IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

15 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
SimPlaylist (foo_simplaylist), Playlist view with album art
Elix Berd
post Jul 8 2011, 02:05
Post #126





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 8-July 11
Member No.: 92124



Hi! Thanks for a great plugin! I have a question. Most of my collection is grouped nicely using first of three default grouping presets, however some tracks are grouped ugly. Let me give you an example. I have a compilation discs called Acoustic Guitar Highlights, Volume 1, Acoustic Guitar Highlights, Volume 2 etc. They include various artists and even track numbers are inconsistent. They are grouped like this: http://rghost.ru/13854551/image.png
It's really ugly and inconvenient. Is it possible to group them while retaining the nice grouping of other items?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anomalous
post Jul 8 2011, 02:08
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 22-December 07
Member No.: 49766



Is the album artist field set to Various Artists?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Elix Berd
post Jul 8 2011, 14:09
Post #128





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 8-July 11
Member No.: 92124



Album Artist field is empty. Should updating it to Various Artists fix this?
Edit: Yes, it did! Thanks.

This post has been edited by Elix Berd: Jul 8 2011, 14:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Jul 8 2011, 15:46
Post #129





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



Beta 6 out.

User-defined keyboard shortcuts including single keys take priority now, with the exception of combinations that move the cursor, similar to text controls. Left and right keys have no effect in the playlist, so they can be assigned to, for example, seek commands. Keys for which an inline search is performed in the title column can also be overridden if you have no use for this feature.

Scrolling on drag and drop should be more smooth now.

QUOTE (GeSomeone @ Jul 3 2011, 17:24) *
bug report: I noticed an irregular behaviour in combination with the foo_removeplayed plugin (this plugin removes tracks from the playlist after being played). (...)
With this plugin active (playback -> Remove played tracks) simplaylist jumps to the beginning of the playlist although playing the correct next track when these conditions apply: 1) the playing track (to be removed) is selected, 2) this track AND the next track to play, are both visible in the playlist (not scrolled off screen).
This does not happen in the standard playlist component.

Thanks for the report, it should behave like the standard playlist now.

QUOTE
while I'm at it, also a question:
How to get rid of the empty line before each group?

There is no way to remove it at the moment. I think it looks nicer to have this gap between albums, as alternating background colors are not applied to group headers. However, I am considering to change this for views without a group column, where the empty space looks somewhat out of place.

QUOTE (smkk @ Jul 4 2011, 23:02) *
Also there is a minor issue with the scrolling speed when drawing a selection rectangle in simplaylist. Drawing a selection from the top of the list to the bottom the scrolling speed of the list is very slow – in the opposite direction from bottom to top its quick though.

Scrolling speed depends on the distance from the window. Do you happen to have less screen space available below?

QUOTE (tpijag @ Jul 6 2011, 00:35) *
I've a condition that causes an unneeded playlist refresh and centering movement.

xp, foobar 1.1.7, simplaylist beta 5, cursor follows playback, prefer current selection, autoplaylist based on %rating% MISSING.

If a rating is given to a track that is also the selection highlighted track, the playlist will refresh and center itself based on the track rated. This occurs whether the selection highlighted track is the playing track or otherwise. Rating of tracks without first selecting will have the track gracefully remove itself from playlist as expected.

foobar2000 itself issues the request to highlight the track that follows the removed one. I can see how this would be annoying, but the default playlist does the same.

This post has been edited by Frank Bicking: Jul 8 2011, 17:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Jul 8 2011, 22:18
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



Thanks for the changes in b6, they improve the user experience a lot in my setup.
About that empty line before the headers/subgroups. It's not that it doesn't look nice, but for some people "window real estate" is preferred. To me the group headers jump out enough, being a different color and bigger font size.
I use foobar2000 always windowed, so I can do other things and still keep an eye on foobar now and then. It is a minor issue, but if you would change it, please make that available for grouped lists as well.

[edit: fixed in 1.0 beta7]
Another minor thing I noticed is that the context menu (right click or special keyboard key) in simplaylist doesn't use the (more or less unique) (underlined) shortcut keys like the standard playlist. Instead it matches the first letter of the commands, similar to "find as you type". Maybe this was intentional or maybe just a side effect.
I used to use sequences like e.g. context(or right click)->i (File Operations) ->r (Rename) to get to my Rename presets. With simplaylist it is context ->f ->r. (Hmm, Replaygain would have been a better example)
I probably could change my habits (possibly by defining more keyboard shortcuts for everything, and memorize those) that would just be less consistent over different computers and accounts.

This post has been edited by GeSomeone: Jul 13 2011, 13:55
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gnx
post Jul 9 2011, 09:39
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 24-July 10
Member No.: 82498



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Jul 8 2011, 15:46) *
Beta 6 out.

