IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Audiochecker errors
db579
post Aug 16 2011, 22:17
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 16-August 11
Member No.: 93077



I'm using audiochecker to check some files I've ripped from CD (I know there's not much point but I'm curious about the accuracy of the software) and for the most part it works fine but occasionally I get tracks that say Error: could not qualify the source of this track. Now I know this doesn't tell me anything about the quality of the track itself but I wondering what's causing the error to be reported?

This has happened on tracks that play fine and where the rest of the CD checks out OK (on brand new CDs as well) so I don't think the issue is with the ripped file. Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Aug 16 2011, 22:34
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 3402
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



Possibly the track on the CD was from a lossy-encoded source?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DVDdoug
post Aug 16 2011, 22:39
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2586
Joined: 24-August 07
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 46454



I don't know, but Audiochecker and similar programs are not perfect. They look at the frequency content of the file (and maybe some other things) and they try to make a judgement or a good-guess.

I don't know if anyone has tried this, but I assume you could fool Audiochecker by decompressing an MP3 and running it through an "exciter effect" to add high frequencies.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db579
post Aug 17 2011, 00:25
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 16-August 11
Member No.: 93077



QUOTE (pdq @ Aug 16 2011, 22:34) *
Possibly the track on the CD was from a lossy-encoded source?


No usually when this is the case it correctly identifies the track as *% mpeg. In this case it doesn't seem to be able to analyse the file at all.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db579
post Aug 17 2011, 00:28
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 16-August 11
Member No.: 93077



QUOTE (DVDdoug @ Aug 16 2011, 22:39) *
I don't know, but Audiochecker and similar programs are not perfect. They look at the frequency content of the file (and maybe some other things) and they try to make a judgement or a good-guess.

I don't know if anyone has tried this, but I assume you could fool Audiochecker by decompressing an MP3 and running it through an "exciter effect" to add high frequencies.


Maybe. Some of the tracks this is happening on are definitely not decompressed MP3s though, so I'm wondering whether there is something inherent in a piece of music maybe that audiochecker can't deal with?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yaztromo
post Dec 28 2011, 15:04
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 28-July 03
From: England, UK
Member No.: 8031



Sorry to revive an old thread. But, since I am currently running auCDtect through my wavpack collection and sometimes I get the message.

QUOTE
Could not qualify the source of this track.


This is letter for letter the same message quoted by the OP, but he is using audiochecker, not auCDtect.

Is audiochecker simply another front end for auCDtect like auCDtect task manager? I was under the impression audiochecker had it's own checking code unrelated to auCDtect. So why then the exact same error message on indeterminable files?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sauvage78
post Dec 29 2011, 08:02
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 677
Joined: 4-May 08
Member No.: 53282



Yes, it's just another frontend & you were wrong.


--------------------
CDImage+CUE
Secure [Low/C2/AR(2)]
Flac -4
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 09:12