IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Eli's Suggested EAC settings for FLAC, See wiki for official EAC guides
Bourne
post Aug 20 2006, 20:30
Post #51





Group: Banned
Posts: 735
Joined: 19-March 06
Member No.: 28599



-

This post has been edited by Bourne: Apr 2 2008, 03:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hellokeith
post Aug 24 2006, 03:38
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 34027



Two questions:

1. Only half of my tracks are reporting as AccurateRipped, yet the confidence number is very high, like 35+. What does this mean?

2. Is there a way to automatically fallback on a less secure ripping method, if secure mode + test & copy fails? Would it do any good? I have several tracks that play in my car cd player, with a few skips, and I'd rather go ahead and get the choppy track ripped, than no rip at all.

Thanx a bunch for this guide!

This post has been edited by hellokeith: Aug 24 2006, 03:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bourne
post Aug 26 2006, 23:36
Post #53





Group: Banned
Posts: 735
Joined: 19-March 06
Member No.: 28599



I am seriously MISSING the LP and Cassette days... days in which I used to completely IGNORE alllll of this...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hellokeith
post Aug 29 2006, 05:31
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 34027



Well I've immensely improved AccurateRip results on my Sony CRX320E.

EAC Options - Extraction
- Fill Up missing offset samples
- Synchronize between tracks
- Skip track extraction after 3x realtime
- After each 24 mins, cooldown for 3 mins
- Normal extraction
- High error recovery

Drive Options - Extraction method
- Secure mode w/ accurate stream & caches audio data
- Autodetect read command
- Spin up drive
Offset/speed
- Overread
- Actual speed selection
- allow speed reduction
- CD-Text Read capable
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
heavyblow
post Sep 6 2006, 17:09
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 25-August 06
Member No.: 34451



I have a problem...

The result of my ripping is that out of say 12 tracks of an album, I would get maybe 3 tracks in FLAC formats, the others would be in WAV format. I also get some duplicate tracks with mumbo jumbo names.

Where did I go wrong you think?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusX
post Sep 7 2006, 09:37
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 7-September 06
Member No.: 34900



QUOTE
Drive Options...
Offset / Speed Tab...
Offset locked by AccurateRip

i have v0.95b4
i haven't seen in this tab any message about accuraterip. i have there two options: use read sample or use combinated read/write.
i have accuraterip.dll in EAC folder.
so all is ok for me or not?


--------------------
my last.fm profile:
http://www.last.fm/user/MusX
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eli
post Sep 11 2006, 23:08
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 1056
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9337



QUOTE (MusX @ Sep 7 2006, 04:37) *
QUOTE
Drive Options...
Offset / Speed Tab...
Offset locked by AccurateRip

i have v0.95b4
i haven't seen in this tab any message about accuraterip. i have there two options: use read sample or use combinated read/write.
i have accuraterip.dll in EAC folder.
so all is ok for me or not?


Have you set up accuraterip yet using key discs? After AR is setup it will lock the read offset. If your read offset is not yet locked, AR is not yet set up. Get all your other setting correct, then load a few CDs until you find one that AR recognizes and follow the prompts to configure AR.


--------------------
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=21072
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jipcy
post Sep 20 2006, 06:25
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-September 06
Member No.: 35402



What's the best method for appending gaps? Append to Previous (default) or Append to Next?

When you're using -T to add a tag, the first part, before the equals is the field name, correct? One of the field names defined here?

Why isn't comment= quoted along with "%e"?


What's the consensus on using --replay-gain as a command line option, adding it the the list of others?
EDIT: Yeah, I figured out that when you have that on the command line in EAC, it can only apply ReplayGain to a single file, and can't calculate album gain for all of them. So I can just do that in FooBar2000.

EDIT: Found the list of flags here: http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac11.html#Compression

This post has been edited by Jipcy: Sep 24 2006, 02:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
user
post Sep 27 2006, 14:42
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 12-October 01
From: the great wide open
Member No.: 277



QUOTE (Jipcy @ Sep 20 2006, 07:25) *
[b]What's the best method for appending gaps? Append to Previous (default) or Append to Next?


