IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

23 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_scheduler, Plugin for scheduling actions like play, stop, system shutdown/wake up
andrew_smolko
post Oct 25 2006, 21:06
Post #1





Group: Developer
Posts: 149
Joined: 28-July 06
Member No.: 33384



Download here.
Source code here.
Change log is in about window of plugin.

This post has been edited by andrew_smolko: Sep 2 2015, 19:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Shinsou
post Oct 25 2006, 21:36
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 27-May 05
Member No.: 22338



very useful features. Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NeXT
post Oct 25 2006, 22:32
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 16-April 05
Member No.: 21477



Wow, I waited this so long! =) Thanks! Trying to migrate from foo_scheduler for 0.8.. smile.gif

Will there be any significant interface modifications? Most of all I miss quick access to events via Components -> Scheduler and current inability to use once-defined action to multiple events (and lack of choosing exact track of playlist to play wink.gif)..

And, there' s the first founded bug smile.gif :

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Oct 25 2006, 23:43
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1357
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Yes, thank you wub.gif

I only miss a timer instead of using exact time.

Good work!


--------------------
Windows 8.1u3 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.8
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
12zmcnvow1277
post Oct 26 2006, 06:52
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 5-December 04
Member No.: 18498



Nice work, i had a bulky freeware program that woke from standby but now i can rely on this thanks a lot man.

Would be fantastic if you could intergrate a shutdown timer into it aswell, but I do understand that this is in it's early stages.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Oct 26 2006, 06:56
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1357
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Tried it this night and it worked perfectly, it started fade the volume and play in the morning. happy.gif


--------------------
Windows 8.1u3 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.8
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vbguy
post Oct 26 2006, 07:12
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-August 06
Member No.: 33689



A "resume playback" or "unpause" option would be nice. Currently, the "Start playback" option restarts to the beginning of the file if it is paused.

Other than that, this is a nice plugin.

This post has been edited by vbguy: Oct 26 2006, 07:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pIv
post Oct 26 2006, 08:14
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 301
Joined: 9-July 03
Member No.: 7668



It is very good if "Exit foobar" action will be added.
By example, when Foobar reach the end of playlist - it must close, but not system shutdown as made in action "Shutdown".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Matyas
post Oct 26 2006, 08:23
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 158
Joined: 8-August 03
From: Bratislava
Member No.: 8242



I think the long wait for scheduler was worthy. And knowing the development progress^quality of foo_alarm, this will also be a fantastic plugin! Keep up the good work!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
philipshu
post Oct 26 2006, 08:43
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 10-April 05
Member No.: 21357



i didn't see anything,
what's wrong?
i just reinstalled foobar and it's still not working


This post has been edited by philipshu: Oct 26 2006, 08:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Oct 26 2006, 09:09
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1357
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



When it's enabled, like in your screenshot, you just rightclick somewhere on the white =)

This post has been edited by Andreasvb: Oct 26 2006, 09:10


--------------------
Windows 8.1u3 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.8
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
philipshu
post Oct 26 2006, 09:41
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 10-April 05
Member No.: 21357



thanks,
i get it now
maybe something like "right click here" when it's empty next update?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Melomane
post Oct 26 2006, 09:53
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 644
Joined: 13-January 03
From: Marseille
Member No.: 4552



QUOTE (philipshu @ Oct 26 2006, 10:41) *
thanks,
i get it now
maybe something like "right click here" when it's empty next update?


you can see this: "use context menu to customise the task tree".
context menu mean "right click"
nobody born sage
please buy a book and learn
biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Melomane: Oct 26 2006, 09:57


--------------------
Music is my first love.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Melomane
post Oct 26 2006, 10:13
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 644
Joined: 13-January 03
From: Marseille
Member No.: 4552



2 requests:
- shortcut to customise page
- timer ( action after xx time)

thank you for your plugin, now i can delete my autohotkey script...


--------------------
Music is my first love.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gren
post Oct 26 2006, 11:03
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 17-September 06
Member No.: 35284



Great plugin. When I first saw it I was ambivalent about the design--and I still can't tell whether its cleanliness is a great advantage or a disadvantage smile.gif It's most likely because I've been using this Winamp plugin for the past three plus years until a few months ago I started using foo_alarm. So, my reluctance is meaningless--in fact, it took me quite some time to get me used to foobar and now I look at Winamp and wonder how I used it.

Request: I would second the request for a "timer". While you can do it by setting a one time schedule for a certain time that is not preferable. What I think would be ideal is a third option, the timer, added to date/time event and player event. It would be a one time event of X minutes and it would start counting down whenever you enabled it. So, whenever I want my music on before I go to bed I just click the check box and it goes on for 60 minutes. Then, that same event will be ready for me to click for tomorrow night (unless I chose the remove after done option).

