IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
DSP chain [de]serialization helper, Save and load current DSP chain configs to/from a file
Yegor
post Feb 20 2011, 10:56
Post #1





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779





DSP chain serialization helper



This helper is useful for sharing of chain presets between different Foobar2000 installations and users.

Hold Shift to access its commands in the Playback menu:



Files produced by the helper have fbcp extension.

The component: Attached File  foo_chain_impexp.zip ( 52.03K ) Number of downloads: 3327
[source code]

This post has been edited by Entrase: Feb 21 2011, 18:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 21 2011, 00:26
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (Entrase @ Feb 20 2011, 10:56) *


DSP chain serialization helper



This helper is useful for sharing of chain presets between different Foobar2000 setups.

Hold Shift to access its commands in the Playback menu:



Files produced by the helper have fbcp extension.

The component: Attached File  foo_chain_impexp.zip ( 52.03K ) Number of downloads: 3327
[source code]


What's the difference between this and exporting/importing DSP profiles?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Feb 21 2011, 03:31
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



May be none at all if such a feature really exists. As “developer”, it's awkward for me to ask but... How do you export/import these profiles anyway?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Feb 21 2011, 10:58
Post #4





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4409
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



Sandrine: This component can store a DSP chain configuration in a separate file, whereas the DSP chain management in the foobar2000 preferences stores DSP chains in the foobar2000 configuration. This component can be used to transfer DSP chain configurations between different foobar2000 installations.

Entrase: May I suggest to rename the "DSP chain serializer" menu entry to "DSP chain"? It's simpler and less technical.

Also the menu entries show as "Load..." and "Save as..." in the menu and "Load" and "Save" in the keyboard shortcuts. Is there a reason why you chose to present the names differently? Maybe consider calling them "Import..." and "Export..." to emphasize there is no inherent connection between the current DSP chain and the last loaded/saved file.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Feb 21 2011, 11:39
Post #5





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



It would be a good idea to handle possible IO exceptions during file operations.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 21 2011, 13:12
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (foosion @ Feb 21 2011, 10:58) *
Sandrine: This component can store a DSP chain configuration in a separate file, whereas the DSP chain management in the foobar2000 preferences stores DSP chains in the foobar2000 configuration. This component can be used to transfer DSP chain configurations between different foobar2000 installations.


Ah, right. For a moment there my memory played tricks on me and I thought that the presets were saved to actual files instead of core.cfg, much like in the kx driver.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Feb 21 2011, 18:42
Post #7





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



QUOTE
May I suggest to rename the "DSP chain serializer" menu entry to "DSP chain"? It's simpler and less technical.
Actually there was "DSP chain" until I released the component. It was an internal tool for testing of an effect adapter. The problem is that "DSP chain" is esentially the same as "DSP settings" in the given context.
QUOTE
Also the menu entries show as "Load..." and "Save as..." in the menu and "Load" and "Save" in the keyboard shortcuts. Is there a reason why you chose to present the names differently?
There were some thoughts but I'm not sure about them :-D Yes, these entries should be...
QUOTE
"Import..." and "Export..."
QUOTE
It would be a good idea to handle possible IO exceptions during file operations.
It'd be excellent idea. I just didn't bother doing it in a little dev utility that nobody needs. May be it's not so useless after all :)

Perhaps it also needs some kind of a warning to show if a DSP is missing.



This post has been edited by Entrase: Feb 21 2011, 18:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
servimo
post Jun 1 2011, 13:48
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 146
Joined: 8-April 07
Member No.: 42330



For me does not show in the playback menu or elsewhere. I can't find it.

This post has been edited by servimo: Jun 1 2011, 13:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Jun 1 2011, 14:01
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2345
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



All menus [main and context] are abbreviated unless you use Shift+key.
In this case, Shift + Playback
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 01:18