I use: Append to Previous (default) together with noncompliant cue sheet , single tracks ripping of course,
according to http://www.High-Quality.ch.vu


--------------------
www.High-Quality.ch.vu -- High Quality Audio Archiving Tutorials
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Oct 27 2006, 01:26
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



what about under the waveform tab in compression options.

and also, will this setup be good enough for all around ripping?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Oct 27 2006, 01:39
Post #61





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



You'll notice that everthing in the Waveform tab is grayed-out when an external compressor is selected. These settings have no bearing on the creation of flac files.

This setup was created to get the highest quality rips from EAC for the greatest number of circumstances. I might do a couple things slightly differently, but as a whole, the guideline is very very good (EDIT: IMO, of course wink.gif).

This post has been edited by greynol: Oct 27 2006, 01:47


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Oct 27 2006, 02:57
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



damn. i just ripped 2 cds, but for some reason the flac ones are alot quieter. (nevermind i had replaygain on ewwwww)

and my waveform tab isnt grayed out because im using the native thing, ill try to get external to work.

This post has been edited by Bobjua: Oct 27 2006, 03:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nilsHaus
post Oct 28 2006, 01:16
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 7-October 06
Member No.: 36042



This is a pretty long thread, so can anyone tell me how I would keep Track, Artist, Album names in the .flac files or .cue sheet when I import the .flac file back into foobar?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JWolf
post Dec 1 2006, 01:44
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 3-May 05
Member No.: 21842



QUOTE (nilsHaus @ Oct 27 2006, 19:16) *
This is a pretty long thread, so can anyone tell me how I would keep Track, Artist, Album names in the .flac files or .cue sheet when I import the .flac file back into foobar?


-8 -A tukey(0.25) -A gauss(0.1875) -b 4096 -V -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" %s

That is the FLAC compression string I use with EAC and FLAC 1.1.3.

-T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" %s

That's the bit that adds the tags to the FLAC files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dewey1973
post Dec 13 2006, 23:20
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 383
Joined: 31-March 03
From: Seattle, WA
Member No.: 5771



QUOTE (heavyblow @ Sep 6 2006, 08:09) *
I have a problem...

The result of my ripping is that out of say 12 tracks of an album, I would get maybe 3 tracks in FLAC formats, the others would be in WAV format. I also get some duplicate tracks with mumbo jumbo names.

Where did I go wrong you think?

Thanks.


EAC queues up the files to be passed to the encoder one at a time. It rips faster than flac encodes so you have to let the encoder do its thing. If you uncheck:

Tools Tab
[X] Do not open external compressor window - **user option

You will see the encoder do its thing. You can also hit ctrl+q to see which files have not been sent to the encoder yet.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mekatype
post Jan 3 2007, 14:07
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 8-May 04
Member No.: 13957



I plan to create backups of all my rother's collections, starting by some slightly rare compilations they have. I decided on using a kind of hybrid between Myden's recommendations and the ones posted in the OP, which can be seen in this .CFG file:

http://rapidshare.com/files/10025686/Myden...0_Id0_.CFG.html

There is a slight problem though: none of my two drives (a Sony DVD recorder and a LiteOn CD recorder) seem to support overread lead-in and lead-out as accuraterip's test extraction shows a sync error in the last track. What exactly will I be losing (you loose the number of samples equal to your drive offset doesn't say much to me) if I disable that option and enable "Fill up missing offset samples with silence" instead?

Also, I understand FLAC supports tagging but the only tagging option I see in EAC is ID3. How can I set EAC to write FLAC tags? Will those flags be carried over when I convert them to Ogg Vorbis?

This post has been edited by Mekatype: Jan 3 2007, 23:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hellokeith
post Jan 5 2007, 03:01
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 34027



As I understand it, in all likelihood the missing samples are silent data. The track has begun playing, but there it is just a silent section. So by filling up the missing samples with silent data, you are fairly safe that you'll get an accuraterip.

Here are all the passable parameters that EAC supports:
http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac11.html#Compression
And you can pass custom tags to FLAC as well, using -T "fieldname=value" format.

