IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Upload forum rules

- No over 30 sec clips of copyrighted music. Cite properly and never more than necessary for the discussion.


- No copyrighted software without permission.


- Click here for complete Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Command-line WMA encoder, supports stdin
lvqcl
post Aug 30 2011, 21:13
Post #1





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Here is command-line WMA encoder. Inspired by this thread.
Requirements: Windows XP or later, Window Media Codecs installed.

Usage examples:

WmaEncode --codec lossless in.wav out.wma
WmaEncode -c lsl in.wav out.wma

WmaEncode --codec pro --quality 90 in.wav out.wma
WmaEncode -c pro -q 90 in.wav out.wma

WmaEncode --mode vbr2pass --bitrate 128 in.wav out.wma
WmaEncode -m vbr2pass -b 128 in.wav out.wma

...etc.

Sources included. Don't expect them to be well-commented though.

---------
changelog:
0.2.9b: minor fixes in WAV parsing. Sources are attached as a separate file.
0.2.9a: new switches -c, -m, -i, -s (short versions of --codec, --mode, --ignorelength, --silent)
0.2.9: maintenance update
0.2.8: allows 2-pass mode for stdin by default
0.2.7: progress indicator added
0.2.6: raw PCM input added

This post has been edited by lvqcl: Feb 28 2013, 16:37
Attached File(s)
Attached File  WMAEncode_0.2.9b_src.rar ( 22.27K ) Number of downloads: 435
Attached File  WMAEncode_0.2.9b.zip ( 200.51K ) Number of downloads: 1297
 
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 30 2011, 23:02
Post #2





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 811
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Any source?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Aug 31 2011, 15:43
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



The sources will be uploaded later. Want to add comments, etc.
Maybe someone will find bugs in the program meanwhile...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Aug 31 2011, 19:23
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



thanks a lot...
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 31 2011, 23:42
Post #5





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 811
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Cool, just was wondering since it would be nice to make a WMAdrop tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Sep 2 2011, 16:24
Post #6





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Version 0.2.5 was uploaded. Several bugs were fixed, probably new added.
Sources included.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Sep 3 2011, 17:40
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



thanks a lot...
_

please, could you enable (add) wma/wmv input support? this is very handy for quick wma/wmv multichannel transcoding to wma stereo!
_

you don't have to do something special...WMEncoder has support for .wav and .wmv/.wma input (and pcm in .avi too)...all you have to do is to allow it...

This post has been edited by db1989: Sep 3 2011, 17:49
Reason for edit: merging triple-post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Sep 3 2011, 17:48
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (b66pak @ Sep 3 2011, 20:40) *
you don't have to do something special...WMEncoder has support for .wav and .wmv/.wma input (and pcm in .avi too)...all you have to do is to allow it...


Where and what should be allowed?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Sep 3 2011, 18:03
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



with WMEncoder installed on WinXP i can do this:

CODE
cmd /c cscript.exe "C:\Program Files\Windows Media Components\Encoder\wmcmd.vbs" -input audio6.wma -output audio2.wma -audioonly -a_codec WMA9PRO -a_mode 0 -a_setting 256_48_2_24


this is a proof that WMEncoder can decode .wmv/.wma...


this line is identical:

CODE
WMAEncode --codec pro --mode cbr --bitrate 256 --out-channels 2 audio6.wma audio2.wma


but i get:

CODE
Not a valid WAV file

_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Sep 3 2011, 18:29
Post #10





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



All right, but my program doesn't use Windows Media Encoder at all - it uses functions from Wmvcore.dll.
For my encoder to read WMA/WMV files, another reading functions should be added to the program, and I have no plans to do this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Sep 4 2011, 17:05
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



please, can you add support for raw pcm input?

suggestion for syntax:

--raw: signals raw pcm input
--in-samplerate n: sets intput format with n samples per second
--in-channels n: sets intput format with n channels
--in-bitdepth n: sets intput format with n bits per sample

to avoid confusion maybe "--priority" should become "--lowpriority"
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nick.C
post Sep 4 2011, 20:32
Post #12


lossyWAV Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1790
Joined: 11-April 07
From: Wherever here is
Member No.: 42400



Mono now working. Thanks!


--------------------
lossyWAV -q X -a 4 --feedback 4| FLAC -8 ~= 320kbps
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Sep 6 2011, 15:18
Post #13





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Version 0.2.6, with raw PCM input support.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Sep 6 2011, 18:00
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



thanks a lot...
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Sep 13 2011, 17:54
Post #15





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Version 0.2.7: progress report was added by request. Also added --silent switch to disable it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Sep 13 2011, 17:57
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



thanks a lot...
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dpc666
post Sep 16 2011, 19:50
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 5-November 09
Member No.: 74646



Thank you so much! Microsoft inexplicably has completely removed any command line support in their wma encoder running under Windows 7.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Sep 19 2011, 18:48
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



thanks a lot...
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jaro1
post Sep 24 2011, 14:20
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 22-November 08
Member No.: 62952



Once more many thanks for this encoder, i use it very often, its a shame something like this wasn't made by MS himself, using wme was useless and uncomfortable for me, as i always wanted only audio conversion.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Nov 3 2011, 18:28
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



thanks a lot...change log?
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Polosa
post Nov 22 2011, 02:00
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-May 05
Member No.: 22162



WMA TAG Does not support unicode (UTF-8) text
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Nov 22 2011, 15:39
Post #22





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



The tags are of type WMT_TYPE_STRING ("null-terminated Unicode string"). And Unicode in Windows means UTF-16.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Dec 25 2011, 19:35
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



thanks a lot...
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jaro1
post Dec 25 2011, 19:52
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 22-November 08
Member No.: 62952



Thank you very much for development
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jsheridan
post Dec 30 2011, 13:43
Post #25





Group: Developer
Posts: 196
Joined: 24-December 02
Member No.: 4220



Thanks alot, i was waiting for this type of app!


--------------------
You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you can not fool all of the people all of the time.

- Abraham Lincoln
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th September 2014 - 05:14