IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
How do I make output format bit rate choice?
geb
post Nov 11 2012, 01:58
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 9-November 12
Member No.: 104409



8, 16, 24, or 32 bit.







"using bit rate above your hardware capabilities will only degrade your performance".
My "sound device" in the second image above says "bits/pixel ---- 32"
Is that all I need to know? Set at 32 then?

Is it completely system dependant? Or does the the audio souce matter? Music files on the harddrive? Online radio broadcasts?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Nov 11 2012, 03:13
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1316
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



Erm, the first picture has no relevant information, and the second and third picture have Display and Video Codec selected.

24 will be fine, in any case.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Nov 11 2012, 04:10
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 814
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



You never choose output bitrate. You may be able to change the output bit depth and sample rate, but I see you are using Windows XP, so there aren't as many options. The things you can set will be in the Sound and Audio Devices control panel. There is a place where you can set sample rate conversion ('Best' is the one you want), and there may be some options specific to your soundcard, but probably there is nothing for you to set. What problem are you trying to solve?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
geb
post Nov 11 2012, 05:27
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 9-November 12
Member No.: 104409



QUOTE (dhromed @ Nov 11 2012, 03:13) *
Erm, the first picture has no relevant information, and the second and third picture have Display and Video Codec selected.

24 will be fine, in any case.


Sorry for the poor pic quality. Did not think it made any difference which item was selected for the screen capture. Directly above the selected is the "Sound Device". Next column reads "bits/pixel 32".


QUOTE
You never choose output bitrate. You may be able to change the output bit depth and sample rate, but I see you are using Windows XP, so there aren't as many options. The things you can set will be in the Sound and Audio Devices control panel. There is a place where you can set sample rate conversion ('Best' is the one you want), and there may be some options specific to your soundcard, but probably there is nothing for you to set. What problem are you trying to solve?


Sorry again. I'm new to this. I mangled the definition of terms and I do understand that can lead to confusion. I meant bit depth.
I was just going through the Foobar setup screens and this appeared in the options.



I'm just trying to find information on which of these is appropriate for me. Is there any more information about my system, OS, soundcard, etc?

This post has been edited by geb: Nov 11 2012, 05:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Nov 11 2012, 08:29
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1059
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



Again, the bits/pixel are regarding the Display, which you highlighted, not the sound card. In any case, just look up the specifications of your audio device on the internet or in the manual. FWIW, any option above 8bit is indistinguishable from each other anyway, so just choose 16bit or greater.


--------------------
Ceterum censeo Masterdiskem esse delendam.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Nov 11 2012, 10:41
Post #6





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2243
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



Your Compaq Mini has HD Audio codec, those support 24-bit output. Selecting it gives you better output quality in theory if you use volume controls. If you always play at full volume there is no audible difference, as Kohlrabi mentioned.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
geb
post Nov 11 2012, 19:20
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 9-November 12
Member No.: 104409



Thank you all very much. I was meanwhile, before Case's post, only able to find the following info on this audio codec, the "ATI High Definition Audio Codec". Cannot seem to determine and exact model number, but all that I found associated with them mentions 24 bit.

And of course I'm sorry for being an idiot there and posting the video specs there earlier.



QUOTE
IDT Introduces Low Power High Definition Audio Codec Optimized for Superior PC Audio Experience

The IDT 92HD71B features 4 stereo channels, and is compatible with the Intel high definition (HD) audio interface. The audio device provides stereo 24-bit resolution with sample rates up to 192 kHz. The dual digital SPDIF outputs enable simple integration with multi-channel consumer entertainment equipment, including audio integration with system HDMI video. The codec incorporates IDT proprietary technology to achieve digital to audio conversion signal-to-noise ratio fidelity in excess of 100dB. It also includes extensive optimizations to minimize unwanted audio artifacts, such as "pops", during system power up.


Thanks again for the direction here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 02:25