IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
CUETools 2.1.4 bugged, Does not repair rips
J.Fleming
post Mar 13 2013, 21:24
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-February 13
Member No.: 106606



I ripped a CD to tracks using Exact Audio Copy 1.0 Beta 3.

Three of the tracks were not accurately ripped. My drive did show C2 correction on these three tracks.

I loaded CUETools 2.1.4. I used the "repair" script and selected "wav" for the encode format. After verifying, it prompts me to "Select the Best Match." I get two options, one with no errors, and one with the reported errors from Exact Audio Copy. If I select the one with no errors, CUETools does nothing. If I select the one with errors, CUETools goes to "writing tracks," then reports that it has corrected the errors, and gives a clean AccurateRIP report.

HOWEVER, when I use CUETools to run a verify on the tracks that it just wrote, and said were corrected, it returns that the tracks STILL CONTAIN the errors. I checked the checksums on the written WAV files, and indeed they do match the original WAV files (the ones with the errors).

I tried the exact same steps using the previous version of CUETools - version 2.1.2a.

This version now works. When I verify the files CUETools says it copied and corrected, they return that they are now indeed accurately ripped. The checksums now differ. I also get a .accurip file in the output directory; I didn't get that before.

So it appears that version 2.1.4 is bugged! That's a pretty big bug IMHO. tongue.gif

(I made sure the local CUETools database in ...\user\Application Data\CUETools was deleted before running each of the above.)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
korth
post Mar 13 2013, 22:41
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 435
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 88969



First, there's a development thread that the current developer of the program reads regularly. Problems should be reported there. This issue was already reported though by me.
QUOTE
If I select the one with no errors, CUETools does nothing.
That's because there's nothing to do.
QUOTE
If I select the one with errors, CUETools goes to "writing tracks," then reports that it has corrected the errors, and gives a clean AccurateRIP report.
This is a projected report (no verification is done during the repair script).
QUOTE
HOWEVER, when I use CUETools to run a verify on the tracks that it just wrote, and said were corrected, it returns that the tracks STILL CONTAIN the errors. I checked the checksums on the written WAV files, and indeed they do match the original WAV files (the ones with the errors).
This was a known issue which I reported here. The patched version was uploaded to the site with the same version number as stated here.

Are you sure you were using the fixed 2.1.4? You would have needed to download it after Jul 12 2012. I just tested wav to wav repair and it worked as expected using the fixed version. Verification confirms changes were made.

This post has been edited by korth: Mar 13 2013, 22:45


--------------------
korth
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
J.Fleming
post Mar 13 2013, 22:50
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-February 13
Member No.: 106606



Where do you get the patched version?

I downloaded version 2.1.4 from here: http://www.cuetools.net/install/CUETools_2.1.4.rar

That's the version that gave me the trouble.

Sorry for not posting in the right thread. :\
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
korth
post Mar 13 2013, 23:06
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 435
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 88969



Downloaded when? Recently? The patched version replaced the original at the same link Jul 12 2012 with no change in version number.

[EDIT] Just confirmed the link is the latest patched version. Two more discs repaired wav to wav as expected and differences verified.

This post has been edited by korth: Mar 14 2013, 00:05


--------------------
korth
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
J.Fleming
post Mar 14 2013, 00:12
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-February 13
Member No.: 106606



Downloaded it today.

I tried it again and it still fails to actually repair the wavs. Version 2.1.2a works fine.

Not sure why 2.1.4 works for you and not for me.

This post has been edited by J.Fleming: Mar 14 2013, 00:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Mar 14 2013, 00:23
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1842
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



Very dumb question, but: you have not managed to change the target folder for the files, so that you are overwriting to somewhere else rather than ... ? (Yeah, I've done that.)

For the record, the version bump did the trick for me. I have repaired 20 rips with it.


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
korth
post Mar 14 2013, 00:23
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 435
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 88969



Don't know why either. I'll point the developer to this thread. Might take a day or two and he may not reply to this thread but he'll look into it. Could you post the CUETools log?

This post has been edited by korth: Mar 14 2013, 00:49


--------------------
korth
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gregory S. Chudo...
post Mar 14 2013, 00:47
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 699
Joined: 2-October 08
From: Ottawa
Member No.: 59035



I should have just bumped the version for that bug fix to avoid so much confusion. Anyway, if you are entirely sure that a clean experiment (with freshly downloaded, freshly unpacked CUETools.exe modified 11 July 2012) produces wav files that are no different from the originals, then i will need more details (logs, source file format, etc).


--------------------
CUETools 2.1.4
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
J.Fleming
post Mar 14 2013, 21:25
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-February 13
Member No.: 106606



Well, I redownloaded 2.1.4, deleted the user folder, ran through it again, and now it works. blink.gif

It may be, that I may have unknowningly done or clicked something in the program that triggered the bug. Or, the download may have been the version from before 7/2012, somehow (we won't know now since I deleted the download). Or, most likely, it's just user error. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Mar 14 2013, 21:58
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1842
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (J.Fleming @ Mar 14 2013, 21:25) *
Or, the download may have been the version from before 7/2012, somehow (we won't know now since I deleted the download)


Or you might not have? Downladed CUETools_2.1.4.rar and then re-downloaded, it being named CUETools_2.1.4(1).rar, then after downloaded the latter, you just went ahead and extracted the former? ;-)


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 21:15