IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
wasapi 3.0 issues, fails to work with usb dac
lumi
post Dec 8 2012, 05:04
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-September 12
Member No.: 103424



i have posted in the general thread but there hasnt been much response

the issue is the new version wasapi 3.0 does not work correctly on event or push with my usb dac

after an install it starts on event then pops n clicks then fails, if i switch it to push it just doesnt play at all after this

nor will it start playing on switching back to event at all after this rendering both modes useless

if i go back to wasapi 2.1 its all fine and works

i downloaded the trial of jriver and have no issues at all with event or wasapi ( i presume there push mode)

this seems to indicate its not a driver issue and is a foobar issue with version 3.0

(windows 7 sp1 64bit)

This post has been edited by lumi: Dec 8 2012, 05:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Dec 8 2012, 08:51
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 3385
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Did you see http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=816026 ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lumi
post Dec 8 2012, 22:43
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-September 12
Member No.: 103424



thanks for reply i tried 3.1 b1 fix and its still the same, no joy for me

event and push both work fine in jriver so why not in foobar?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jkauff
post Dec 14 2012, 03:14
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 162
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Doylestown, PA
Member No.: 145



QUOTE (lumi @ Dec 8 2012, 16:43) *
thanks for reply i tried 3.1 b1 fix and its still the same, no joy for me

event and push both work fine in jriver so why not in foobar?

I'm having problems too, but with different resulting errors. Event works fine for me in JRiver, but not in fb2k. Push works fine, though.

I'll check to see if Event works in Winamp.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jkauff
post Dec 14 2012, 03:19
Post #5





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 162
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Doylestown, PA
Member No.: 145



Nevermind. No WASAPI plugin for Winamp yet.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jkauff
post Dec 14 2012, 03:27
Post #6





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 162
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Doylestown, PA
Member No.: 145



More information might be helpful:

Win 7 64 SP1
M-Audio Delta Audiophile 192

All files in various formats play at reduced speed, with near-total distortion.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Geo70
post Dec 14 2012, 15:22
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-December 12
Member No.: 105174



Hello to all. I too have the same problem with 3.0 and WASAPI foobar. My DAC Audio-gd 15.1 Tenor 8802l usb. If I use the cable optical or coaxila work. USB does not work. The strange thing (EVENT) to work for a short time. I would use WASAPI because a low latency. Sorry for my English Thz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Dec 14 2012, 15:58
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 3385
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (jkauff @ Dec 14 2012, 06:19) *
Nevermind. No WASAPI plugin for Winamp yet.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=302485
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 15 2012, 11:03
Post #9


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3285
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



QUOTE (Geo70 @ Dec 14 2012, 15:22) *
I would use WASAPI because a low latency.
Why exactly do you need low latency?


The WASAPI plug-in exposes hardware buffer size settings in advanced preferences. Have any of you tried tweaking these values? If the 2.x plug-in worked for you, push mode with large hardware buffer ought to work in the 3.x series.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Geo70
post Dec 15 2012, 16:09
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-December 12
Member No.: 105174



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 15 2012, 11:03) *
QUOTE (Geo70 @ Dec 14 2012, 15:22) *
I would use WASAPI because a low latency.
Why exactly do you need low latency?


The WASAPI plug-in exposes hardware buffer size settings in advanced preferences. Have any of you tried tweaking these values? If the 2.x plug-in worked for you, push mode with large hardware buffer ought to work in the 3.x series.


With WASAPI 3.0 (when it works) The lastency was 200 max (usb). With the owners Asio latency up to 2000, does not seem a good thing.

I tried yesterday Hardware buff. How should I set up? I tried 1 to 100

thz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jkauff
post Dec 16 2012, 17:27
Post #11





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 162
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Doylestown, PA
Member No.: 145



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 15 2012, 05:03) *
QUOTE (Geo70 @ Dec 14 2012, 15:22) *
I would use WASAPI because a low latency.
Why exactly do you need low latency?


The WASAPI plug-in exposes hardware buffer size settings in advanced preferences. Have any of you tried tweaking these values? If the 2.x plug-in worked for you, push mode with large hardware buffer ought to work in the 3.x series.

Hi Peter,

Push mode works fine on my system, but Event mode produces totally garbled output, for lack of a way to describe it technically. Again, works fine in jRiver's implementation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 16 2012, 19:04
Post #12


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3285
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



QUOTE (jkauff @ Dec 16 2012, 17:27) *
Push mode works fine on my system, but Event mode produces totally garbled output, for lack of a way to describe it technically. Again, works fine in jRiver's implementation.
Well, does changing the buffer size in advanced preferences have any impact on this problem?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jkauff
post Dec 17 2012, 14:58
Post #13





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 162
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Doylestown, PA
Member No.: 145



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 16 2012, 13:04) *
QUOTE (jkauff @ Dec 16 2012, 17:27) *
Push mode works fine on my system, but Event mode produces totally garbled output, for lack of a way to describe it technically. Again, works fine in jRiver's implementation.
Well, does changing the buffer size in advanced preferences have any impact on this problem?