The ability to check the same event night after night and have it count down is what makes it useful since if it was a one time 60 minute event you could very well set a one time alarm. But being able to check the box and get the same 60 minutes would be very useful (to me).

Two less important issues: When you add new events should the be checked by default (I almost didn't check it)? and, would anyone else find it useful to be able to add a label to each event? Such as "class alarm", "shutdown for the weekend" or whatever. It could be right aligned or whatnot. and I think it might provide an easier way to navigate many events rather than reading the times.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_smolko
post Oct 26 2006, 11:35
Post #16





Group: Developer
Posts: 149
Joined: 28-July 06
Member No.: 33384



QUOTE (NeXT @ Oct 26 2006, 00:32) *
And, there' s the first founded bug smile.gif :


Windows version please and language settings. Something is wrong with GetTimeFormat...

And now about the timer: IT'S ALREADY IMPLEMENTED!!! smile.gif See "Delay" action. It pauses action list for a certain amount of time.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Oct 26 2006, 12:18
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 1357
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Well, you still need to enter an exact time for an action to start, don't you? wink.gif

It should be like gren said, enable it and it starts ticking happy.gif


--------------------
Windows 8.1u3 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.8
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gren
post Oct 26 2006, 12:29
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 17-September 06
Member No.: 35284



QUOTE
And now about the timer: IT'S ALREADY IMPLEMENTED!!! smile.gif See "Delay" action. It pauses action list for a certain amount of time.


But... that's only under a player event or a date/time event. What I think is useful is delay from right now. Did what I was saying make sense? Having a timer of 60 minutes with events under it and whenever you checked the box it would start the timer going? While I see that it's possible to do timer actions now... you first have to create a date/time that goes off right away to enact the delay which will lead to whatever other actions you schedule. It assumes that a timer must be started at a certain time event instead of starting a timer 'now'.

Here is what I envisioned:



The event waits there until you want to click on it... and when you do the timer for those actions starts. Maybe this is laziness... but using your delay you create a date/time event for one minute from now with those actions and then delay X minutes and each time you want to use this you have to change the time to being a minute from now to get the delay timer started.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_smolko
post Oct 26 2006, 12:37
Post #19





Group: Developer
Posts: 149
Joined: 28-July 06
Member No.: 33384



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Oct 26 2006, 14:18) *
Well, you still need to enter an exact time for an action to start, don't you? wink.gif

It should be like gren said, enable it and it starts ticking happy.gif


Ok, understood.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_smolko
post Oct 26 2006, 12:49
Post #20





Group: Developer
Posts: 149
Joined: 28-July 06
Member No.: 33384



QUOTE (gren @ Oct 26 2006, 14:29) *
Here is what I envisioned:



The event waits there until you want to click on it... and when you do the timer for those actions starts.


It will be impossible to start timer after click. While you edit options scheduler is stopped. It starts when the preferences window of scheduler is closed.

As for the idea... I'll think about it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pIv
post Oct 26 2006, 13:42
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 301
Joined: 9-July 03
Member No.: 7668



Andrew!

Do you know about russian Foobar forum (http://www.foobar2000.ru/forum/)?

If you want joint to this forum, we can discussed with you on russian.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Oct 26 2006, 13:57
Post #22





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4595
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (andrew_smolko @ Oct 26 2006, 13:49) *
It will be impossible to start timer after click. While you edit options scheduler is stopped. It starts when the preferences window of scheduler is closed.

As for the idea... I'll think about it.
Why not introduce named events that can be triggered by main menu commands (one command for each named event)?


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_smolko
post Oct 26 2006, 14:08
Post #23





Group: Developer
Posts: 149
Joined: 28-July 06
Member No.: 33384



QUOTE (foosion @ Oct 26 2006, 15:57) *
QUOTE (andrew_smolko @ Oct 26 2006, 13:49) *
It will be impossible to start timer after click. While you edit options scheduler is stopped. It starts when the preferences window of scheduler is closed.

As for the idea... I'll think about it.
Why not introduce named events that can be triggered by main menu commands (one command for each named event)?

Great idea! Thanks, foosion!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chaser
post Oct 26 2006, 16:33
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 404
Joined: 30-August 04
From: Germany, Bavaria
Member No.: 16641



Would you please consider adding the possiblity to add a event like "Do xxx on start of foobar?"

Thank you for you effort!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
huythuy
post Oct 26 2006, 23:12
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 22-July 06
Member No.: 33194



thanks alot. I've been waiting for this one for too long smile.gif

I have 2 requests:
- is it possible to have an option : On playback end -> Proceed to the next playlist. I have many playlists for single artists or albums and it would be great if scheduler simply rolls to next playlist. With the current settings, it seems I could only specify 1 next playlist.
- An option to specify which track should be played would be very nice smile.gif

again, thanks for your effort. most wanted components smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

23 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th September 2015 - 15:55