsing the Media Library node).
- controller: mute toggle button reflects renderer mute state
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mccarver
post Dec 19 2009, 17:51
Post #533





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 11-December 05
From: Italy
Member No.: 26362



Last rel works flawlessy, my bug is definitely fixed.
I just have a question: what kind of album arts are currently supported? My 'folder.jpg' are not streamed. Just a minor inconvenience I guess..

Thank you

EDIT: Going to next track after previous is finished is slooow and in the meantime produces unwanted sound stuttering..

This post has been edited by mccarver: Dec 19 2009, 18:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Goombas
post Dec 19 2009, 23:05
Post #534





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 9-September 04
Member No.: 16890



Hi, thanks bubbleguuum for this update.

Bug report starring foo_upnp server with wmp client:

- the MS properties won't always work for me, by default foo_playcount does not store the rating in file tag. Could you check the %rating% titleformatting field instead of the rating tag.

- the path is not right for some albums that would end up in the generic <current folder>. This is because the original path has an ampersand and it has been escaped. From a conversation we had earlier I quoted a microsoft document:
QUOTE
In Windows Vista, WMP Sharing double-escapes the XML tags inside the descriptor () element.

..that is the xml tags only should be double escaped, not the path inside the escaped tag! It might be my fault because I spoke about 'inner text'.
The test build worked fine though because the desc tag content was not double escaped at all and wmp 12 can handle this.

- I'd rather see the paths exposed be constrained to the foobar media library if that's possible.

- not new but still valid, the default wmp profile decode to wav but then for each files, wmp 12 shows a blue exclamation mark along with a warning This file is of an unrecognized type ... Selecting the lpcm format fix this.

By the way, why is there a wav format in the first place? This container is never mentioned as a valid format in the dlna specs I could read (draft only as i don't have 300 to spend on the final document).

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Dec 20 2009, 22:37
Post #535





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (mccarver @ Dec 19 2009, 17:51) *
I just have a question: what kind of album arts are currently supported? My 'folder.jpg' are not streamed. Just a minor inconvenience I guess..


The server recognize album art configured as Front Cover in Preferences / Display / Album Art.
"Allow allbum art streaming" must be enabled in Server / Advanced setting pref page (it is enabled by default)

For the UPnP Browser to load album art in an Album Art Viewer UI Element (under DUI), "Fetch album art" must be enabled (on by default)
inthe Browser pref page.

Note that under CUI, album art cannot display yet. It needs to use the newer album art loader introduced in fb 1.0.0.


QUOTE (mccarver @ Dec 19 2009, 17:51) *
EDIT: Going to next track after previous is finished is slooow and in the meantime produces unwanted sound stuttering..


Can you be more precise about the exact settings this happens ? transcoding enabled ? over internet ? how much bandwidth ? which file type ? etc...

This post has been edited by bubbleguuum: Dec 20 2009, 22:38
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mccarver
post Dec 21 2009, 17:16
Post #536





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 11-December 05
From: Italy
Member No.: 26362



QUOTE (bubbleguuum @ Dec 20 2009, 22:37) *
Note that under CUI, album art cannot display yet. It needs to use the newer album art loader introduced in fb 1.0.0.


This is probably why I can't see album arts..

QUOTE (bubbleguuum @ Dec 20 2009, 22:37) *
Can you be more precise about the exact settings this happens ? transcoding enabled ? over internet ? how much bandwidth ? which file type ? etc...


It seems to only happen with trascoding enabled. As a matter of fact streaming is almost gapless in PCM.
Transcoding options are set to VBR MP3. It seems I can't set ABR/CBR back.

Experiments are done in local network.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Speech
post Dec 24 2009, 21:43
Post #537





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 9-May 09
Member No.: 69642



This is great software, thanks!
However, let me report 2 problems I encountered:

- The Wi-Fi connection must be established before the moment foobar2000 is started. Otherwise, if foobar2000 is started before I establish the connection, my device would not see the foobar server. It would only see the computer, which is a different server. This is not the case with Windows Media Player 12, to I can connect even if it was running before I established the Wi-Fi connection. Why is it necessary to establish the Wi-Fi connection prior to starting the foobar UPnP server?

- If I start a audio file in a playlist from the external device, it would play, but it also sets the option Stop after current (available in the Playback main menu). I would rather prefer it to let the audio continue with the next files in the playlist instead.

