IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Fulllscreen Games "steal" Volume Control
Schuldi
post Apr 3 2013, 15:21
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-April 13
Member No.: 107506



Hello Guys,

I have set up my foobar successfully and while i am using desktop applications everything works fine and i can control the Volume of foobar exclusively by the Volume buttons on my keyboard.
But when i start a fullscreen application (tested with games) the volume buttons on my keyboard don't control foobar anymore and change the Windows Volume, which is pretty annoying.

do you know a fix for that? i tried to remap the keys via registry and "keytweak", which didn't work and your wiki says, that you can change keyboard settings in the "keyboard control panel" but i don't really know what that is.

please don't tell me to google or use forum search, as i did this before and doesn't solve my problem... thank you

Schuldi
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Propheticus
post Apr 3 2013, 15:34
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 10-September 11
Member No.: 93615



You can try binding <cntrl>+<up> and <cntrl>+<down> for volume up and down instead of your media key in Foobar2000's preferences -> keyboard shortcuts. Be sure to tick the 'global hotkey' box.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schuldi
post Apr 3 2013, 16:28
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-April 13
Member No.: 107506



hmm, doesn't work either... if i press the buttons in normal windows everything works fine. as soon as i launch a game the shortcuts don't work anymore. global hotkey is checked in both shortcut confugirations
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Propheticus
post Apr 3 2013, 16:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 10-September 11
Member No.: 93615



Strange, works flawlessly here...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Apr 3 2013, 19:17
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1050
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



This depends on the game in question and how it handles input. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.


--------------------
Ceterum censeo Masterdiskem esse delendam.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schuldi
post Apr 3 2013, 20:11
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-April 13
Member No.: 107506



yeah at the moment i assume that the DirectX games "steal" the control. in an OpenGL game everything works fine...
What i don't understand, that WinAMP worked fine before. I will check the issue tomorrow on my Laptop with a clean install of windows. probably the behavior is different.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 21:32