IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

275 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[seemingly abandonware] Columns UI, alternative user interface
saratoga
post Jan 25 2004, 22:36
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 4865
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (Tri @ Jan 23 2004, 10:56 AM)
It looks very good already but it needs some work, e.g. trying to add a new column crashes it... The status bar font also should be separately configurable.

Where did you foobar .7.7c? I didn't even know that version existed blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Funkstar De Luxe
post Jan 25 2004, 22:59
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 580
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Scotland
Member No.: 4415



QUOTE (Mike Giacomelli @ Jan 25 2004, 01:36 PM)
QUOTE (Tri @ Jan 23 2004, 10:56 AM)
It looks very good already but it needs some work, e.g. trying to add a new column crashes it... The status bar font also should be separately configurable.

Where did you foobar .7.7c? I didn't even know that version existed blink.gif

It's ready but ca5e is away just now so no installer can be made. That's what I understand anyway.


--------------------
http://www.animarecordings.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YinYang
post Jan 25 2004, 23:42
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 371
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 45



Win98SE bug here.

It seems that I cannot manually (though by database search it works) add files with "national" characters:

Bjrk - I've Seen It All
Brcken, Claudia - Kiss Like Ether [Earth Mood Magic]
Jrgensen, C. V. - Ude Af Sync

Being prime examples.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
juglesh
post Jan 25 2004, 23:42
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 10-January 02
From: www.RadioKDUG.com
Member No.: 978



QUOTE
QUOTE (juglesh @ Jan 24 2004, 08:59 PM)
when i resize the columns, the pl goes back to the top and the scroll handle sticks where it was until it click it, then it goes to the top. same if i sort the columns.

Seems OK for me, can you explain more? When you sort, the playlist core will scroll to the item with focus. I fixed one bug with scrollbar which would occur when sorting, please tell me if its ok with current version.

its ok with current vers. with older vers, the pl would scroll up to the top of the list, but the scroll handle would 'stick' wherever it was until you would click it to drag it, then it would jump up to the top of the scroll column. anyway, fixed now, thanks.

QUOTE
i also dont know what's up with your menu, i can probably fix it anyway.

same in current vers. not a problem, though.

current vers has glitchy vis. vis is ok when playing but freezes on stop(actually kinda cool) and sometimes when stopped is all kinda garbled. again, not a big deal.
QUOTE
QUOTE (juglesh @ Jan 24 2004, 08:59 PM)
will it be possible to sort by artist, then album?

Whilst unintendedly, you already can (click album column, then artist columns). Not to mention you can set custom strings for sorting already.


well, clicking the two columns didnt work for me, but i figured out the custom sorting, and it works great, thanks.
QUOTE
QUOTE (juglesh @ Jan 24 2004, 08:59 PM)
umm...where's the play buttons?

I think you're confused, those are in the standard ui. If you meant are you going to add buttons, yes, someday.

well, yeah i was a bit confused that a media player didnt have a PLAY button!! tongue.gif doesnt really matter, i have buttons on my keyboard and kb shortcuts.

thanks alot, this ui may be replacing my std ui!! thanks for all the work you do on your pluggins, i use 'em alot.

This post has been edited by juglesh: Jan 25 2004, 23:51


--------------------
juglesh B>{)}
www.RadioKDUG.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Killmaster
post Jan 26 2004, 00:39
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 8-January 03
Member No.: 4465



Some thoughts and suggestions:

-Setting custom string under Artist to "%artist%|%album%|$num(%tracknumber%,2)" lets me keep my tracknumbers for each album in order, which I like. However, is there a way to sort ascending if I click on the column twice? Sometimes it's nice to have smile.gif

-Selecting works ok, but dragging up doesn't deselect as it should.

-Scrolling with a wheel mouse doesn't work.

-Could you add the normal menus and the play buttons back? I miss them.

-Make it more like WinXP's details view, with the selected column a different color and a little arrow indicating the direction it's being sorted. Also, I know you set this in the prefs, but I'd be kinda nice to be able to drag the columns around in the main GUI like Windows can.

-Very minor issue, but the Playback order toolbar should have a minimum size that corresponds to the longest item, like the default UI.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tri
post Jan 26 2004, 06:22
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 134
Joined: 11-December 01
Member No.: 627



QUOTE (Mike Giacomelli @ Jan 25 2004, 10:36 PM)
Where did you foobar .7.7c?  I didn't even know that version existed  blink.gif

I found it here.


