IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Open Source Fraunhofer AAC Encoder (fdk-aac)
D404
post Jul 11 2012, 17:02
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 30-July 08
Member No.: 56482



Android 4.1 has included an AAC encoding library by Fraunhofer, and Libav/FFmpeg support for this library is in the works (that is, in a day or two, it will be official.)

From the release announcement:
QUOTE
As part of the Android Jelly Bean source code released recently, a new AAC
library was released as well, developed by Fraunhofer:
https://android.googlesource.com/platform/external/aac

To ease using this library on platforms other than Android, I have added
an autotools based build system and done a minor portability fix, and
released this code as fdk-aac 0.1.0 today.

This project is hosted at sourceforge, under the opencore-amr project,
acting as an umbrella project for these codecs that are repackaged from
Android as standalone libraries, just as opencore-amr, vo-amrwbenc and
vo-aacenc before this one.

The release file is available at
http://sourceforge.net/projects/opencore-amr/files/fdk-aac/
and the code is available in git at
git://opencore-amr.git.sourceforge.net/gitroot/opencore-amr/fdk-aac.

This library is licensed under a custom copyleft style license:
http://opencore-amr.git.sourceforge.net/gi...a=blob;f=NOTICE

I in general intend to limit this project to minor tweaks and portability
fixes - for anything larger than that, I'd prefer if it first is
contributed upstream, to keep the difference between the upstream code and
this library as small as possible.


Edit: Obvious patent violation removed.

It can be used as such:

Bitrate Mode
CODE
avconv -i <input> -c:a libfdk_aac -b:a <bitrate> -afterburner 1 <output>


VBR Mode
CODE
aconv -i <input> -c:a libfdk_aac -flags +qscale -global_quality [1-5] -afterburner 1 <output>


VBR modes 1-5 correspond to roughly:
  1. about 32 kbps/channel
  2. about 40 kbps/channel
  3. about 48-56 kbps/channel
  4. about 64 kbps/channel
  5. about 80-96 kbps/channel

-afterburner 1 enabkes "improved quality" mode.

Cheers.

Edit: This should be moved to the Tech forum.

This post has been edited by Garf: Jul 11 2012, 19:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jul 11 2012, 19:02
Post #2


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4883
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



Heh, interesting. It was pointed out that the previous encoder they had had very questionable licensing because it appeared to be 3GPP code with the copyright notice of another firm slapped on it: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=88183

I guess Google "fixed" that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Jul 11 2012, 19:14
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



I wonder if it's the same or similar encoder as Winamp FhG AAC. It has the same number of VBR modes (the last version of past year). If it's the case then it will be a first high quality open source AAC encoder. w00t.gif

This post has been edited by IgorC: Jul 11 2012, 19:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LithosZA
post Jul 11 2012, 19:21
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 26-February 11
Member No.: 88525



QUOTE
I wonder if it's the same or similar encoder as Winamp FhG AAC. It has the same number of VBR modes. If it's the case then it will be a first high quality open source AAC encoder. w00t.gif

I hope this is true
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jul 11 2012, 19:23
Post #5


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4883
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (LithosZA @ Jul 11 2012, 20:21) *
QUOTE
I wonder if it's the same or similar encoder as Winamp FhG AAC. It has the same number of VBR modes. If it's the case then it will be a first high quality open source AAC encoder. w00t.gif

I hope this is true


It certainly looks like the real thing to me... (I don't know if this is Winamps encoder, but it's certainly a full-featured encoder not based on any code I've seen, with full psymodel, smart bitallocation etc)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Jul 11 2012, 19:23
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



Can anyone run this encoder in high quality mode (-afterburner 1) with VBR let's say at 96 kbps compare it to Winamp FhG encoder VBR 3 in wave editor?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brand
post Jul 11 2012, 20:31
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 317
Joined: 27-November 09
Member No.: 75355



QUOTE (IgorC @ Jul 11 2012, 20:14) *
I wonder if it's the same or similar encoder as Winamp FhG AAC. It has the same number of VBR modes (the last version of past year).

But the bitrates are much lower than those from Winamp's FhG AAC. (Mode 4 in Winamp's encoder is ~130kbps, for example.)
Or maybe those are not the same kind of VBR modes?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Jul 11 2012, 20:37
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



Winamp FhG encoder: VBR 4 130 kbps stereo.
This new encoder: VBR 4 64 kbps/channel, 130 kbps stereo.

This post has been edited by IgorC: Jul 11 2012, 20:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
punkrockdude
post Jul 11 2012, 20:49
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 244
Joined: 21-February 05
Member No.: 20022



Interesting! I look forward to try it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brand
post Jul 11 2012, 20:52
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 317
Joined: 27-November 09
Member No.: 75355



QUOTE (IgorC @ Jul 11 2012, 21:37) *
Winamp FhG encoder: VBR 4 130 kbps stereo.
This new encoder: VBR 4 64 kbps/channel, 130 kbps stereo.

Oh, I see.

It would be nice if it's the same encoder then. To me it sounded like the best AAC encoder when I was testing them (only tested with one sample, tho..).

This post has been edited by Brand: Jul 11 2012, 20:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
06_taro
post Jul 11 2012, 22:33
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 22-September 10
Member No.: 84054



libfdk-aac also has an aac decoder, which can decode AAC-LD/AAC-ELD, though limited to 16-bit integer output.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Jul 11 2012, 22:38
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



as well as ELD/LD-AAC encoder.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Jul 12 2012, 00:04
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 4866
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (06_taro @ Jul 11 2012, 17:33) *
libfdk-aac also has an aac decoder, which can decode AAC-LD/AAC-ELD, though limited to 16-bit integer output.


