IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Opus 1.1-beta, Officially released
IgorC
post Oct 21 2013, 03:30
Post #76





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



The results for electronic music (two tracks from Nine Inch Nails albums).

"While Im still here" tracks was ok for 1.1beta and 1.1surround. "In This Twilight" brought some issues for 1.1beta and surround builds. It seems like 1.1x tries to save some bitrate on narrow stereo but there is a strong transient.

Samples http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=847786


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Oct 26 2013, 14:11
Post #77





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



1.1x unnecessary increases bitrate on a dithered silence. http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=848312

This post has been edited by IgorC: Oct 26 2013, 14:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
o-l-a-v
post Oct 26 2013, 14:44
Post #78





Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 18-July 12
From: Norway
Member No.: 101545



Could anyone link me to a windows build of opus 1.1 surround/beta 2? Can't find it, and don't know how to compile :/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Oct 26 2013, 14:44
Post #79





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



Also have uploaded another version of a silence. There was an error in export settings. But both files show the same behavior of an encoders. http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=848312
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
darkbyte
post Nov 16 2013, 14:22
Post #80





Group: Members
Posts: 145
Joined: 14-June 11
Member No.: 91517



Is there a development blogs somewhere where i can read about the development of the code? Life has stopped here lately. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by darkbyte: Nov 16 2013, 14:23


--------------------
Wavpack -b450x1c
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Nov 16 2013, 16:08
Post #81





Group: Members
Posts: 4439
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



you could check the mailing list or IRC.

http://www.opus-codec.org/contact/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jensend
post Nov 16 2013, 18:10
Post #82





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 21-May 05
Member No.: 22191



To add to what marc said, you can always read git commit logs, or the source diffs smile.gif

Sure, having information that's more accessible to people who are neither experts in the field nor well acquainted with the codebase would be nifty, but stuff like Monty's updates take a ton of time and effort to put together, and if every new idea had to be accompanied by that level of explanation and demonstration for broader audiences, the pace would be glacial.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
darkbyte
post Nov 16 2013, 21:56
Post #83





Group: Members
Posts: 145
Joined: 14-June 11
Member No.: 91517



Thank you guys!
No i didn't expected anything fancy. I was just curious where is Opus's development heading smile.gif

This post has been edited by darkbyte: Nov 16 2013, 22:45


--------------------
Wavpack -b450x1c
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Nov 17 2013, 00:08
Post #84





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



iirc it's heading to RC. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
C.R.Helmrich
post Nov 17 2013, 02:30
Post #85





Group: Developer
Posts: 686
Joined: 6-December 08
From: Erlangen Germany
Member No.: 64012



Reading diagonally over the commit messages, there seem to be mostly surround and software related changes lately, except for some stereo tuning for "IgorC's twilight sample".

Did that affect also other signals much, and are there more mono- or stereo-related quality tunings during the last few months which I missed?

Chris


--------------------
If I don't reply to your reply, it means I agree with you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Nov 17 2013, 04:12
Post #86





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



Chris,
QUOTE (C.R.Helmrich @ Nov 16 2013, 22:30) *
Did that affect also other signals much...

Yes, it affects a parts of samples (music or speech) where a stereo image is narrow enough. More obvious example is a speech samples as they very often have narrow (and/or panned) stereo.
It doesn't affect other kind of signals, hence no side effect.

This post has been edited by IgorC: Nov 17 2013, 04:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Nov 26 2013, 16:10
Post #87





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



According to http://www.opus-codec.org/

1.1 RC was released

Edit: grammar errors

This post has been edited by IgorC: Nov 26 2013, 16:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LithosZA
post Nov 26 2013, 17:11
Post #88





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 26-February 11
Member No.: 88525



Still waiting for win32 binaries smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Nov 26 2013, 18:10
Post #89





Group: Members
Posts: 450
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



Opus-1.1rc generic opimized build for testing, please don't forget to post results and differences from beta wink.gif

This post has been edited by kode54: Nov 26 2013, 21:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LithosZA
post Nov 26 2013, 18:43
Post #90





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 26-February 11
Member No.: 88525



QUOTE (Anakunda @ Nov 26 2013, 19:10) *
Opus-1.1rc generic opimized build for testing, please don't forget to post results and differences from beta wink.gif


Thanks Anakunda,

Unfortunately both 'x86\opusenc.exe' and 'amd64\opusenc.exe' give me this message:
"Please verify that both the operating system and the processor support Intel®
MOVBE, F16C, FMA, BMI, LZCNT and AVX2 instructions."

I am running a Intel Core i3-2310M @ 2.1Ghz with 64bit version of Windows 8 Pro.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Nov 26 2013, 18:59
Post #91





Group: Members
Posts: 450
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



Please redownload and try either build without AVX or non optimized, either should run for you now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LithosZA
post Nov 26 2013, 19:12
Post #92





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 26-February 11
Member No.: 88525



Hi Anakunda,

I tried all of these and still get the same message:
x86
x86 (no AVX)
x86 (no opt)
amd64
amd64 (no AVX)
amd64 (no opt)

Strange that the (no op) ones are giving the same message.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Nov 26 2013, 19:24
Post #93





Group: Members
Posts: 1035
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



Case, when you have time can you please create the binaries? I only use yours. Thanks.


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Nov 26 2013, 19:41
Post #94





Group: Members
Posts: 450
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



LithosZA you're right, my mistake. This already should run everywhere as it should. Sorry guys for the inconvenience.

[removed]

This post has been edited by kode54: Nov 26 2013, 21:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LithosZA
post Nov 26 2013, 19:51
Post #95





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 26-February 11
Member No.: 88525



QUOTE (Anakunda @ Nov 26 2013, 20:41) *
LithosZA you're right, my mistake. This already should run everywhere as it should. Sorry guys for the inconvenience.

[removed]


No problem,

Yay, it is working now smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Nov 26 2013, 20:12
Post #96





Group: Members
Posts: 1035
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



Anakunda, why do I need to use all these DLLs? When for example Case compiles I only need opusenc.exe.

Thanks.

This post has been edited by eahm: Nov 26 2013, 20:12


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Nov 26 2013, 20:24
Post #97





Group: Members
Posts: 4861
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (eahm @ Nov 26 2013, 15:12) *
Anakunda, why do I need to use all these DLLs? When for example Case compiles I only need opusenc.exe.


Static vs. dynamically linked libraries.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Nov 26 2013, 21:30
Post #98





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



I would rather wait for an official binaries. The posted binaries (unofficial Anakunda's ) are reported to have some anomalities. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jmvalin
post Nov 27 2013, 02:50
Post #99


Xiph.org Speex developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 475
Joined: 21-August 02
Member No.: 3134



LithosZA, are you still having that problem? If so, Anakunda can you give more info on your build. I can't reproduce the problem, so it probably has to do with the platform or the compiler. Can you try disabling SSE maybe?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LithosZA
post Nov 27 2013, 06:43
Post #100





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 26-February 11
Member No.: 88525



Hi jmvalin,

Yes, I am still having the same issue.
Is there somebody here who can build opus-tools with GCC instead? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 23:46