No, although I didn't try a variety of settings. Is there a recommended setting, or does it depend on the sound card (in my case, an M-Audio Audiophile 192)? Not a big deal to me, as ASIO works fine, but I was curious why it doesn't work.

This post has been edited by jkauff: Dec 17 2012, 15:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 17 2012, 15:02
Post #14


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3285
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



If the old WASAPI plug-in worked, push mode with a large (500ms and higher) hardware buffer ought to work.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DotNoir
post Dec 18 2012, 10:01
Post #15





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 250
Joined: 10-April 03
From: Tampere, Finland
Member No.: 5911



On my M-Audio Projectmix I/O changing the hardware buffer in advanced options from 10 to 30 helped with distorted output, and if you haven't found it yet, here's a picture:


This post has been edited by DotNoir: Dec 18 2012, 10:02


--------------------
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ben01
post Dec 27 2012, 11:34
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-December 12
From: Rome
Member No.: 105423



Hi,

I have a Windows 7 64bit setup running foobar 1.18 but this also happens on older foobar versions.
I have Wasapi 3.1 and this happens with 3.0.

My soundcard is the TEAC UD-H01.

Whenever using either Wasapi Event or Push methods and start playing an audio file (FLAC with resolution from 44.1Khz to 192Khz) often palyback doesn't start. If playback start and then I want to stop the track and play another one it doesn't play (The spectrum visualization is frozen).

If I try to stop and play again 90% doesn't play the track.

From that point I can't play any audio in my windows unless I turn off and back on my Teac UD-H01 (and sometimes still doesn't work so that I need to restart windows).

Does someone has faced and solved this problem?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Dec 27 2012, 19:22
Post #17





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3361
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



Intermittent and inconsistent results typically point at a driver bug. Are your drivers up-to-date from the manufacturer? Alternately, perhaps older drivers might provide better results.

This post has been edited by Canar: Dec 27 2012, 19:22


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ben01
post Dec 29 2012, 23:13
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-December 12
From: Rome
Member No.: 105423



QUOTE (Canar @ Dec 27 2012, 19:22) *
Intermittent and inconsistent results typically point at a driver bug. Are your drivers up-to-date from the manufacturer? Alternately, perhaps older drivers might provide better results.


The drivers currently installed are up-to-date (I checked on manufacturer site) and unfortunately I don't have older version to test. If you're right it seems that I don't have the chance to enjoy foobar with wasapi. This is really frustrating because when it works the sound is amazing compared with my CD player.

Any other suggestion?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Dec 30 2012, 21:56
Post #19





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



WASAPI should not sound audibly different from DirectSound. It is really only useful for special cases, like getting bit accuracy necessary for bitstreaming compressed formats like AC3 and DTS, or for use with wine because their DirectSound stack is still flaky.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ortortor
post Jan 2 2013, 20:39
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 2-January 13
Member No.: 105546



QUOTE (Ben01 @ Dec 29 2012, 23:13) *
QUOTE (Canar @ Dec 27 2012, 19:22) *
Intermittent and inconsistent results typically point at a driver bug. Are your drivers up-to-date from the manufacturer? Alternately, perhaps older drivers might provide better results.


The drivers currently installed are up-to-date (I checked on manufacturer site) and unfortunately I don't have older version to test. If you're right it seems that I don't have the chance to enjoy foobar with wasapi. This is really frustrating because when it works the sound is amazing compared with my CD player.

Any other suggestion?


Sorry for my english ,i have same usb dac TEAC UD-H01 and i use driver from Japan site , foobar not working for me with wasapi dry.gif but works very well Jriver 18 ,XBMC EDEN 11 and TEAC player from japan site http://teac.jp/product/ud-h01/downloads/.I think the problem is not bad driver
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ortortor
post Mar 31 2013, 21:35
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 2-January 13
Member No.: 105546



Foobar still don't work with teac udh01 after upgrade latest version of wasapi,foobar.Any suggestion??? unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Propheticus
post Mar 31 2013, 23:07
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 10-September 11
Member No.: 93615



Try ASIO or a larger buffer (read Peter's tip).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cameldriver
post Apr 1 2013, 21:10
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-April 13
Member No.: 107480



Wasapi 3.0 or above doesn't work with TEAC UD H01, try to use the old version Wasapi 2.1, it's work fine. Upgrade the TEAC driver to the latest version from the japanese site http://teac.jp/product/ud-h01/downloads/
Try to use another USB port too, it could help.
You can download the TEAC HR Audio Player, it's give very good result, play flac but also dsf and diff files (use wasapi).
This player works with the new TEAC DAC UD-501 in direct DSD.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 07:02