IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
How to creat screenshot like hydrogenaudio wiki Image?
cuthead
post May 7 2010, 09:18
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-February 07
Member No.: 40601




http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...ces-General.png
This is a image from hydrogenaudio wiki.Which is captured of non-rectangular windows with customized and transparent backgrounds, and the addition of eye-candy drop shadows.
I know WinSnap can do this,but it's shareware and have watermark.
I wonder what's the name of screenshots utility?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 7 2010, 09:35
Post #2





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



Windows Clippings was free, but not anymore. However if you type correct version number (I forgot it now) instead current version download link you may fetch it free

Snipping tools (that comes with Windows) doesn't add shadow and transparency, but you can add drop shadow by almost any graphic editor

I'm pleased when I see someone considering making screenshots better, instead posting ugly PrintScreens wink.gif

This post has been edited by 2E7AH: May 7 2010, 09:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Robertina
post May 7 2010, 11:24
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1307
Joined: 4-January 09
Member No.: 65169



You might want to try Screenshot Captor.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 7 2010, 11:47
Post #4





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



@cuthead: Unlike WinSnap or other artificial capture programs, WindowsClippings captures what's on your Desktop, so if you have shadows enabled - it will catch it, if you have Aero enabled - it will catch transperency... more info on his blog

However, the author removed free version which was 1.5.8, but it can be found elsewhere of course, to save you the trouble, i.e.: link

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mochinushi
post May 7 2010, 13:45
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-August 07
Member No.: 45950



You probably are fully aware of this already, and this is probably a stupid answer, but just to make sure...
You have tried pressing ALT+PrintScreen, right? It works in WinXP, i don't know how it works in Aero, i guess it doesn't work since there are all these programs for making it work ^^
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dano
post May 7 2010, 16:06
Post #6





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 395
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 12414



Also with transparency support and free:
http://code.google.com/p/zscreen/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odigg
post May 7 2010, 17:27
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 629
Joined: 25-July 08
From: USA
Member No.: 56264



OP: Vista and Windows 7 have a built in Snipping Tool. Just look for "Snipping Tool" in your program->accessories.

QUOTE (mochinushi @ May 7 2010, 08:45) *
You have tried pressing ALT+PrintScreen, right? It works in WinXP, i don't know how it works in Aero, i guess it doesn't work since there are all these programs for making it work ^^


It still works without issue in Vista and Windows 7. On my keyboard I don't even have to press alt.

However, this captures the entire screen and you'll have to crop it using a photoeditor. This is fine for a few images, but can be a real nuisance if you are creating a tutorial or some documentation with multiple screen captures of less than full screen regions.

This post has been edited by odigg: May 7 2010, 17:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 7 2010, 17:35
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (odigg)
this captures the entire screen

No, it doesn't. Print Screen on its own does that. Holding Alt copies an image of the currently active window, but doesn't provide any fanciness like "customized and transparent backgrounds, and the addition of eye-candy drop shadows", which the OP apparently desires (and I would say are irrelevant for the purposes of a wiki, not to mention operating systems, but whatever).

This post has been edited by dv1989: May 7 2010, 17:38
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odigg
post May 7 2010, 17:42
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 629
Joined: 25-July 08
From: USA
Member No.: 56264



QUOTE (odigg)
No, it doesn't. Print Screen on its own does that. Holding Alt copies an image of the currently active window...


Well that's a useful feature I never knew about! Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cuthead
post May 11 2010, 19:42
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-February 07
Member No.: 40601



QUOTE (dano @ May 7 2010, 10:06) *
Also with transparency support and free:
http://code.google.com/p/zscreen/

Sorry for my late reply.Appreciate all of you for reply
What a great screeenshot tool! laugh.gif Thank you so much dano,zscreen is the best screeenshot tool I've ever seen.GNU Code license,powerful,simple default setting,autosave,update activity,I really love it.
Let me explain the vista/win7 aero window with my poor english,it has three new features different from winxp.They are transparent background,transparent corner and shadow effect.The normal screeenshot tool(like print screen) cannot handle those features(I used Screenshot Captor,but it's too complicated).Let me show you the different.
print screen

zscreen

print screen's screenshot doesn't have transparent corner and shadow effect.,and window background show my desktop,so you know my desktop,that's not what I want.
zscreen have transparent corner and shadow effect.,and window background does't show my desktop,If you wanna turn off transparent corner and shadow effect,and let people know your desktop,just turn on in option menu.

This post has been edited by cuthead: May 11 2010, 19:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fandango
post May 11 2010, 22:51
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1549
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 8353



QUOTE (cuthead @ May 11 2010, 20:42) *
zscreen have transparent corner and shadow effect.,and window background does't show my desktop,If you wanna turn off transparent corner and shadow effect,and let people know your desktop,just turn on in option menu.

cool.gif
This is actually very cool. This has been bothering me ever since Aero was introduced. The background visible, although blurry, and sometimes the window frame is cropped, too, at least with the Snipping Tool that comes with Windows.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 14:17