I'm running v. 0.99.16.1 on the latest foobar2000 0.9.6.9 and I'm connecting with a Nokia N95.


--------------------
Mon blog: http://piratefurieux.wordpress.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Dec 25 2009, 21:04
Post #538





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (mccarver @ Dec 21 2009, 17:16) *
It seems to only happen with trascoding enabled. As a matter of fact streaming is almost gapless in PCM.
Transcoding options are set to VBR MP3. It seems I can't set ABR/CBR back.

I can't seem to reproduce the problem. Both VBR and CBR works without glitch here. Note that there is a confusing visual bug on the
ABR and VBR/CBR radio button, where both buttons can be selected at the same time, but it does not affect operation.


QUOTE (Speech @ Dec 24 2009, 21:43) *
- The Wi-Fi connection must be established before the moment foobar2000 is started. Otherwise, if foobar2000 is started before I establish the connection, my device would not see the foobar server. It would only see the computer, which is a different server. This is not the case with Windows Media Player 12, to I can connect even if it was running before I established the Wi-Fi connection. Why is it necessary to establish the Wi-Fi connection prior to starting the foobar UPnP server?


Because I'm not detecting new network interfaces after starting.
I've just implemented it in the upcoming version (not too far off) so it should work as you expected in this case.

QUOTE (Speech @ Dec 24 2009, 21:43) *
- If I start a audio file in a playlist from the external device, it would play, but it also sets the option Stop after current (available in the Playback main menu). I would rather prefer it to let the audio continue with the next files in the playlist instead.


I suppose you mean you are remote controlling a foobar2000 Media Renderer instance, and on that instance "Stop After Current" remains enabled.
During the time of being remotely controlled, the Renderer enables "Stop After Current" because it needs it for proper operation. It just does a poor job at restoring the initial
"Stop After Current" state when not being controlled anymore.

This post has been edited by bubbleguuum: Dec 25 2009, 21:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Speech
post Dec 27 2009, 15:16
Post #539





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 9-May 09
Member No.: 69642



QUOTE (bubbleguuum @ Dec 25 2009, 21:04) *
I suppose you mean you are remote controlling a foobar2000 Media Renderer instance, and on that instance "Stop After Current" remains enabled.
During the time of being remotely controlled, the Renderer enables "Stop After Current" because it needs it for proper operation. It just does a poor job at restoring the initial
"Stop After Current" state when not being controlled anymore.


I guess we can say it this way, too.
Do you mean it's a bug that could be fixed sometime?
This behaviour is a bit confusing, since you can easily forget about "Stop after current" when you use foobar as a basic audio player again.


--------------------
Mon blog: http://piratefurieux.wordpress.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Dec 27 2009, 16:20
Post #540





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



New version, with finally the much requested ability to browse the ML by folders. For the new "Folders" node to show up,
you'll have to either remove foo_upnp_ml_tree.xml or add
CODE
<SubTree label="Folders" type="filesystem"/>


The server now loads the content of the browse tree when starting, so browsing on the client should be much faster, especially with large libraries.

0.99.19 (first post to download)

- server: support for browsing the Media Library by folders (requires prior removal of foo_upnp_ml_tree.xml or adding the node manually)
- server: on start, preload the whole Media Library browse tree in background, to speed up client browsing
- browser/controller: detect new network interfaces at runtime and UPnP devices on those interfaces
- server: in returned items, when browsed from WMP, returned rating property was off by one star. Also, use %rating% instead of the RATING tag for both WMP and fb2k returned ratings.
- server: in returned items, when browsed from WMP, set folderPath property value to the item's Media Library relative path (allow browsing by folders on WMP).
- server: when streaming profile specify LPCM, take into account LPCM limitations (bitdepth = 16, max samplerate = 48Khz).
- server: WMP profile defaults to LPCM (if no foo_upnp.xml exists).
- server: do not force conversion to stereo anymore when streaming LPCM to a fb2k instance
- renderer: restore correctly user state of "Stop After Current" when a track stops.
- controller: when selecting a Linn Source in the combo box, the Source was not enabled on the Ds, only the first time.

--------------

@Speech: Stop After Current should be fixed in the new version.

