Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: How to Burn to CD with Cuesheet (Read 4621 times) previous topic - next topic

How to Burn to CD with Cuesheet

Hey, I'm new to this game and need a little gentle steering.  I am converting tape recordings from live concerts to single large .wav files.  I would like to be able to add a cuesheet to the file and burn it to CD so I can skip to various points in the recording without clipping the file into separate tracks (often there is no break between the songs).  I haven't decided yet what the best file format is (mp3, ogg, FLAC, etc). so my questions are:

1)  Any advice on the best file format to use.  I will probably end up keeping the original .wav files burned on  DVDs for long-term lossless storage.  I would like to keep compressed files for my hard drive and for transferring to portable devices (like an iPod).  I don't currently own an ipod so I'm not sure what formats they support.  I'm leaning towards just using the mp3 format since I plan on keeping the original wave anyway and mp3 seems to be supported everywhere.

2)  Will cuesheets work with any file format such wav, mp3, FLAC, etc?