--------------------
Always defragment your MP3s to avoid subtle lack in harmonics.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerpondile
post Jan 26 2004, 18:11
Post #32





Group: Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 11525



apparently taskbar balloon tip on song change is not working with foo_ui_columns...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The Link
post Jan 26 2004, 18:15
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 665
Joined: 27-November 02
Member No.: 3911



QUOTE (kerpondile @ Jan 26 2004, 06:11 PM)
apparently taskbar balloon tip on song change is not working with foo_ui_columns...

Because this feature is part of the default GUI.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
musicmusic
post Jan 26 2004, 19:56
Post #34


Columns UI developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3034
Joined: 20-December 02
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4177



QUOTE (fantomex @ Jan 25 2004, 05:16 PM)

am i the only one who gets this?

win98 toolbar control doesnt support setting a button with no image, probably related. Please try latest version, and tell me if its fixed or not.

QUOTE (Tri @ Jan 25 2004, 07:33 PM)
While playing around I noticed that the 'Item height' resets when you go to preferences.


Keep up your nice work smile.gif


thanks, fixed smile.gif

QUOTE (YinYang @ Jan 25 2004, 10:42 PM)
Win98SE bug here.

It seems that I cannot manually (though by database search it works) add files with "national" characters:

Bjrk - I've Seen It All
Brcken, Claudia - Kiss Like Ether [Earth Mood Magic]
Jrgensen, C. V. - Ude Af Sync

Being prime examples.


thanks, not related to win 98 but fixed

QUOTE (juglesh @ Jan 25 2004, 10:42 PM)
current vers has glitchy vis. vis is ok when playing but freezes on stop(actually kinda cool) and sometimes when stopped is all kinda garbled.  again, not a big deal.


Is ok here (except wrong colour when foobar first starts), but i will look into improving it.

QUOTE (Killmaster @ Jan 25 2004, 11:39 PM)
Some thoughts and suggestions:

-Setting custom string under Artist to "%artist%|%album%|$num(%tracknumber%,2)" lets me keep my tracknumbers for each album in order, which I like. However, is there a way to sort ascending if I click on the column twice? Sometimes it's nice to have smile.gif

-Selecting works ok, but dragging up doesn't deselect as it should.

-Scrolling with a wheel mouse doesn't work.

-Could you add the normal menus and the play buttons back? I miss them.

-Make it more like WinXP's details view, with the selected column a different color and a little arrow indicating the direction it's being sorted. Also, I know you set this in the prefs, but I'd be kinda nice to be able to drag the columns around in the main GUI like Windows can.

-Very minor issue, but the Playback order toolbar should have a minimum size that corresponds to the longest item, like the default UI.


1. Done in alpha 5 in right click menu

2. I copied behaviours from default ui, but was slightly broken in. in alpha 5 press space to deselect the current item then when you goback it will deselect them

3. Currently only support is probably from mouse drivers itself (?) I dunno, it works here w/ intelli point 4.1 or something, i may add built in support later (?)

4. Drag/drop columns - maybe. Arrows - maybe, but it would have to be cleared when items are added to playlist/removed/moved because sort order would be diff. Selected column - there isnt one.

5. Fixed in alpha 5.

QUOTE (The Link @ Jan 26 2004, 05:15 PM)
QUOTE (kerpondile @ Jan 26 2004, 06:11 PM)
apparently taskbar balloon tip on song change is not working with foo_ui_columns...

Because this feature is part of the default GUI.


Yes, will be added later.

alpha 5

changelog:
- fixed files added via drag & drop sent in ansi encoding not utf8
- minimised flickering of tabs playlist switcher, status bar when resizing
- double clicking columns divider now takes account of any colour codes in your formatting strings
- changed way columns are sorted when clicking on them
- added context menu for header with descending sort option
- added optional middle clicking for tabs
- fixed item height setting set to 0 when entering prefs
- fixed some mouse selection behaviours
- playback order dropdown minimun width set to width of widest name
- some improvements to rebar


=====

Does anyone have any requests for columns. I plan to add the following
- Left/centre/rigth align,emt
- Playlist filters (Hide column on playlists named.., Show columns only on playlists named...)

These will break config compatibillity so if anyone has any suggestions please share them.


--------------------
.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
treech
post Jan 26 2004, 20:54
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 28-May 02
From: Helsingborg
Member No.: 2147



Very cool, works with w2k + sp4 now wink.gif
anyway, i did notice a few things, colors in scripts don't seem to work, i know there a little box there for adding colors, but it's not very flexible, i use different colors for bitrate and such....
like this:
QUOTE
//bitrate stuff
$if2($greater(0,$info(bitrate)),$get(RED))
$if2($greater(129,$info(bitrate)),$get(YELLOW))
$if2($greater(161,$info(bitrate)),$get(GREY))
$if2($greater(192,$info(bitrate)),$get(GREEN))
$if2($greater(256,$info(bitrate)),$get(BLUE))
$pad($info(bitrate),4)$char(9474)


Also, i'm not quite sure of the $pad_right(), $pad() and such features, are they working like they do in the normal iu ?

