IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Adding headings to a playlist?
Dirki
post Jan 18 2013, 01:16
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 31-October 09
Member No.: 74494



Is there a way to add something like a title, heading to a playlist above single groups of e.g. online radio stations to get a better overview? So, e.g. on top over the first 5 stations a title like "Jazz", over the stations 6 to 10 e.g. "Soul" and so on.


--------------------
Win 7, Win Vista, newest stable foobar & EAC & Cue-Tools
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
motorhorst
post Jan 18 2013, 08:18
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 22-February 12
Member No.: 97334



Playlist organizer (http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=Foobar2000:Components/Playlist_Organizer_(foo_plorg)) is a nice tool to arrange your playlists in folders and a tree-like structure. Maybe this is what you are looking for.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dirki
post Jan 18 2013, 12:20
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 31-October 09
Member No.: 74494



Many thanks, motorhorst,

I had it already installed,, didn't know. Yes, I could use a folder as heading, but I cannot find a way to add columns like I can do in the usual playlists like "Titel", "Artist" etc....ah no, the playlists itselfs, their contents, doesn't seem be changeable by that add on, but just the manager, if I am right.

Thanks again.

This post has been edited by Dirki: Jan 18 2013, 12:23


--------------------
Win 7, Win Vista, newest stable foobar & EAC & Cue-Tools
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trout
post Jan 18 2013, 20:09
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 423
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68400



In my experience, trying to do this with the standard playlist grouping scheme is too much of a hassle when it comes to radio streams. A much simpler solution is to use special files, inserted into the playlist wherever you want a category header to be. I use a very short (fraction of a second) and silent audio file, and enter the "header" info into a tag. (And I also use a "spacer" file to insert nothing but what appears to be an empty space into the playlist).

On the downside, you can't use a different font style on these pseudo headers (at least with the standard playlist component). But with smart use of column titleformatting it can look fairly clean. To me the result is very acceptable.

example result:
CODE
  
覧 Classic Rock 覧

Absolute Classic Rock                                                      128    MP3
Classic Deep Cuts                                                          128    MP3
181.fm - The Eagle (Your Home For REAL Classic Rock)                       128    MP3

覧 Jazz 覧

JAZZ Radio                                                                 192    MP3
Jazz FM | UK                                                                      AAC
Radio Derf Jazz                                                                   AAC

覧 Classical 覧

1.FM - Otto's Classical Musick                                                    AAC
1.FM - Otto's Baroque Musick                                                      AAC
Classical Minnesota Public Radio                                           128    MP3
  
...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dirki
post Jan 18 2013, 21:24
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 31-October 09
Member No.: 74494



Many thanks, trout,

Really a good idea, much better than my one, I had created empty files, named like this - ---------------- Ambiance ---------------- - without extensions and pulled it into the playlist. To use these silent files having tags you can expand the headers with and these spacer files of course is much better.

And yes, looks very good, like an option of foobar.

Many thanks again.

...I just noticed, I do not know, how do you make the spacer file? All tags empty...?...and without special columns like "Title" "File path" etc....ah yes, I guess that's it. Just use special columns.

This post has been edited by Dirki: Jan 18 2013, 21:34


--------------------
Win 7, Win Vista, newest stable foobar & EAC & Cue-Tools
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th August 2014 - 12:04