IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Will CD ripped to 1 FLAC file for each track still play with no gaps?
Elias Pies de Pl...
post Mar 28 2013, 01:13
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 26-March 13
From: Argentina
Member No.: 107408



Hello there I want to know if in the case of uninterrupted tracks -such as The Wall songs- are played exactly the same regardless the album is kept on single file or splitted with CueTools. Is there any gap after the splitting when the flac are played on winamp? I am a fundamentalis of no gaps on these uninterrupted tracks. Most probably this is perfectly obvious but I am not well versed on this world. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Mar 28 2013, 01:49
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Lossless formats are gapless by definition and will be decoded as such by any competent player. Winamp fits that description.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Elias Pies de Pl...
post Mar 28 2013, 03:01
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 26-March 13
From: Argentina
Member No.: 107408



QUOTE (db1989 @ Mar 27 2013, 21:49) *
Lossless formats are gapless by definition and will be decoded as such by any competent player. Winamp fits that description.


Thank you very much, I was fearing that. So, no problem eveything will play as it is no gaps. Perfect. Thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Mar 28 2013, 06:27
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 811
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



QUOTE (db1989 @ Mar 27 2013, 17:49) *
Lossless formats are gapless by definition


True, but despite the thread's title, he is asking about splitting a single-file rip with CUETools. CUETools will do a good job so the answer is yes, it'll be done properly, no gaps/seams.

But if he were to use a certain other splitter of lossless single-file rips, a CUE splitter rather medieval in quality, the result would not be seamless; it doesn't matter that the output is in a lossless format.

This post has been edited by mjb2006: Mar 28 2013, 06:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Mar 28 2013, 06:50
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Good point. I took the bit about CUETools to mean ripping, not splitting. And I didn’t think of certain applications that pointlessly try to perform the splitting on the compressed files, without decoding and re-encoding, and get it wrong into the bargain.

To give a little more info for the OP: although lossless formats are intrinsically/necessarily gapless when decoded, the mechanisms of compression can confound splitting if the file isn’t de- and re-encoded, and so applications that insist on avoiding those processes must cut corners; the famous example of a failed attempt to be clever that is being discussed (without naming names) does this with FLAC files and messes things up in the process.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Elias Pies de Pl...
post May 4 2013, 20:28
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 26-March 13
From: Argentina
Member No.: 107408



Hello there do you know if after you re-encode into tracks with CUETools and eventually re-encode into single flac from the splitted tracks the result is exactly the same as the original single flac? Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 4 2013, 20:48
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



The audio will be exactly the same.

The tags might change along the way due to something you do; we can’t speculate about that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
korth
post May 5 2013, 01:48
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 88969



To ensure that all audio from the image file is preserved, the OP should use the default and recommended 'Gaps handling setting' in CUETools when splitting and not discard any 00.(HTOA) file that's created. More about HTOA here. When joining tracks back to a single image file, the HTOA (if any) will be included.

This post has been edited by korth: May 5 2013, 02:12


--------------------
korth
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post May 7 2013, 09:11
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1842
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (db1989 @ Mar 28 2013, 02:49) *
Lossless formats are gapless by definition and will be decoded as such by any competent player. Winamp fits that description.


... VLC on the other hand ... :-/


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
doveman
post Aug 12 2013, 23:12
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 12-August 13
Member No.: 109580



Is it recommended to use CUERipper rather than EAC for ripping to individual flac tracks using FLACCL and preserving the gaps/no gaps, or is EAC just as capable?

I haven't ripped any CDs in quite a while now but I used to use EAC and was quite impressed with the options it had to ensure accurate rips. In comparison, CUERipper seems a bit light on options but for all I know, some magic goes on in the background to avoid the need to present said options.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Aug 12 2013, 23:40
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (doveman @ Aug 12 2013, 23:12) *
Is it recommended to use CUERipper rather than EAC for ripping to individual flac tracks using FLACCL and preserving the gaps/no gaps, or is EAC just as capable?
EAC is just as capable.

A notable difference is that CUETools automatically chooses the method for detecting gaps, whereas EAC allows manual selection among three different methods, defaulting to A, which should be fine for most drives. I see no reason why, given correct automatic detection in CUETools and the right manual choice in EAC, the two programs would not return identical results.

This post has been edited by db1989: Aug 12 2013, 23:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
doveman
post Aug 13 2013, 01:14
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 12-August 13
Member No.: 109580



QUOTE (db1989 @ Aug 12 2013, 23:40) *
EAC is just as capable.

A notable difference is that CUETools automatically chooses the method for detecting gaps, whereas EAC allows manual selection among three different methods, defaulting to A, which should be fine for most drives. I see no reason why, given correct automatic detection in CUETools and the right manual choice in EAC, the two programs would not return identical results.


Great, thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Elias Pies de Pl...
post Oct 28 2013, 20:44
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 26-March 13
From: Argentina
Member No.: 107408



QUOTE (db1989 @ May 4 2013, 16:48) *
The audio will be exactly the same.

The tags might change along the way due to something you do; we can’t speculate about that.


Hello once more. I have another question: WHen re-encoding to individual flac tracks with CUETools, should I consider the encoder the original single flac was encoded with? I've been using libFlake because I read it is the encoder the guys from CUETools developed and thus the most appropiate. But could there be any problem when the original single flac encoder and the encoder I use to re-encode in individual flac are different?

Most probably the answer i ''no'' otherwise you would have warned me in which case please forgive my ignorance.

Thanks my friend.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Oct 28 2013, 20:50
Post #14





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



As you guessed, it shouldn’t matter at all. smile.gif The audio should be decoded losslessly to WAV in any case before being re-encoded. The only exception would be if one or more of the decoder and encoder were broken, but then even that wouldn’t be affected by whether or not they were the same version, etc.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Elias Pies de Pl...
post Oct 29 2013, 00:45
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 26-March 13
From: Argentina
Member No.: 107408



QUOTE (db1989 @ Oct 28 2013, 16:50) *
As you guessed, it shouldn’t matter at all. smile.gif The audio should be decoded losslessly to WAV in any case before being re-encoded. The only exception would be if one or more of the decoder and encoder were broken, but then even that wouldn’t be affected by whether or not they were the same version, etc.


Thanks teacher!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 04:02