But my my scrollwheel on the mouse ain't working! sad.gif

And what is the "use custom title spec for sorting by column" ? give an example on it plz smile.gif

EDIT: oh, and the sorting is kinda nuts on the lenght smile.gif (i guess we need natural sorting or something like that)

EDIT2: Also, the the dropdown thingy (playmode, default,shuffle, whatever...) does not show, it does not drop down....

Also, a save config thingy like foo_syfm would be awsome biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by treech: Jan 26 2004, 21:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tri
post Jan 26 2004, 21:09
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 134
Joined: 11-December 01
Member No.: 627



With alpha 5, the right-click menu doesn't work anymore blink.gif


--------------------
Always defragment your MP3s to avoid subtle lack in harmonics.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rectangle
post Jan 26 2004, 21:21
Post #37





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 233
Joined: 18-December 02
From: Geelong
Member No.: 4141



Right click context menu items now not working in main playlist & "enable middle clicking for tabs" won't stay checked (even though it keeps working).

XPsp1

Tri beat me to the first one!

This post has been edited by rectangle: Jan 26 2004, 21:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Haggis
post Jan 26 2004, 22:29
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 28-February 03
Member No.: 5232



QUOTE (musicmusic @ Jan 26 2004, 10:56 AM)
Does anyone have any requests for columns.

I think this UI is great. This is a minor thing, but since you asked, how difficult would it be to truncate with an ellipsis character ("") when the text is too big to fit in the column? A nice extra on top of this would be a tooltip that pops up showing you the full text when you mouse over it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
musicmusic
post Jan 26 2004, 22:30
Post #39


Columns UI developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3034
Joined: 20-December 02
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4177



QUOTE (treech @ Jan 26 2004, 07:54 PM)
Very cool, works with w2k + sp4 now wink.gif
anyway, i did notice a few things, colors in scripts don't seem to work, i know there a little box there for adding colors, but it's not very flexible, i use different colors for bitrate and such....
like this:
QUOTE

//bitrate stuff
$if2($greater(0,$info(bitrate)),$get(RED))
$if2($greater(129,$info(bitrate)),$get(YELLOW))
$if2($greater(161,$info(bitrate)),$get(GREY))
$if2($greater(192,$info(bitrate)),$get(GREEN))
$if2($greater(256,$info(bitrate)),$get(BLUE))
$pad($info(bitrate),4)$char(9474)


Also, i'm not quite sure of the $pad_right(), $pad() and such features, are they working like they do in the normal iu ?

But my my scrollwheel on the mouse ain't working! sad.gif

And what is the "use custom title spec for sorting by column" ? give an example on it plz smile.gif

EDIT: oh, and the sorting is kinda nuts on the lenght smile.gif (i guess we need natural sorting or something like that)

EDIT2: Also, the the dropdown thingy (playmode, default,shuffle, whatever...) does not show, it does not drop down....

Also, a save config thingy like foo_syfm would be awsome biggrin.gif

rectangle & tri: thanks, both fixed (redownload, still marked alpha 5)

1. You can use colour codes in the string, its working fine here. You can also use tab char's the same way you would with standard ui.

2. pad stuff, If you use a fixed width font probably

3. custom sort spec is the spec to use for sorting when clicking on the columns, the box underneath is where you put the spec smile.gif so you could put $num() there and avoid natural sorting

4. working here but was giving me wierd problems before, will look into it

5. I will add import/export tools when things are a bit for finalised


--------------------
.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
musicmusic
post Jan 26 2004, 22:36
Post #40


Columns UI developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3034
Joined: 20-December 02
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4177



My post got cut off somehow blink.gif

Tri & rectangle: both fixed, redownload (still marked alpha 5)

edit: oh i typed in the wrong place, nevermind

This post has been edited by musicmusic: Jan 26 2004, 22:37


--------------------
.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
treech
post Jan 26 2004, 23:36
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 28-May 02
From: Helsingborg
Member No.: 2147



Also, ONE color property for all fields would be usefull (as an option)
and perhaps a singe place where i could paste thing like color definitions so i don't have to do that in every single window smile.gif

like this:

