IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Updated News Layout
Dibrom
post Dec 2 2002, 04:58
Post #1


Founder


Group: Admin
Posts: 2958
Joined: 26-August 02
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 1



I've tweaked the news layout somewhat to make things display a little nicer and to give a little more clarity behind who the news items are from. I think it also tends to make news items stand out from eachother a little better. I've also increased the news display count to 15 items instead of just 5. We seem to be getting quite a few news submissions these days and I felt that a lot of the items were running off of the front page before people would get a chance to read them. Anyway, hope you guys like it.

We're looking at a few more ways to enhance the site layout atm also.. possibly by adding a nice download and links section again. I'll keep everyone updated.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Dec 2 2002, 05:05
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



ONe thing I thought for layout: (just a thought)


on some other forums, under "my controls" or "user cp" you view subscribed threads in order of "the last day", the "last 2 days" etc.

I was wondering if this would be possible and/or if other people like this?


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dibrom
post Dec 2 2002, 05:08
Post #3


Founder


Group: Admin
Posts: 2958
Joined: 26-August 02
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 1



Personally, I've never used the subscribed threads feature so I'm not really certain. I'll try to take a look at that though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Dec 2 2002, 05:21
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



maybe if people suggested what they like?


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JohnV
post Dec 2 2002, 06:20
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 2797
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 6



I don't really understand exactly what you mean. I like it the way it is though.


--------------------
Juha Laaksonheimo
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Dec 2 2002, 06:34
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



what I meant was when you go to "my controls" you have a list of your subsribed threads that have been active in the last 24 hours. You also have a drop down list that allows you to view thread from the last [insert # of days here].

Maybe it wasn't such a good idea, just a suggestion


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anacific
post Dec 2 2002, 07:19
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 29-November 01
From: Toronto, Canada
Member No.: 557



Everything looks great except maybe you should put the name of the poster above avatars instead of the body of a post. It would be clearer that way who posted it.


--------------------
"The true method of knowledge is experiment." - William Blake
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jospoortvliet
post Dec 2 2002, 16:40
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 174
Joined: 20-November 01
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 508



Well, I really like the fact that now you can see the last 15 newstopics. Just to be sure I dont miss one wink.gif

/J


--------------------
Life Sucks Deeply
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
plenum
post Dec 2 2002, 19:59
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 6-November 02
From: Virginia
Member No.: 3711



I like it a lot, but the dashed border is a little distracting. I'd like it more if the text was encompassed in a white background with a border, kind of like the quoted posts/replies are styled. It would make the news item easier to read.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SometimesWarrior
post Dec 2 2002, 20:22
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 671
Joined: 21-November 01
From: California, US
Member No.: 514



When I check the active topics and the # of topics runs over more than one page (as it usually does), I would like to have a link to the next page printed at the bottom of the screen.

Currently, I have to scroll all the way to the top of the page, and then click the underlined 2 under the Active Topics header.

Could you just copy the page-counting widget so it also prints itself below the table of threads? Or is there an even better way to go to the next page that I haven't discovered yet?

QUOTE (Anacific @ Dec 1 2002 - 10:19 PM)
Everything looks great except maybe you should put the name of the poster above avatars instead of the body of a post. It would be clearer that way who posted it.

I agree. Although I usually just look at the avatar and know who posted the message, it takes a second for me to figure out who posted if the poster has no avatar, or the avatar is unfamiliar to me.

This post has been edited by SometimesWarrior: Dec 2 2002, 20:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Volcano
post Dec 2 2002, 21:59
Post #11





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 916
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 112



QUOTE
When I check the active topics and the # of topics runs over more than one page (as it usually does), I would like to have a link to the next page printed at the bottom of the screen.

Currently, I have to scroll all the way to the top of the page, and then click the underlined 2 under the Active Topics header.


I couldn't agree more, that also disturbs me. I've gotten used to jumping right to the top of the page with the HOME/POS1 key though. wink.gif


Three minor issues with the new layout:

1) The width of the column in which the user details are displayed isn't constant:




2) The font size used for the user details (Group, Posts etc.) should be made the same as it is in regular threads. (It's displayed larger in the news items.)


