IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Albums with multiple disks, [moved from General Audio/TOS #6]
Graeme_D
post Nov 7 2013, 16:52
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 17-June 11
Member No.: 91597



Hi,

My Knowledge on ripping, formats, tags etc is limited so apologies in advance.

Yesterday i ripped a two disk album with EAC, to FLAC. Once completed, i added the album to the library in Foobar then added it to playlist. However once added its showing up like this:



As you can see, both disks are showing as separate albums. I like both disks to be under the same title, then separated by disk number. Could it be something to do with my tagging? See below

-8 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "COMPOSER=%composer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file=LYRICS="%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%--picture="%coverfile%"%hascover% %source% -o %dest%

Any help to fix this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DVDdoug
post Nov 7 2013, 20:01
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2713
Joined: 24-August 07
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 46454



The album name found in the database by EAC happened to include the disc number, which is common because each disc needs to be uniquely identified in the database.

You can edit the album name in EAC before starting the rip. You can also edit the song names, artist, genre, year, etc. Those changes will end-up your tags. Or, if the album is not found in the database, you can enter the information manually, and the files will be tagged appropriately.

For tag editing, I use MP3Tag, or the tag editor built into Winamp. (Mp3Tag will work with FLAC.)

There should be a tag for disc number, if you want to use that. (I normally rip to MP3, and there is an ID3 tag for the disc number.)

I treat it as one album. Here's what I do -
- I rip the discs to separate folders and usually they have different album names.
- Then, I re-number the tracks in the 2nd disc (in your case, starting with 16).
- Re-name the albums to match.
- Put them all in the same folder.


I pretty-much ingnore the disc number tag, but EAC usually finds it in the database so it's usually correct. (It's all one album, but it didn't happen fit onto one CD.)

This post has been edited by DVDdoug: Nov 7 2013, 20:10
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Graeme_D
post Nov 7 2013, 20:45
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 17-June 11
Member No.: 91597



Hi

Thanks for the advice. I knew about editing album name, song name etc. Ive edited both the album names to match, however they are still showing as separate albums (see screenshot below) Ive even added a disk number tag in Foobar. Just seems strange.



I do also rip the disks to separate folders as well. But usually, just like my albums with various artists. Once the album names matched, they merged, then i separated the appropriate tracks via there disk number. However on this occasion it doesn't seem to be the case? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BenB
post Nov 7 2013, 21:04
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 778
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98921



Can you post a screenshot of your SimPlaylist Groups preferences page?

EDIT:

If yes, be sure to select the preset on that page that you are currently using.

This post has been edited by BenB: Nov 7 2013, 21:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Nov 7 2013, 21:14
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



There is a space at the end of the album tag of disc two.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mordynak
post Nov 9 2013, 13:40
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 1-March 13
Member No.: 106963



QUOTE (DVDdoug @ Nov 7 2013, 19:01) *
For tag editing, I use MP3Tag, or the tag editor built into Winamp.

Just curious. Is there any reason you use these over foobar?

Sorry to de-rail.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lesmo16
post Nov 9 2013, 15:48
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 7-July 06
Member No.: 32645



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Nov 7 2013, 22:14) *
There is a space at the end of the album tag of disc two.

... AND there's a space at the end of the ARTIST tag of disc two.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 15:21