This post has been edited by hellokeith: Jan 5 2007, 03:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 5 2007, 03:56
Post #68





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (hellokeith @ Jan 4 2007, 18:01) *
As I understand it, in all likelihood the missing samples are silent data. The track has begun playing, but there it is just a silent section. So by filling up the missing samples with silent data, you are fairly safe that you'll get an accuraterip.
(bolding added to original quote)

Are you suggesting that missing samples get replaced by silence between tracks?


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hellokeith
post Jan 5 2007, 04:13
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 34027



No. The Read-Offset only affects the reading of the Lead-In (data at the beginning of the first track) or the Lead-Out (data at the end of the last track). Now I have no tangible evidence that the missing samples will always be silent data, but that is my experience, and I have around 20 accuraterip's with good confidence numbers while using the Read-Offset + Fill up missing offset samples with silence options.

This post has been edited by hellokeith: Jan 5 2007, 04:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 5 2007, 07:52
Post #70





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (hellokeith @ Jan 4 2007, 19:13) *
No. The Read-Offset only affects the reading of the Lead-In (data at the beginning of the first track) or the Lead-Out (data at the end of the last track). Now I have no tangible evidence that the missing samples will always be silent data, but that is my experience, and I have around 20 accuraterip's with good confidence numbers while using the Read-Offset + Fill up missing offset samples with silence options.

AccurateRip was designed to work around the possibility that your drive can't overread.

It threw me that you were concerned about the beginning of the first track since the vast majority of drives have a positive offset correction.

This post has been edited by greynol: Jan 5 2007, 07:56


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mekatype
post Jan 8 2007, 05:19
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 8-May 04
Member No.: 13957



So I shouldn't worry too much then. Thanks for the explanations smile.gif.

This post has been edited by Mekatype: Jan 8 2007, 05:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ricecake
post Feb 18 2007, 09:14
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 15-January 03
From: Baltimore, MD
Member No.: 4579



QUOTE (Eli @ Jan 26 2005, 02:19) *
Additional Command Line Options:
-6 -V -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" -T comment="%e" -T "comment=EAC (Secure Mode)" %s
Now that FLAC 1.1.4 is out with the much faster encoding time for -8, should the command line be changed to use -8 again?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eli
post Mar 4 2007, 17:23
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 1056
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9337



QUOTE (ricecake @ Feb 18 2007, 03:14) *
QUOTE (Eli @ Jan 26 2005, 02:19) *
Additional Command Line Options:
-6 -V -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" -T comment="%e" -T "comment=EAC (Secure Mode)" %s
Now that FLAC 1.1.4 is out with the much faster encoding time for -8, should the command line be changed to use -8 again?


I have not seen actual comparison times. Also, decoding time is an issue as well. As I argued before, the reported encoding times for -8 are for very slow computers (<1ghz cpu) that cannot be very well compared to today's computers that are much more powerful. There are no hard and fast RULES, just suggestions, so if you like -8, then by all means use it. I have switched to dBpowerAMP R12 Reference, for which the FLAC 1.1.4 is in testing right now, so I have not switched over to it yet.


--------------------
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=21072
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Desides
post Mar 22 2007, 23:07
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 22-March 07
Member No.: 41754



Excellent guide. Thank you, Eli, for writing it! I've got two questions:

1: How do I configure EAC to output filenames with the track number in the name? For example, "01 To Victory.flac," instead of "To Victory.flac?"

2: Is there a way to embed album art via EAC? If not, how can I go about doing that?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eli
post Mar 25 2007, 16:21
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 1056
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9337



QUOTE (Desides @ Mar 22 2007, 18:07) *
Excellent guide. Thank you, Eli, for writing it! I've got two questions:

1: How do I configure EAC to output filenames with the track number in the name? For example, "01 To Victory.flac," instead of "To Victory.flac?"

2: Is there a way to embed album art via EAC? If not, how can I go about doing that?



1) %N %T

2)No, eac cannot do album art. You could try the new dBpoweramp ripper, which gets album art from AMG and can embed it directly into FLAC files, or you can try software like mp3tag after you have created the flacs with EAC.


--------------------
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=21072
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st August 2014 - 13:34