IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Realtek HD Audio Dolby Digital Optical Input From Xbox 360
DrShevek
post Apr 27 2010, 12:00
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-February 06
From: Kent
Member No.: 28127



Hi, hopefully this is the right place to ask this question!

I'm trying to connect up my Xbox 360 to my PC and pass through the Dolby Digital Audio to my 5.1 speaker setup (my LCD has dual input, DVI for the PC, D-SUB for the Xbox).

The motherboard (Abit AB9 QuadGT) has a Realtek ALC888 chipset and I have a 5.1 speaker system connected via 3 x 3.5mm jacks (FR/FL, RR/RL, C/LFE).

I get full 5.1 output from the PC.

I have connected the optical audio cable from the Xbox to the Optical In on the motherboard's backplate.

With the Xbox in `Digital Stereo` mode I get 2 channel audio from the Xbox, through the PC, to the speakers.

With the Xbox in `Dolby Digital 5.1` mode I get no sound at all.

I previously had the Xbox optical audio connected to my Hi-Fi amp in the living room so I know that the DD5.1 output is working fine.

I have the latest Realtek drivers installed in Win 7 32-bit.

  1. Is it possible to use the full 5.1 DD from the Xbox via the PC?
  2. If so, am I missing some option(s) in the Realtek setup?
  3. Do I need some other piece of software to do this? (AC3Filter or ffdshow perhaps)

Any config help with Realtek/AC3Filter/ffdshow would be great too!

Many thanks

Shevek
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Apr 27 2010, 12:34
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1321
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



It sounds like there should be some passthrough option for S/P-DIF. I think AC3filter will allow this but I'm sure someone more experienced and knowledgable will be able to suggest more smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DrShevek
post Apr 27 2010, 18:58
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-February 06
From: Kent
Member No.: 28127



Looks like its not possible.

Found a post on another forum which specifically states that this is not supported in Realtek chipsets.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pedlin
post Aug 29 2011, 08:25
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-August 11
Member No.: 93315



The x box can be connected in two different ways and that is digitally and analogically. The best and the most people uses the digital way and it is very simple and much effective that the other one. When you are connecting the x box using toslink you must make sure that you are using x box 360 AV cables, other wise it may not work properly or may not work at all. You make sure that you have installed it right.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andy o
post Aug 29 2011, 23:19
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1352
Joined: 14-April 09
Member No.: 68950



that's not the problem at all. This has been kind of a holy grail for a small segment of the HTPC community for years. I'm not sure if they accomplished anything worthwhile, but I never thought it was such a big problem. Back in the day you could get standalone decoders small enough that there wasn't much reason to use the PC as a makeshift audio receiver.

This post has been edited by andy o: Aug 29 2011, 23:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd December 2014 - 00:45