Not much in the way of ARM assembly code though, so probably no faster then existing arm decoders.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlloyge
post Jul 12 2012, 09:37
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 695
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



Is this available on windows?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
D404
post Jul 12 2012, 16:01
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 30-July 08
Member No.: 56482



QUOTE (hlloyge @ Jul 12 2012, 04:37) *
Is this available on windows?


I had posted one but it was removed due to :patents: (even though the VisualOn binary is still allowed... I dunno why.)

Looks like you'll have to compile from source yourself, of use the magic of the Internet to find one.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jul 12 2012, 16:40
Post #16


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4883
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (D404 @ Jul 12 2012, 17:01) *
even though the VisualOn binary is still allowed... I dunno why.


Fixed, thanks for pointing this out.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2012
post Jul 12 2012, 17:45
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 7-February 12
Member No.: 96993



It looks like low pass decisions are broken in CBR for bitrates >192kbps (2 channels/ 44100Hz).
It seems to never go above 17kHz even if the bitrate is set to 512kbps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
D404
post Jul 12 2012, 20:22
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 30-July 08
Member No.: 56482



QUOTE (2012 @ Jul 12 2012, 12:45) *
It looks like low pass decisions are broken in CBR for bitrates >192kbps (2 channels/ 44100Hz).
It seems to never go above 17kHz even if the bitrate is set to 512kbps.


Seems to be settable in the API, and should be added as an option to avconv soon, I think.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
benski
post Jul 12 2012, 20:31
Post #19


Winamp Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-July 05
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 23375



QUOTE (D404 @ Jul 12 2012, 11:01) *
QUOTE (hlloyge @ Jul 12 2012, 04:37) *
Is this available on windows?


I had posted one but it was removed due to :patents: (even though the VisualOn binary is still allowed... I dunno why.)

Looks like you'll have to compile from source yourself, of use the magic of the Internet to find one.


I am not a lawyer, but here is the part of the license that is problematic for use of this source code in other projects
CODE
  51 3.    NO PATENT LICENSE
  52
  53 NO EXPRESS OR IMPLIED LICENSES TO ANY PATENT CLAIMS, including without limitation the patents of Fraunhofer,
  54 ARE GRANTED BY THIS SOFTWARE LICENSE. Fraunhofer provides no warranty of patent non-infringement with
  55 respect to this software.
  56
  57 You may use this FDK AAC Codec software or modifications thereto only for purposes that are authorized
  58 by appropriate patent licenses.


This post has been edited by benski: Jul 12 2012, 20:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Jul 12 2012, 21:01
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 4866
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (benski @ Jul 12 2012, 15:31) *
I am not a lawyer, but here is the part of the license that is problematic for use of this source code in other projects
CODE
  51 3.    NO PATENT LICENSE
  52
  53 NO EXPRESS OR IMPLIED LICENSES TO ANY PATENT CLAIMS, including without limitation the patents of Fraunhofer,
  54 ARE GRANTED BY THIS SOFTWARE LICENSE. Fraunhofer provides no warranty of patent non-infringement with
  55 respect to this software.
  56
  57 You may use this FDK AAC Codec software or modifications thereto only for purposes that are authorized
  58 by appropriate patent licenses.



I don't think that would be a problem for most open source licenses. Off hand I can't think of any that force you to also provide patent licenses to go with the software license, since in practice that would be almost impossible to know which patents were covered and which were not. IIUC, that basically leaves you in the same place as the GPL, you're allowed under copyright law but patent law is up to you and your country.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jul 12 2012, 21:48
Post #21


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4883
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



The extra statements in the license are there because it's a BSD-style license, and there's some line of legal arguing (not confirmed in court. and quite arguable, but still) that says that BSD licensed software comes with an implicit patent license. FhG especially doesn't want to give you such a license because they make money from AAC patents, which is why they add that clarification.

(Note that even if FhG had given an implicit or explicit license, there are still many AAC patents they don't own. So you can't distribute AAC encoder binaries without a patent license. Please don't post illegal stuff here, which means no encoder binaries unless you have an actual licensing deal.)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlloyge
post Jul 13 2012, 17:29
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 695
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



How do I fit it into foobar2000 for encoding?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Jul 13 2012, 18:42
Post #23





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3348
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



QUOTE (hlloyge @ Jul 13 2012, 09:29) *
How do I fit it into foobar2000 for encoding?
It needs to be compiled and released somewhere first. Whether Rarewares is an acceptable site to host such material seems to be a topic of discussion right now.


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Jul 13 2012, 19:55
Post #24





Group: Developer
Posts: 1412
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



I'd settle for instructions on how to compile avconv (libav) with support for fdk-aac. Or would that be illegal too?


--------------------
See my profile for measurements, tools and recommendations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jul 13 2012, 20:15
Post #25


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4883
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (skamp @ Jul 13 2012, 20:55) *
I'd settle for instructions on how to compile avconv (libav) with support for fdk-aac. Or would that be illegal too?


Nothing wrong with that. Publishing source code is OK, talking about patented technologies is OK too (we wouldn't have much to discuss if it wasn't :-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

6 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2014 - 13:29