IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
WASAPI - no sound in another program after pause, [not a third-party component = moved]
trdlo147258
post Dec 31 2012, 15:34
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 31-December 12
Member No.: 105505



Hi,

This behavior doesnīt work for me. I donīt hear any sound in any program when a music in foobar2000 is paused but if the music is stopped then the sound works.

I am using foobar2000 v1.2 and WASAPI output support 3.1.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rollin
post Dec 31 2012, 16:01
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 190
Joined: 5-March 08
Member No.: 51815



QUOTE
WASAPI output support
Adds Windows Audio Session API exclusive mode output support, allowing bit-exact output and muting all other sounds. Windows Vista SP1 or newer required.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trdlo147258
post Dec 31 2012, 16:23
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 31-December 12
Member No.: 105505



QUOTE (Rollin @ Dec 31 2012, 16:01) *
QUOTE
WASAPI output support
Adds Windows Audio Session API exclusive mode output support, allowing bit-exact output and muting all other sounds. Windows Vista SP1 or newer required.



Yeah, I know but I am still not sure if muting all other sounds when playback is paused is intentional. If yes, it is definitely uncomfortable.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Dec 31 2012, 16:39
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1020
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



Is there a reason you need to use WASAPI output, or, IOW, is there a reason not to use DirectSound output, which can mix multiple audio sources?


--------------------
PRaT is the new jitter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trdlo147258
post Dec 31 2012, 17:13
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 31-December 12
Member No.: 105505



QUOTE (Kohlrabi @ Dec 31 2012, 16:39) *
Is there a reason you need to use WASAPI output, or, IOW, is there a reason not to use DirectSound output, which can mix multiple audio sources?


Sure there is! No more discussion on "Why I am not using DirectSound output" topic, please!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 1 2013, 01:19
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 4608
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Freeing the device while paused would require the external WASAPI process to shut down output completely, then reopen it and refill the output buffer whenever pausing and unpausing. That is sure to cause other unwanted glitches.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trdlo147258
post Jan 1 2013, 20:05
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 31-December 12
Member No.: 105505



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 1 2013, 01:19) *
Freeing the device while paused would require the external WASAPI process to shut down output completely, then reopen it and refill the output buffer whenever pausing and unpausing. That is sure to cause other unwanted glitches.


OK, now I am sure itīs not a bug, itīs a feature. Thank you, kode54! Maybe this one behavior could be added as optional feature. That could also easier fix unwanted glitches than this:

QUOTE
Stuttering
Some devices (most commonly USB DAC's) will start stuttering during playback when using WASAPI. This is due to a bug in Microsoft's WASAPI system itself, or in the stock Microsoft driver, where the circling buffers get out of order. Stopping and restarting playback is required to reset the stuttering.


smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd August 2014 - 11:16