IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
LAME: q0 or q3----> same result?
Antigen
post Jul 28 2011, 18:23
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 21-July 09
Member No.: 71655



Actually I'm ripping my CD with LAME to obtaing high quality mp3.

I use the setting:

-b 320

I have see that for default it use -q3

If I increase to -q0 it will improve quality?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jul 28 2011, 18:47
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Not if you can't hear a difference:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=16295


--------------------
I should publish a list of forum idiots.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Jul 28 2011, 18:57
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3407
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



The -q switch does different things in different versions of LAME (one reasone we discourage its use). Which version are you asking about?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jul 28 2011, 19:10
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=81216

Is there a good reason why this discussion should remain open?


--------------------
I should publish a list of forum idiots.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Antigen
post Jul 28 2011, 19:16
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 21-July 09
Member No.: 71655



My only last question is:

- but if I will use -q0 there is the possibility to increase the number or artifact?

I have read that -q0 is bugged

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jul 28 2011, 19:35
Post #6


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4885
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



There is certainly a possibility. Using that option might enable some processing that by virtue of not being enabled by default, has some bugs, and hence actually ends up lowering quality.

Given that there is almost no data (not even what LAME version you are using), it's impossible to give a more informational answer to your question.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kornchild2002
post Jul 28 2011, 19:38
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2080
Joined: 8-April 05
From: Cincinnati, OH
Member No.: 21277



I think you should go back to the thread you started over a year ago. Your question has already been answered in there. I think I will quote what greynol said oh so long ago:
"...just use -b320.

If you think you're hearing artifacts then ABX before playing Frankenstein."
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Antigen
post Jul 28 2011, 19:38
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 21-July 09
Member No.: 71655



QUOTE (Garf @ Jul 28 2011, 20:35) *
There is certainly a possibility. Using that option might enable some processing that by virtue of not being enabled by default, has some bugs, and hence actually ends up lowering quality.

Given that there is almost no data (not even what LAME version you are using), it's impossible to give a more informational answer to your question.

I'm using LAME 3.98.4

My only question is if using -q0 is a risk and is better use -b 320 and make less problem.

I have read on other forum that in past -q0 create some artifact, but I don't hav experience.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jul 29 2011, 11:19
Reason for edit: fixing quote tag, and please put the quote before your reply
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jul 28 2011, 19:43
Post #9


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4885
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



The exact question you ask has been answered multiple times now. Asking it again is not going to magically change the answers. Closing thread.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th September 2014 - 01:16