IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
48 Khz or 44.1 Khz
Schlunzen
post Nov 25 2008, 23:17
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 60826



Hi there guys! biggrin.gif

In my soundcard driver i can choose between 48 khz and 44.1 khz.
Well i think 48 khz is best because it's a higher number but I am not sure.
Cause almost all music is recorded in 44.1 khz?
So what should i choose for the best sound? (All my music is in FLAC)
48 khz or 44.1 khz? biggrin.gif


Hope you guys can help me smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tahnru
post Nov 25 2008, 23:35
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 325
Joined: 17-October 05
From: United States
Member No.: 25178



Which soundcard? What playback software?

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=4834
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=Resampling
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jebus
post Nov 26 2008, 00:04
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 1293
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Calgary, AB
Member No.: 5541



QUOTE (Schlunzen @ Nov 25 2008, 15:17) *
Hi there guys! biggrin.gif

In my soundcard driver i can choose between 48 khz and 44.1 khz.
Well i think 48 khz is best because it's a higher number but I am not sure.
Cause almost all music is recorded in 44.1 khz?
So what should i choose for the best sound? (All my music is in FLAC)
48 khz or 44.1 khz? biggrin.gif


Hope you guys can help me smile.gif



What kind of soundcard is it?


All CD-based music is recorded at 44.1kHz, but almost everything else is 48kHz (or multiples of). Usually sound cards resample CD audio to 48kHz internally on playback. You generally can't tell - there isn't usually an audible quality loss. If your soundcard actually does 44.1kHz playback (and it probably doesn't) then you can always choose that mode for "perfect" CD reproduction.

FLAC files will have the same sample rate as the source... so if you made them from CD-audio, you have 44.1kHz FLAC files. I have some made from DVDs that are 48kHz though, for example.

This post has been edited by Jebus: Nov 26 2008, 00:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schlunzen
post Nov 26 2008, 12:05
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 60826



Thanks for quick answers biggrin.gif

My Soundcard is a Terratec Aureon 5.1 PCI
http://www.terratec.net/en/products/Aureon_5.1_PCI_1988.html

I don't know if the soundcard resamples, but here is a picture of the drivers control panel.

http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/7117/un...ivetjpeges6.jpg

I use winamp and foobar2000.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
uart
post Nov 26 2008, 13:53
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 782
Joined: 23-November 04
Member No.: 18295



If you're music format is already 44.1k then there's nothing to gain in forcing the soundcard to resample to 48k.

The reason that some people software resample their 44.1k material to 48k during payback is because some soundcards automatically resample everything to 48k anyway, and in these cases the software resampler simply does a better job.

If you want to test how your soundcard performs I suggest you run some righmark Audio Analyser loopback tests. You can test at both 44.1k and 48k and if the results are significantly better at 48k (especially the IMD) then the card probably re-samples.

I'm not sure if this is the exact same model as yours but if so it appears that it doesn't resample (no significant difference between 44.1 and 48k results)
See : http://forum.rightmark.org/topic.cgi?id=4:133
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schlunzen
post Nov 26 2008, 15:16
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 60826



So the only reason I should leave it on 48 khz is if i want to see DVDs on my computer?
It will neither give better or worse quality with music because it is recorded at 44.1 khz?

I will check the tests out wink.gif
The link is not to my soundcard unfortunately.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schlunzen
post Nov 26 2008, 15:16
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 60826



OK I tried the tests.
I was a little confused with the software, but if i did it right there is a very,very,VERY small difference between the 44.1 khz mode and 48 khz mode.
So this mean my card don't resample?

This post has been edited by Schlunzen: Nov 26 2008, 16:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Nov 26 2008, 18:32
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 1410
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



Your card supports both 44.1kHz and 48kHz just fine. That setting in the screenshot ("Digital") is for S/PDIF output. If you have connected your card to an audio/video receiver, either set it to 44.1kHz when streaming CD-DA rips, or 48kHz when stream movie soundtracks.


--------------------
See my profile for measurements, tools and recommendations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schlunzen
post Nov 26 2008, 20:03
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 60826



QUOTE (skamp @ Nov 26 2008, 18:32) *
Your card supports both 44.1kHz and 48kHz just fine. That setting in the screenshot ("Digital") is for S/PDIF output. If you have connected your card to an audio/video receiver, either set it to 44.1kHz when streaming CD-DA rips, or 48kHz when stream movie soundtracks.


Thank you I will set it to 44.1 khz because I never watch movies wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Nov 26 2008, 21:00
Post #10





Group: Developer
Posts: 1410
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



Do you even use the S/PDIF output?


--------------------
See my profile for measurements, tools and recommendations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schlunzen
post Nov 26 2008, 21:35
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 60826



QUOTE (skamp @ Nov 26 2008, 21:00) *
Do you even use the S/PDIF output?


No, but now I don't understand...
In my control panel where i configure it it says analog output over.
Under that it says S/PDIF output and if i click the button it activates i think xD
Because the volume increases much.
You're sure it's not the analog and S/PDIF under?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Nov 27 2008, 08:29
Post #12





Group: Developer
Posts: 1410
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



Check out your manual, page 14: it clearly puts the "Digital Audio" dropdown menu under S/PDIF output.


--------------------
See my profile for measurements, tools and recommendations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schlunzen
post Nov 27 2008, 14:54
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 60826



QUOTE (skamp @ Nov 27 2008, 08:29) *
Check out your manual, page 14: it clearly puts the "Digital Audio" dropdown menu under S/PDIF output.


Ok, I don't know where it is wink.gif
But if that's right this topic and question is useless.
Anyway thanks biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
uart
post Nov 27 2008, 17:48
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 782
Joined: 23-November 04
Member No.: 18295



QUOTE (Schlunzen @ Nov 27 2008, 05:54) *
QUOTE (skamp @ Nov 27 2008, 08:29) *

Check out your manual, page 14: it clearly puts the "Digital Audio" dropdown menu under S/PDIF output.


Ok, I don't know where it is wink.gif
But if that's right this topic and question is useless.
Anyway thanks biggrin.gif

Well not completely usless as you've learnt how to make a loopback test and also learnt that your card works fine at 44.1 and 48k so you have no need to software resample.

BTW. If you don't mind could you please post the RMAA results (or just a summary). It would be interesting to see how that card performs (especially for noise, THD, and IMD). Thanks.

This post has been edited by uart: Nov 27 2008, 17:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schlunzen
post Nov 27 2008, 18:05
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 60826



QUOTE (uart @ Nov 27 2008, 17:48) *
QUOTE (Schlunzen @ Nov 27 2008, 05:54) *

QUOTE (skamp @ Nov 27 2008, 08:29) *

Check out your manual, page 14: it clearly puts the "Digital Audio" dropdown menu under S/PDIF output.


Ok, I don't know where it is wink.gif
But if that's right this topic and question is useless.
Anyway thanks biggrin.gif

Well not completely usless as you've learnt how to make a loopback test and also learnt that your card works fine at 44.1 and 48k so you have no need to software resample.

BTW. If you don't mind could you please post the RMAA results (or just a summary). It would be interesting to see how that card performs (especially for noise, THD, and IMD). Thanks.



Haha yes you're right biggrin.gif
I will try to lean using the program a little more. Maybe I will post the results then tongue.gif

Maybe you could help me testing with the software? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Schlunzen: Nov 27 2008, 18:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 19:21