IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
WAV to FLAC error with greek filenames, Impossible to convert wav to flac when wav filename in greek.
adrien.ha
post Oct 27 2012, 21:13
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104115



Hi all,

i'm new in flac ripping. I installed EAC and configured it. When i tried to rip a CD to flac, at the end of every track, it told me : Warning "The external compressor returned an error".

In the end, all the tracks had been made to .wav files but they hadn't been converted into flac files.

I tried converting the wav files to flac files without EAC, by using the FLAC Front End alone, and it made an error : Run-time error '53': File not found.

When i give as input a wav file with latin caracters there is no problem at all.

So i'm quite sure the problem comes with wav files containing greek caracters in their name.

Does anybody have a solution or any idea about that ?

Thank you
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pablogm123
post Oct 27 2012, 22:09
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97152



Try an alternative app which uses Unicode character set. I own in my collection music with japanese titles (which suffers from the same issue), so that I have made a tests, and Foobar2000 converter handles finely music files with japanese titles.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Oct 27 2012, 23:27
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 811
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



This is the downfall of EAC's reliance on command-line apps instead of DLLs for external encoding. flac.exe is being invoked through a command shell, which is like a DOS prompt, so the characters are converted to what's valid there. This will only be 8-bit characters, whatever your system's ANSI set is (Windows-1252 for most folks). So probably things like and will work but Greek is not an option unless you're using a Greek version of Windows.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adrien.ha
post Oct 28 2012, 00:21
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104115



Thanks guys,

so it seems i won't be able to use EAC..It's a pitty as i read it's "the best".

I'll try Foobar2000 then.

Does any of you know if dbPowerAmp will work ? (with greek filenames)

I've read dbPowerAmp does a great job (though i'll have to pay 35$ or something... dry.gif ). Do you have any preference between these two, as FLAC ripping is concerned?


Thanks to both of you and to anyone else wink.gif

This post has been edited by adrien.ha: Oct 28 2012, 00:22
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pablogm123
post Oct 28 2012, 01:20
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97152



dBpoweramp is fully Unicode compatible, and I have performed a test, converting a music file with dummy greek title, and can handle finely.

You don't have to pay for using dBpoweramp, as long as you run just the basic functions, as detailed here:
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/db-versions.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adrien.ha
post Oct 28 2012, 01:43
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104115



QUOTE (pablogm123 @ Oct 28 2012, 02:20) *
dBpoweramp is fully Unicode compatible, and I have performed a test, converting a music file with dummy greek title, and can handle finely.

You don't have to pay for using dBpoweramp, as long as you run just the basic functions, as detailed here:
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/db-versions.htm



Thanks pablogm123, i've just ripped the greek cd with Foobar2000 and it worked great. ! smile.gif

Do you think there is a quality difference in flac ripping between Foobar2000 and dBpoweramp ?

Thank you
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pablogm123
post Oct 28 2012, 10:59
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97152



To rip CDs in good/excellent condition there is absolutely no difference, because any decent drive can rip in a go any CD in good shape without reporting any C2 error . However, dBpoweramp will outperform other programs when you own a drive with good C2 support and you want to rip somewhat damaged CDs, because take into account C2 pointers in re-reads (and can do hundreds of re-rips), so that dBpoweramp can rescue more accurate data from damaged CDs. And don't forget that programs

Anyway, a rip verified by Accuraterip is always a very good thing. If verified by Accuraterip, doesn't matter if was extracted by EAC, dBpoweramp, Foobar 2000, at 8x speed, at 32x speed...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adrien.ha
post Oct 28 2012, 11:15
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104115



Thanks pablo
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pablogm123
post Oct 28 2012, 12:35
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97152



Try this ripper too:
http://www.cuetools.net/wiki/CUERipper

Free, Open-Source, and secure ripper which uses C2 pointers even in burst mode.

According to this http://www.cuetools.net/wiki/CUETools_Changelog, supports Unicode from 1.9.2 Update 8.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Oct 28 2012, 12:46
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1842
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



An alternative carrying the zero price tag, could be CUETools/CUERipper. It has UTF support, at least on the functionality I have been using – I have however not done much ripping with it (I use dBpoweramp reference).

Edit: Too late. Anyway, yes, try it.

This post has been edited by Porcus: Oct 28 2012, 12:48


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adrien.ha
post Oct 28 2012, 22:47
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104115



thanks guys i'll have a look on CUETools/CUERipper, but before i'll check if my CD drive is C2 capable.

Does Foobar2000 manage C2 ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Oct 29 2012, 00:04
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1842
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (adrien.ha @ Oct 28 2012, 23:47) *
thanks guys i'll have a look on CUETools/CUERipper, but before i'll check if my CD drive is C2 capable.

Does Foobar2000 manage C2 ?


No: http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...n_of_CD_rippers .


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adrien.ha
post Oct 29 2012, 00:05
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104115



thanks Porcus
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 03:28