IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
EAC Speed question
smackbadger
post Dec 15 2001, 05:06
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 15-December 01
Member No.: 654



I'm trying out EAC based on the high praise given to it on this site, but I'm wondering if I've got something set wrong because it seems really slow.

I've tried using both my Liteon 24x10x40 CDR and Pioneer DVD-104s drives and the best speed I can get is ~4x...

Is it really that slow for everyone else? I can rip ~18x using CDEX with full cdparanoia mode enabled...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dibrom
post Dec 15 2001, 05:17
Post #2


Founder


Group: Admin
Posts: 2958
Joined: 26-August 02
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 1



4x may be about right for that particular drive under EAC. Speed will very a lot with different drives under EAC, some are pretty fast (approaching 20x) while others rip much more slowly. If you can actually get those kinds of speeds in CDex with full paranoia mode, that sounds like maybe it'd be a better choice for you. Personally I use EAC because of many of the extra features it has in relation to offsets, cue file generation, burning, etc.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Volcano
post Dec 15 2001, 08:54
Post #3





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 916
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 112



smackbadger,

Maybe a firmware update could help? http://www.liteonit.tw
EAC behaves quite strangely speed-wise on my system too, sometimes (depending on the IDE configuration). Try running only one drive at a time as secondary master - does that make a difference?

CU

Dominic
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
niktheblak
post Dec 15 2001, 10:10
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 302
Joined: 3-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 188



smackbagder, I'm sorry but that's about the maximum you can get with your current drives.

You see, for efficient EAC use your drive has to have the magical combination "accurate stream, doesn't cache audio, supports C2", where the C2 support must be verified with experiments. Unfortunately most drives seem to have "accurate stream, caches audio, doesn't support C2" which renders them useless for EAC secure ripping.

Audio caching is dangerous because EAC would get identical data straight from the drive's cache with both reading cycles even when the sector is damaged. EAC works around this by resetting the cache between every reading cycle slowing the process down quite a bit.

Your Liteon as well as Pioneer do cache audio data which slows the ripping process down terribly. But no need to worry, with my HP 9310i I get 2.3x maximum at secure mode tongue.gif

You can browse through "CD-rippers of your dreams" here:

http://www.ping.be/satcp/eacoffsets01.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stoff
post Dec 15 2001, 10:32
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 47



Hmmm, I rip at 4x to 5x speed on my Plextor drive in secure mode and since the drive uses audio caching I just cannot get it to rip any faster than that. sad.gif

It'll rip at 6x speed when I use C2 instead so that really isn't worth it.

Regards stoff


--------------------
Kurser i Photoshop & billedbehandling:
www.thepixelfactory.dk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Benjamin Lebsanf...
post Dec 15 2001, 11:35
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 761
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 40



well i rip at 12x in secure mode cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
john33
post Dec 15 2001, 12:55
Post #7


xcLame and OggDropXPd Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3760
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Bracknell, UK
Member No.: 111



My humble little Mitsumi CR-4804TE rips at 7x in secure mode!

john33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Dec 15 2001, 14:34
Post #8


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



My Asus CD-S500/A rips at 14X in secure mode. biggrin.gif


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YinYang
post Dec 15 2001, 14:56
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 371
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 45



My Plextor Ultraplex 40 rips around 11-12x
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stoff
post Dec 15 2001, 15:11
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 47



How annoying! :eyebrow:

Regards from a somewhat dissapointed stoff


--------------------
Kurser i Photoshop & billedbehandling:
www.thepixelfactory.dk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Benjamin Lebsanf...
post Dec 15 2001, 15:13
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 761
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 40



can't u disable caching ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stoff
post Dec 15 2001, 15:27
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 47



QUOTE
Originally posted by Benjamin Lebsanft
can't u disable caching ?


:confused:

In EAC or the firmwire? My Plextor 121032 TA uses caching so, yeah, it's disabled in EAC, but that is exactly what slows it down AFAIK.

Oh what the hell. I'll survive it. It's just odd.

Regards stoff


--------------------
Kurser i Photoshop & billedbehandling:
www.thepixelfactory.dk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Uosdwis R. Dewoh
post Dec 15 2001, 22:27
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 148
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 70



smackbadger,

I would just like to let you know that I have a LiteOn drive as well, LTR-0841 (8x/4x/32x), and with EAC Secure Mode, Accurate Stream, no C2, no caching, I get rips around 4.5x.

Cheers,

Uosdwis
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sachankara
post Dec 27 2001, 12:26
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 336
Joined: 27-December 01
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 780



QUOTE
Originally posted by smackbadger
I'm trying out EAC based on the high praise given to it on this site, but I'm wondering if I've got something set wrong because it seems really slow.

I've tried using both my Liteon 24x10x40 CDR and Pioneer DVD-104s drives and the best speed I can get is ~4x...

Is it really that slow for everyone else?  I can rip ~18x using CDEX with full cdparanoia mode enabled...
I had the same problem myself with my Lite-On LTR24102B burner... But the problem was easily fixed... First of all, you need firmware 5S07... Do not use the latest firmware as itīll hinder your burner from reaching the maximum speed... EAC will identify the burner as a 7.9x drive instead of 39.9x with any newer firmware... So once you have flashed your drive with the 5S07 firmware, go to the drive options menu for your Lite-On in EAC and select the tab "Offset / speed"... There youīll find something called "Speed selection", choose "39.9x" as the highest speed, and also "mark" "Allow speed reduction during extraction"... Thatīll allow your drive to reach its maximum... My record so far is 16x ripping with accurate stream, C2 and caching...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smackbadger
post Dec 28 2001, 17:11
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 15-December 01
Member No.: 654



Thanks a lot everyone, especially Sachankara!

Your fix worked, and I'm now getting around 8x overall, with peaks up to 12x, instead of a constant 4x!

In case anyone else needs the 5S07 firmware downgrade, I found it here: http://www.mmch.co.uk/pafiledb/pafiledb.ph...file&fid=3&id=3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JonPike
post Dec 28 2001, 22:47
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 234
Joined: 20-November 01
From: Irvine, CA
Member No.: 504



QUOTE
Originally posted by stoff


In EAC or the firmwire? My Plextor 121032 TA uses caching so, yeah, it's disabled in EAC, but that is exactly what slows it down AFAIK.

Regards stoff


Hey, Stoff...

I have the same drive, and as I recall, the firmware before 1.05 is supposed to not cache... there have been ones up to 1.09, I've updated myself thru them.

But, since I've started to seriously use EAC, and caching is a negative, I'm going to go back and see which is the best. One update pushed that drive's DAE speed to 32x, hopefully not enabling the cache at the same time..

I'm going to experiment with this myself, so I'll keep you posted with results..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 21:52