User-defined keyboard shortcuts including single keys take priority now, with the exception of combinations that move the cursor, similar to text controls. Left and right keys have no effect in the playlist, so they can be assigned to, for example, seek commands. Keys for which an inline search is performed in the title column can also be overridden if you have no use for this feature.

Left and right keys effects are back smile.gif
but, I used the space bar for Playback\play or pause. it don't work now
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frogworth
post Jul 9 2011, 15:29
Post #132





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 30-December 09
Member No.: 76511



Thanks so much for the latest beta(s) Frank. So exciting to have my Backspace shortcut for delete back! And undo functionality. It's a beautiful playlist viewer.

I'd love for an alternative, compressed view when there's no album cover available. Just show the track(s) with a small gap perhaps, and then on to the next album?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anomalous
post Jul 9 2011, 17:01
Post #133





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 22-December 07
Member No.: 49766



QUOTE (frogworth @ Jul 10 2011, 03:29) *
I'd love for an alternative, compressed view when there's no album cover available. Just show the track(s) with a small gap perhaps, and then on to the next album?

I definitely second this; I'd love the ability to show multiple covers for multi-disc albums where possible, but have it behave as if the "display" was set to text if there's no image. If that doesn't make much sense:
if there's multiple images
if there's only one image

Also, would it be possible to support animated gifs?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smkk
post Jul 9 2011, 21:32
Post #134





Group: Members
Posts: 603
Joined: 18-November 07
Member No.: 48839



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Jul 8 2011, 16:46) *
QUOTE (smkk @ Jul 4 2011, 23:02) *
Also there is a minor issue with the scrolling speed when drawing a selection rectangle in simplaylist. Drawing a selection from the top of the list to the bottom the scrolling speed of the list is very slow – in the opposite direction from bottom to top its quick though.

Scrolling speed depends on the distance from the window. Do you happen to have less screen space available below?


Thanks for the update and the reply. Yes indeed, SimPlaylist is at the bottom of my layout and foobar is always maximized – I suppose that is why.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Jul 10 2011, 11:44
Post #135





Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



QUOTE (frogworth @ Jul 9 2011, 16:29) *
I'd love for an alternative, compressed view when there's no album cover available. Just show the track(s) with a small gap perhaps, and then on to the next album?

I found out by coincidence that already happens when either no album name is entered or when the tracks within an album contain different embedded images.

QUOTE (Anomalous @ Jul 9 2011, 18:01) *
I definitely second this; I'd love the ability to show multiple covers for multi-disc albums where possible, but have it behave as if the "display" was set to text if there's no image.

I know it is not exactly what you asked but you can more or less force this behavior by giving the second disc a slightly different album name (like adding (cd2) ) and I guess each disc should have it's own directory as well (to have different album art).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anomalous
post Jul 10 2011, 12:07
Post #136





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 22-December 07
Member No.: 49766



QUOTE (GeSomeone @ Jul 10 2011, 23:44) *
I know it is not exactly what you asked but you can more or less force this behavior by giving the second disc a slightly different album name (like adding (cd2) ) and I guess each disc should have it's own directory as well (to have different album art).
Thanks, but I'd prefer to have albums grouped together. My problem isn't getting the covers to display, but the black squares when there's only a single cover.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sciroco
post Jul 12 2011, 19:41
Post #137





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 30-June 10
Member No.: 81945



Hi all, I have a problem with the component - instead of the stars in the rating column, I get five " ☆ " , no matter if there is a rating or not. I have this problem with windows 7 and windows xp, with fresh copies of foobar (portable or standart instalation, with the 1.1.7.0 v. of foobar and 1.0 beta 6 and 1.0 beta 7 versions of the component( I mean, I`ve not tried older versions).
Sorry my english, if there is something wrong smile.gif .
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Jul 12 2011, 19:51
Post #138





Group: Members
Posts: 2353
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Are you sure you are not just seeing 5 'empty' stars. Rate a track and confirm whether the appropriate number of stars 'fill'.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Byron86
post Jul 12 2011, 20:23
Post #139





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 49044



Or check which Rating column you use. Wether "Rating" or "Rating (database)"...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sciroco
post Jul 13 2011, 08:27
Post #140





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 30-June 10
Member No.: 81945



"no matter if there is a rating or not"... I have full(if there is a rating) and empty(if not) squares, but no stars. This is in "Rating"(the clickable) and also in "Rating (database)" columns.

