IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Which software for LAME?
aj7360
post Dec 5 2005, 01:46
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 26069



Been MusicMatch for several years and am ready to use something that has more encoding options.

For various reasons, I'm going to stick with mp3s and want to be able to use the latest LAME codec.

But now I need to decide which software to use and I don't mind purchasing something. I just want something that I can update with new codecs when available.

There are so many applications out there... like EAC... Foobar... dBpowerAmp... etc.. that I don't know where to start and really would rather not install a bunch to try them out. I wouldn't mind trying a few.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
davidd
post Dec 5 2005, 02:01
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 11-June 05
From: USA
Member No.: 22644



most people will recommend EAC
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
clintb
post Dec 5 2005, 02:04
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 182
Joined: 4-July 02
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Member No.: 2472



You say you're ready to start using LAME, but don't mention if you're starting from scratch by ripping from CD's or if you've already done that and have .wav files or something similar (lossless) on your hard drive.

I use EAC to rip and compress to FLAC (lossless), then Foobar to convert for portable (iPod) usage.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odious malefacto...
post Dec 5 2005, 02:20
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: 17-June 03
Member No.: 7228



http://www.teqnilogik.com/tutorials/eac.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aj7360
post Dec 5 2005, 02:23
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 26069



I didn't want to bore anyone with too many details.

I have a Phatbox with only 20GB DMS... so will stick to mp3 until I put a new drive into the cartridge... then probably go to FLAC.

My portable... a 20 GB Archos... only plays mp3... so will use mp3. (I like to take it to work and connect to PC with USB cable then play the tunes with Windows Media Player... can't change that as i'm not an admin)

I can re-rip my CD's to whatever format I need.

I figured that going with 320 kbps LAME's would give me the highest quality given my hardware limitations.

Maybe I'll just go with EAC and use the PNMM as a player as I need to use it to transfer to the DMS anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xequence
post Dec 5 2005, 03:13
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 1-December 05
Member No.: 26127



EAC is recomended by alot, and is part of the UberStandard.

I found it to be really slow though. Like a half hour to rip one track.

I use audiograbber which is great.


--------------------
And if you believe theres not a chance to die...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sh1leshk4
post Dec 5 2005, 03:27
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 403
Joined: 2-October 04
Member No.: 17436



QUOTE (xequence @ Dec 5 2005, 09:13 AM)
I found it to be really slow though. Like a half hour to rip one track.
*

Probably 'cause of its Secure mode.
Try switching to Fast mode; it's usually safe enough for unprotected Audio CDs w/ not so many scratches.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
William
post Dec 5 2005, 03:48
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-January 02
Member No.: 959



QUOTE (sh1leshk4 @ Dec 5 2005, 02:27 AM)
QUOTE (xequence @ Dec 5 2005, 09:13 AM)
I found it to be really slow though. Like a half hour to rip one track.
*

Probably 'cause of its Secure mode.
Try switching to Fast mode; it's usually safe enough for unprotected Audio CDs w/ not so many scratches.
*


Actually performance depends on the features of your drive. If your drive does not cache audio, and has accurate C2, then it should be fast in secure mode. My ASUS 40x CDROM is exactly that, and it can rip up to 17x in secure mode. Unfortunately it died some time ago.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sh1leshk4
post Dec 5 2005, 04:23
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 403
Joined: 2-October 04
Member No.: 17436



QUOTE (William @ Dec 5 2005, 09:48 AM)
Actually performance depends on the features of your drive.
*

It depends on both of them, then.
Mode setting and drive's capabilities. =)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
William
post Dec 5 2005, 10:49
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-January 02
Member No.: 959



QUOTE (sh1leshk4 @ Dec 5 2005, 03:23 AM)
QUOTE (William @ Dec 5 2005, 09:48 AM)
Actually performance depends on the features of your drive.
*

It depends on both of them, then.
Mode setting and drive's capabilities. =)
*



It all depends on whether you want secure rips. Though Test & Copy in burst mode may achieve the same effect.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 08:09