QUOTE
$puts(WHITE,FFFFFF|FFFFFF)
$puts(RED,0000FF|0000FF)
$puts(GREY,969696|969696)
$puts(GREEN,00FF00|00FF00)
$puts(LGREEN,00FF88|00FF88)
$puts(YELLOW,0fB9FF|0fB9FF)
//$puts(BLUE,ff0000|ff0000)
$puts(BLUE,ff6600|000000)
$puts(BLACK,000000|000000)
$puts(WHITE,FFFFFF|FFFFFF)


This post has been edited by treech: Jan 26 2004, 23:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
juglesh
post Jan 27 2004, 04:43
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 10-January 02
From: www.RadioKDUG.com
Member No.: 978



QUOTE
Does anyone have any requests for columns. I plan to add the following
- Left/centre/rigth align,emt


yes, please. be great to have right align. any columns you have right aligned should stick to the right no matter the window size.

also, what would be great is if you could specify that a column would be 'unsqueezeable', that is, if you resize other columns, unsqueezable columns would not change size. could make colums unexpandable, too. ie, if you squeeze other column, this column will not expand.

you could also specify certain columns to be the first (2nd, 3rd, etc) one squeezed. maybe specify that a column would be the first to squeez, but only squeeze down to x characters or pixels. and make columns last(2nd, 3rd, etc) to squeez.

specify column to be the first(2nd, 3rd, etc) one expanded when others are squeezed. set max and min pixels and/or % for column width.

QUOTE
truncate with an ellipsis character ("") when the text is too big to fit in the column? A nice extra on top of this would be a tooltip
-Haggis

i like this, too. what about individual horizontal scroll bars for all (or specified) columns. if x characters are truncated, show horizontal scroll bar.

thanks for your time,

--oh, could you please post the url for your site? (musicmusic) maybe list it in your profile. thx

This post has been edited by juglesh: Jan 27 2004, 04:46


--------------------
juglesh B>{)}
www.RadioKDUG.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sid59
post Jan 27 2004, 09:38
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 11313



getting better and better .. good job.

you changed from the right pane of playlists to tabs .. can you make it an option to use either?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerpondile
post Jan 27 2004, 11:15
Post #44





Group: Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 11525



This is small feature, but is it possible statusbar to update instantly when moving the playing "slider".

hope you understand...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Speek
post Jan 27 2004, 14:42
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 394
Joined: 31-October 01
Member No.: 386



And another request: could you make the playlist 3D instead of flat look?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ginipig1
post Jan 27 2004, 14:53
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 10145



Looking good
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kalmark
post Jan 27 2004, 16:33
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 599
Joined: 9-October 03
From: ZZ 9 Plural Z Alpha
Member No.: 9230



I like it, I like it!!!

Suggestions:
-Have a separate font setting for the playlist and the column names
-Adopt the seekbar from the default UI, or at least make "instant seeking" an option

Keep up the good work! As soon as someone thinks out how to use upNorth's formatting string, or something like that for foo_columns, I'm in' smile.gif


--------------------
Life is Real...
(But not in audio :) )
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Jan 27 2004, 18:05
Post #48





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4410
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (juglesh @ Jan 27 2004, 04:43 AM)
what about individual horizontal scroll bars for all (or specified) columns.  if x characters are truncated, show horizontal scroll bar.

There must be a reason why I haven't seen this before. Just imagine how awful it would look...


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ginipig1
post Jan 27 2004, 18:32
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 10145



what do you mean foosion?

Since this dll is still in it's alpha stage, it still has some problems when it comes to resizing. The columns aren't smart enough (yet) to adjust their width automatically. A horizontal scroll bar is a good idea for interim releases.. but once all the bugs are ironed out, it won't be neccessary.

[edit:// question about avatar]

I absolutely love those avatars that feature nes/snes characters. Can you suggest a site that provides guides on how to create one?

This post has been edited by ginipig1: Jan 27 2004, 18:34
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Jan 27 2004, 19:41
Post #50





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4410
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (ginipig1 @ Jan 27 2004, 06:32 PM)
Since this dll is still in it's alpha stage, it still has some problems when it comes to resizing. The columns aren't smart enough (yet) to adjust their width automatically. A horizontal scroll bar is a good idea for interim releases.. but once all the bugs are ironed out, it won't be neccessary.

I don't think horizontal scroll bars for individual columns are good (not even as interim solution) since they a) are non-standard, b) look IMHO ugly (especially when there is an additional scroll bar because the window is too narrow to show all columns), and c) aren't any easier to code than auto-resizing columns.

QUOTE
I absolutely love those avatars that feature nes/snes characters. Can you suggest a site that provides guides on how to create one?

Sorry, I don't know any sites for this. Just make a screenshot in an emulator and use an image editing tool to remove the background, etc. MS Paint should do, but it isn't all that great.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

275 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 21:01