IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Making LAME Preset's EVEN Easier..../LAME 3.94, I think this could be possible...
funkyblue
post May 16 2003, 00:21
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



Howdy,
In lame 3.90.3modified, the preset's have been changed from "--alt-preset standard" to "--preset standard".
I think it could be made even easier by having just "-standard" "-extreme" etc
Also, I think --alt-preset standard should be made default for LAME. The default is still 128k mp3's LOL,
My other question, not related to this, will 3.94 be fully tested and recommendard in the future? I'd like to be able to use the latest LAME version again.
Anyways, My 2 cents.,
Burgerings
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
funkyblue
post May 16 2003, 07:01
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



Anyone, Care to comment?
Cheers,
Burgerings
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kotrtim
post May 16 2003, 07:17
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 4-December 02
Member No.: 3989



Oh, I've suggested this b4 but people seems to ignore

"--preset standard" to "--standard" to

standard "-std"
extreme "-xtr"
insane "-ins"

3 characters switch?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Volcano
post May 16 2003, 15:46
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 916
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 112



This has been discussed numerous times. A change to the command-line options will not happen before LAME 4.0 because it would break compatibility with existing applications; in LAME 4, however, changes like these will surely be made.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
budgie
post May 16 2003, 17:05
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 27-November 02
Member No.: 3901



What about just S(tandard), X(treme) and I(nsane)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kotrtim
post May 16 2003, 17:16
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 4-December 02
Member No.: 3989



QUOTE (Volcano @ May 16 2003 - 06:46 AM)
because it would break compatibility with existing applications; in LAME 4, however, changes like these will surely be made.

make both old and new switch available...........problem solved biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ViPER1313
post May 16 2003, 17:25
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-August 02
From: Maryland
Member No.: 3109



Ultimately, I would prefer the presets to be integrated / mapped to the default bitrate settings in the codec... IE, the default settings for all bitrates. That way, people cannot mess up by inputting -b 192 - they would get the equivalent of --alt-preset cbr 192. The --alt-presets and --presets should be kept as is to keep with compatibility as well. If you want to get the equivalent of switches such as the -b 192 switch that exists today, you should have to force it using switches such as --gpsycho and -m s. I bet a lot of people would be surprised at the quality increase of the 4.0 release if this re-mapping was done tongue.gif . Other encoders have done this for a long time - why shouldn't LAME?

PS - I'm sure that this has been recommended before.....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post May 17 2003, 02:44
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4967
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



Please make LAME default to preset standard . . . LAME 192 rips out-number standard about 10 to 1 because people aren't willing to put in the effort.

Really anything but 128 would be a leap forward.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moguta
post May 17 2003, 04:26
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 26-June 02
Member No.: 2395



QUOTE (Mike Giacomelli @ May 17 2003 - 01:44 AM)
Please make LAME default to preset standard . . .

I would have to second this motion. I had no idea LAME could encode without specific parameters until I just tested it now, and I find it odd that even the latest versions use 128Kbps CBR as the default method.

However, if some applications are coded not to pass encoding parameters for a simple 128Kbps LAME encode, then you'd have people complaining about getting VBR MP3s instead of 128.

As mentioned above, something like this will have more liklihood of appearing in LAME 4.0

@kortim
Personally, I think that multiple commands giving the same method (i.e. "--alt-preset standard", "--preset standard", "--standard", "-std") would really confuse newbies. I can just see someone coming in asking "Should I use --alt-preset standard, --preset standard, or -std?"

This post has been edited by Moguta: May 17 2003, 04:27
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andavari
post May 17 2003, 06:35
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 935
Joined: 3-June 02
From: USA
Member No.: 2204



QUOTE (budgie @ May 16 2003 - 10:05 AM)
What about just S(tandard), X(treme) and I(nsane)?

From LAME long help:
-s = Sampling frequency of input file (kHz).
-S = Don't print progress report, VBR histograms.
-x = Force byte-swapping of input.

I think single letter presets would confuse matters even more since some of them are already taken.

Also xtreme is what it is in MusePack, in LAME it is extreme.

---

I don't think changing the preset names would be very beneficial for the fact that whatever software is used rather it be CD ripper(s), or encoder frontend(s) would really benefit from the change since for all practical purposes punching in --alt-preset standard -Z is a one time affair since the CD ripper(s) and encoder frontend(s) save the configuration settings.

This post has been edited by Andavari: May 17 2003, 06:36


--------------------
Complexity of incoherent design.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 20:15