This post has been edited by sciroco: Jul 13 2011, 08:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smkk
post Jul 13 2011, 13:59
Post #141





Group: Members
Posts: 603
Joined: 18-November 07
Member No.: 48839



Most probably a font issue since the star in you previous post shows up just fine here. Try installing east asian language support.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sciroco
post Jul 13 2011, 16:15
Post #142





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 30-June 10
Member No.: 81945



It works, but is not very comfortable. It would be nice, if there was a option to change this character.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Northpack
post Aug 9 2011, 16:25
Post #143





Group: Members
Posts: 455
Joined: 16-December 01
Member No.: 664



I have a suggestion for the grouping layout. As it is now it looks like a glitch to me:



There is a large padding for the second 2nd level group item (Disc 2), but no padding for the first one. For me, the padding should be the same for every 2nd level item (and maybe not quite as large as it is now for the second item). This is what I would suggest (half the padding, but for both items):



Whatever, thank you for the great component!

This post has been edited by Northpack: Aug 9 2011, 16:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
anon1
post Aug 9 2011, 22:26
Post #144





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9-August 11
Member No.: 92890



This is the best playlist plugin i've found! however..For some reason it won't display embedded album art. It will only display album art that has been manually added as a .jpg file. How can I make it display embedded album art?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
White_Shadow
post Aug 10 2011, 15:15
Post #145





Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 3-May 11
Member No.: 90287



I've another little request:

I'd like to use the %genre% item in the grouping fields, but as there are some albums with tracks from different genres, the grouping doesn't work very well. I made a little screenshot to illustrate this situation. The interesting part is colored in sepia.


My proposal is that you make something like $summarize(%genre%), working similar to the %rating%-average-scheme. So it won't group by the information in this function but summarize these informations. E.g. the album in the picture should, using $summarize(%genre%), appear like:

In Extremo
[Cover] Kein Blick zurück
[Cover] ****
[Cover] 2006
[Cover] Mittelalterrock, Hard Rock, Swing
[Cover] Gain: -10.75 dB
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Aug 12 2011, 18:02
Post #146





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



Beta 8 out.

As suggested, empty space between groups has been reduced. Padding is only inserted when using group columns. Headers and subgroups no longer display placeholders for missing or yet to be loaded images (useful for disc subgroups), and group sizes dynamically scale with image heights. Note that these changes can cause displayed items to scroll as images are loaded.

Playlist search has been updated to display instruction text before searching. To avoid presenting empty lists, similar hints can be seen when no search results have been found and for empty playlists. As in Facets, the reset button has been reintegrated into the search box, and is only visible when the search is active.



QUOTE (Gnx @ Jul 9 2011, 10:39) *
I used the space bar for Playback\play or pause. it don't work now

Thanks for pointing this out, you should be able to reassign the space key now.

QUOTE (anon1 @ Aug 9 2011, 23:26) *
For some reason it won't display embedded album art. It will only display album art that has been manually added as a .jpg file. How can I make it display embedded album art?

I cannot confirm this as a general issue. Is embedded album art displayed in the album art viewer UI element?

QUOTE (White_Shadow @ Aug 10 2011, 16:15) *
I'd like to use the %genre% item in the grouping fields, but as there are some albums with tracks from different genres, the grouping doesn't work very well. (...) My proposal is that you make something like $summarize(%genre%), working similar to the %rating%-average-scheme. So it won't group by the information in this function but summarize these informations.

Noted, thanks for the suggestion.

This post has been edited by Frank Bicking: Aug 12 2011, 20:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
herojoker
post Aug 12 2011, 22:50
Post #147





Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 12-September 07
Member No.: 46989



This is a minor (regarding the importance) feature request: When dragging tracks around you can see the black line indicating where the item(s) will be placed; it would be nice if it could appear below the grouping separator, if the mouse cursor comes from below and be shown above the separator in the other case.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sylla
post Aug 13 2011, 10:10
Post #148





Group: Members
Posts: 134
Joined: 7-March 07
Member No.: 41266



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Aug 12 2011, 19:02) *
QUOTE (White_Shadow @ Aug 10 2011, 16:15) *
I'd like to use the %genre% item in the grouping fields, but as there are some albums with tracks from different genres, the grouping doesn't work very well. (...) My proposal is that you make something like $summarize(%genre%), working similar to the %rating%-average-scheme. So it won't group by the information in this function but summarize these informations.

Noted, thanks for the suggestion.

May I request the same for codec profile, or are there already ways of doing that?

This post has been edited by sylla: Aug 13 2011, 10:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Aug 18 2011, 19:31
Post #149





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



1.0 versions of all three components are out. Thanks to all beta testers.

For a more native look and feel, the mouse selection rectangle is now transparent, and drag and drop displays an image of selected items.

@sylla: You have albums with more than one codec profile? Or where would you display this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Aug 18 2011, 22:36
Post #150





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Thank you for the final versions! smile.gif

A request: the arrow-up/down-key selects the next/previous track. I would like to do the same with groups.


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

15 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 09:49