This post has been edited by bubbleguuum: Dec 27 2009, 16:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Googer
post Dec 28 2009, 15:56
Post #541





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 9-May 03
Member No.: 6487



With .99.19, foobar2000 crashes a few seconds after startup for me if I have 'Split tree nodes by first letter if more than x items' enabled. I'd guess it's related to the changes you made in the startup code to load the media library in the background. If you want I could supply you with a crash log but I'd guess replicating this on your end probably shouldn't be overly difficult to do, at least as your media library is bigger than a trivial / token size. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Dec 28 2009, 19:15
Post #542





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (Googer @ Dec 28 2009, 15:56) *
With .99.19, foobar2000 crashes a few seconds after startup for me if I have 'Split tree nodes by first letter if more than x items' enabled. I'd guess it's related to the changes you made in the startup code to load the media library in the background. If you want I could supply you with a crash log but I'd guess replicating this on your end probably shouldn't be overly difficult to do, at least as your media library is bigger than a trivial / token size. wink.gif



Thanks for reporting, fixed in 0.99.19.1 (first post to download)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Googer
post Dec 28 2009, 20:48
Post #543





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 9-May 03
Member No.: 6487



Thanks it works fine now, you're awesome! biggrin.gif Browsing the ML by folders appears to work very well to me in my quick testing as well. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gebla
post Dec 31 2009, 18:01
Post #544





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 31-December 09
Member No.: 76558



One question. Is it possible to stop the automatic recode from FLAC to WAV?

I am using the foobar2000 server with a Linn DS player. The Linn supports 24 bit flac files (i.e. DVD audio). As well the Linn device accepts flac files over upnp.

If I now try to stream 24bit flac files only one song is played and then it stops. As well the decode automatically decodes it to 16bit wav file so i loose audio quality. Then it takes processor time from the server for recoding it to WAV.

More and more devices are supporting direct playback of FLAC. Can we add a switch to disable the recode?


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gebla
post Dec 31 2009, 19:14
Post #545





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 31-December 09
Member No.: 76558



OK when using foobar for playback it is working and flac is used. It is only recoding when using kinsky desktop as controller.

But when using the foobar the display on the Linn device does not show artist and track info. Is there any setting for that?

And one more question. Is there alreay columnsUI supporting the upnp artwork display??

Moderation: Removed useless full quote of the preceding post.

This post has been edited by Yirkha: Jan 1 2010, 17:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Jan 3 2010, 22:37
Post #546





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE
I posted this in the "Support" forum by mistake... my bad. I'll repost here with a description of the problem I am hoping to get help with...quoting from my previous post:

I was delighted to find that the beta version of Foobar2000, when combined with the UPnP component, allowed my to send song files to my Linn DS player. That delight was short lived when I found that every 3-4 minutes playback came to a sudden halt, with a "Buffering..." message displayed in the UPnP controller window. And the music does not restart until I exit Foobar and then start all over again.

BTW I am using a QNAP server with Twonky software, which I really do not like, and bypass whenever possible. I have about 4.5 Terrabytes of music in Flac file format stored on this server and I like the fact that I can play songs directly from the server, allowing Foobar to act as the media server, but the stopping bug is bothersome and potentially renders Foobar ineffective for UPnP playback. And I hope there is a remediable problem here, as I'm gaining a real appreciation for Foobar, the more I use it.

I look forward to your suggestions.

Doug Coleman


For the music stopping problem, in the UPnP Controller combo box, are you using your DS unit as a traditional UPnP AV Media Renderer (MediaRenderer appended to the name) or are you using the Playlist source (Playlist appended to the name) ? Do you have the same problem (getting stuck on Buffering....) if you use Twonky as the Media Server instead of the plugin ? Anyway ,what you can do is enable the debug logs in Advanced Settings. Enable "Log to file" with INFO log level. Then restart foobar and operates the plugin until the problem occur. Close foobar and send me the file foo_upnp.log (either in your foobar install directory or c:\Document And Settings\<your login>\Application Data\foobar2000) to bubbleguuum@free.fr

This post has been edited by bubbleguuum: Jan 3 2010, 22:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Jan 3 2010, 22:52
Post #547





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (gebla @ Dec 31 2009, 19:14) *
OK when using foobar for playback it is working and flac is used. It is only recoding when using kinsky desktop as controller.

Kinsky Desktop is using the "Default" streaming profile which stream as WAV for non-standard codecs (ie other than mp3, aac, wma), as it is the most compatible.
If you copy the "Linn Ds" profile settings to the "Default" profile then it should work as you expect (streaming 24 bits FLAC instead of WAV).


