IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
media streaming boxes and lossless audio over HDMI, idea to get lossless audio through my TV.
whitlander
post Apr 4 2014, 18:16
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-April 14
Member No.: 115356



I'm a bit confused about how audio is passed through HDMI in TVs from media streamers. I have a collection of ALAC m4a (non drm) files that I have been playing through my DAC. Sounds great but the convenience of media streamers is getting my attention. I really like the idea of streaming boxes like Roku and dongle's like Chromcast but as yet I've not been able to find one which passes lossless audio through the HDMI to the TV. My idea being, to take the SPDIF out of the TV and into my DAC, so I'm just asking if anyone has achieved something like this?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andy o
post Apr 5 2014, 16:35
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1296
Joined: 14-April 09
Member No.: 68950



I'd think all of them output uncompressed PCM from the HDMI port, don't they? I see no reason to recompress the already decoded audio.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
whitlander
post Apr 6 2014, 15:31
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-April 14
Member No.: 115356



As I understand it, the media players on these boxes e.g Plex on the Roku, will transcode ALAC to AAC because the roku hardware can't handle ALAC. So although, PCM may be going down the HDMI, its from a lossy format.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andy o
post Apr 7 2014, 04:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1296
Joined: 14-April 09
Member No.: 68950



I'm probably missing something, but why transcode ALAC->AAC->PCM to be sent through HDMI? Why not just decode to PCM in the first place?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
whitlander
post Apr 8 2014, 16:43
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-April 14
Member No.: 115356



It looks like Plex outputs AAC when it sends audio to devices like Roku, Chromecast, Plair 2. Strange that although these device can handle high definition video, they don't support relatively humble PCM.

This post has been edited by whitlander: Apr 8 2014, 16:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2014 - 04:05