3) The username should be vertically centred. (Hope that expression is correct, I doubt it wink.gif) It now appears right at the top of the table cell, which looks dodgy.


Anyway, I like it. Thanks Dibrom! smile.gif

Dominic
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SometimesWarrior
post Dec 2 2002, 22:32
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 671
Joined: 21-November 01
From: California, US
Member No.: 514



QUOTE (Volcano @ Dec 2 2002 - 12:59 PM)
1) The width of the column in which the user details are displayed isn't constant

This appears to be a resolution problem; at 1024x768, everything lines up fine, but at lower resolutions, the problem in Volcano's screenshot is evident.

Fixing the details column at ~130px wide would fix the bug and make every user details cell large enough even to handle Dibrom's flowery title wink.gif

This post has been edited by SometimesWarrior: Dec 2 2002, 22:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dibrom
post Dec 3 2002, 01:01
Post #13


Founder


Group: Admin
Posts: 2958
Joined: 26-August 02
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 1



Thanks for the tip. I checked down to 1024x768 but forgot to try 800x600 so I didn't realize that the text wasn't aligned properly. I'll see what I can do, and I'll also take a look at the active topics page.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dibrom
post Dec 3 2002, 02:28
Post #14


Founder


Group: Admin
Posts: 2958
Joined: 26-August 02
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 1



Ok... well, I couldn't actually see the problem Volcano showed in his screenshot (I tried both IE and Mozilla at 800x600), but by looking at the code I could see where the alignment should be off. Don't know why it didn't show up for me though. At any rate, I made some changes which should have fixed it. Also, I believe the fonts for the news user profile should be the same as in the posts now. Finally, I added the little page links to the bottom of the Active Topics display like SometimesWarrior suggested.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dibrom
post Dec 3 2002, 02:30
Post #15


Founder


Group: Admin
Posts: 2958
Joined: 26-August 02
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 1



QUOTE (SometimesWarrior @ Dec 2 2002 - 02:32 PM)
QUOTE (Volcano @ Dec 2 2002 - 12:59 PM)
1) The width of the column in which the user details are displayed isn't constant

This appears to be a resolution problem; at 1024x768, everything lines up fine, but at lower resolutions, the problem in Volcano's screenshot is evident.

Fixing the details column at ~130px wide would fix the bug and make every user details cell large enough even to handle Dibrom's flowery title wink.gif

I couldn't see this problem in the browsers I tried (IE6 and Mozilla/Phoenix). Are you guys using Opera or something else?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Volcano
post Dec 3 2002, 22:14
Post #16





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 916
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 112



Uhm... yeah, I forgot to mention I do use Opera - sorry. That screenshot was taken at 1152*864.

Edit: And thanks for fixing the page jump links in Active Topics.

This post has been edited by Volcano: Dec 3 2002, 22:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Dec 3 2002, 22:27
Post #17


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1731
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



QUOTE
I couldn't see this problem in the browsers I tried (IE6 and Mozilla/Phoenix). Are you guys using Opera or something else?


the new news layout is nice and easier to read and understand.

( same problem with ie if you squeeze the resolution, not that iam bothered by that, just reporting -
http://smok3.envy.nu/news_ha.gif - copy/paste 'trick' to hide the refferer will do.)

This post has been edited by smok3: Dec 3 2002, 22:39


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dibrom
post Dec 4 2002, 02:03
Post #18


Founder


Group: Admin
Posts: 2958
Joined: 26-August 02
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 1



Hrmm... strange. I did try different resolutions and resizing the browser window and everything when I was trying to reproduce this I thought. Anyway, I'll take another look and see what I can do.

EDIT: Ok, I see it now, even in Mozilla. I'll see what I can do to fix it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dibrom
post Dec 4 2002, 02:35
Post #19


Founder


Group: Admin
Posts: 2958
Joined: 26-August 02
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 1



Ok.. it's fixed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 19:33