QUOTE
But when using the foobar the display on the Linn device does not show artist and track info. Is there any setting for that?

I thought it worked but as my DS do not have any display (it is a Sekrit DS-I), I could not check. So from what I understand if you send
an item from foobar your DS do not display metadata while it does if you use KinskyDesktop (with foobar as the media server) ?

QUOTE
And one more question. Is there alreay columnsUI supporting the upnp artwork display??


Not yet. ColumnsUI needs to be recompiled with the (unreleased) foobar 1.0 SDK.

This post has been edited by bubbleguuum: Jan 3 2010, 22:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dokter123
post Jan 5 2010, 03:33
Post #548





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 25-May 09
Member No.: 70112



QUOTE (bubbleguuum @ Jan 3 2010, 22:37) *
QUOTE
I posted this in the "Support" forum by mistake... my bad. I'll repost here with a description of the problem I am hoping to get help with...quoting from my previous post:

I was delighted to find that the beta version of Foobar2000, when combined with the UPnP component, allowed my to send song files to my Linn DS player. That delight was short lived when I found that every 3-4 minutes playback came to a sudden halt, with a "Buffering..." message displayed in the UPnP controller window. And the music does not restart until I exit Foobar and then start all over again.

BTW I am using a QNAP server with Twonky software, which I really do not like, and bypass whenever possible. I have about 4.5 Terrabytes of music in Flac file format stored on this server and I like the fact that I can play songs directly from the server, allowing Foobar to act as the media server, but the stopping bug is bothersome and potentially renders Foobar ineffective for UPnP playback. And I hope there is a remediable problem here, as I'm gaining a real appreciation for Foobar, the more I use it.

I look forward to your suggestions.

Doug Coleman


For the music stopping problem, in the UPnP Controller combo box, are you using your DS unit as a traditional UPnP AV Media Renderer (MediaRenderer appended to the name) or are you using the Playlist source (Playlist appended to the name) ? Do you have the same problem (getting stuck on Buffering....) if you use Twonky as the Media Server instead of the plugin ? Anyway ,what you can do is enable the debug logs in Advanced Settings. Enable "Log to file" with INFO log level. Then restart foobar and operates the plugin until the problem occur. Close foobar and send me the file foo_upnp.log (either in your foobar install directory or c:\Document And Settings\<your login>\Application Data\foobar2000) to bubbleguuum@free.fr


I am sending it to Living Room: Akurate DS (Playlist) and I do not have the same problem when using the Twonky software - which I seem to have an aversion to ++ but I'm not sure why. It just annoys me, and I prefer the Foobar interface. I will enable logging and send you the log file following the next buffering stall. And thank you for your promt reply.

And BTW, it seems to be happening less, the more I use it.

D.C.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gebla
post Jan 7 2010, 19:33
Post #549





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 31-December 09
Member No.: 76558



QUOTE (bubbleguuum @ Jan 3 2010, 22:52) *
QUOTE (gebla @ Dec 31 2009, 19:14) *
OK when using foobar for playback it is working and flac is used. It is only recoding when using kinsky desktop as controller.

Kinsky Desktop is using the "Default" streaming profile which stream as WAV for non-standard codecs (ie other than mp3, aac, wma), as it is the most compatible.
If you copy the "Linn Ds" profile settings to the "Default" profile then it should work as you expect (streaming 24 bits FLAC instead of WAV).

This did the trick. Thanks for the feedback!

QUOTE
But when using the foobar the display on the Linn device does not show artist and track info. Is there any setting for that?

I thought it worked but as my DS do not have any display (it is a Sekrit DS-I), I could not check. So from what I understand if you send
an item from foobar your DS do not display metadata while it does if you use KinskyDesktop (with foobar as the media server) ?



Correct (using foobar as media server). If I use kinksydesktop then the Meta data is displayed on the Linn. When I use foobar to sent to the Linn then the metadata is not displayed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Jan 7 2010, 19:54
Post #550





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (gebla @ Jan 7 2010, 19:33) *
Correct (using foobar as media server). If I use kinksydesktop then the Meta data is displayed on the Linn. When I use foobar to sent to the Linn then the metadata is not displayed.


Ok, I'll look into it.

The latest version of columnsUI (0.3.8.2) supports upnp album art.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

79 Pages V  « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 23:57