IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Do any software CD players support "index"?
Bill02888
post Nov 10 2005, 11:36
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 4-June 05
From: Rhode Island, USA
Member No.: 22517



Do any software-based CD players support indexed tracks? I've got a fairly old Sony CD player that supports indexing (sections within a track) and a couple of classical CDs that make use of this feature. I'm just curious really. It's not anything that I need.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smz
post Nov 10 2005, 13:09
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 601
Joined: 15-February 04
From: Venezia, Italia
Member No.: 12025



J.S. Bach, Goldberg Variations, BWV 988
Glenn Gould, 1982
CBS Masterworks CD 37779
51'18''
1 Track, 32 Indexes

blink.gif


--------------------
Sergio
Revox B150 + (JBL 4301B | Sennheiser HD430)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emanuel
post Nov 10 2005, 13:32
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 284
Joined: 13-January 02
From: Sthlm, Sweden
Member No.: 999



QUOTE (Bill02888 @ Nov 10 2005, 11:36 AM)
Do any software-based CD players support indexed tracks?
*

I've been looking for the samt but have not found any. My solution is to rip indexed tracks as seperate tracks in EAC and manually give them the track numbers with the following "template":

010 - Track 1
020 - Track 2, index 1
021 - Track 2, index 2
022 - Track 2, index 3

...and so on.


--------------------
http://forum.studio.se (in Swedish)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smz
post Nov 10 2005, 13:47
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 601
Joined: 15-February 04
From: Venezia, Italia
Member No.: 12025



@Emanuel

I suppose that what you mean is that you create new "fake" tracks, by changing the INDEX02 to INDEX01 in the cuesheet and using as the title "Original title, Index 1", etc..

If this is what you mean, well that's exactly the same that I do.

Anyway I've also asked myself *WHY* no software CD player that I know of supports indexes. I'm not an expert but I suppose that can be because to do that the player would need to continuously scan subcodes for Index changes while to play a track it just need to tell the drive to seek to a particular INDEX01, start playing and then just get the resulting stream of data.

Sergio

EDIT: Sorry, I've just re-read and seen that you rip to separate tracks, not to an image+cue. How do you split them, then?

This post has been edited by smz: Nov 10 2005, 14:03


--------------------
Sergio
Revox B150 + (JBL 4301B | Sennheiser HD430)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emanuel
post Nov 11 2005, 00:22
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 284
Joined: 13-January 02
From: Sthlm, Sweden
Member No.: 999



QUOTE (smz @ Nov 10 2005, 01:47 PM)
EDIT: Sorry, I've just re-read and seen that you rip to separate tracks, not to an image+cue. How do you split them, then?
*

No worries. EAC has a feature for that: "Action > Copy Selected Tracks Index-based".

As a sidenote:
Apart from missing a good index-aware software player, I find this method excellent for portable devices. It makes it ease to skip between the "indexes", and for example with a Rockbox-enabled device you won't hear the gap between the tracks (the original indexes). It will sound as it was originally intended.

EDIT: Or you can just burn the tracks back down to a new cd for playback in a non index-aware cd-player, but still be able to use skip.

This post has been edited by Emanuel: Nov 11 2005, 00:25


--------------------
http://forum.studio.se (in Swedish)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2014 - 12:58