IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
WavPack 4.0 Beta Release 2, including sources
robUx4
post May 14 2004, 14:09
Post #51


Matroska Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 410
Joined: 14-March 02
From: Paris
Member No.: 1519



The latest sources are now uploaded on the CVS of CoreCodec. I haven't uploaded the foobar sources yet because I would like to merge them with the sources I have.

This post has been edited by robUx4: May 14 2004, 14:11


--------------------
http://www.matroska.org/ : the best vapourware / http://robux4.blogspot.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
glauco
post May 14 2004, 15:27
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 16-February 03
Member No.: 5030



WOW!!!

Linux version, foobar plugin, sources in CVS... Good news keep comming. smile.gif

Nice work everyone.


--------------------
Just a thought...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bryant
post May 15 2004, 20:12
Post #53


WavPack Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1290
Joined: 3-January 02
From: San Francisco CA
Member No.: 900



QUOTE (naturfreak @ May 7 2004, 01:44 PM)
After processing the program remains in the memory.

I had several instances of wavpack in the memory after encoding. Processor load stayed at 100%. I had to shutdown the tasks of wavpack manually using the taskmanager.

I have created and uploaded an experimental wavpack+wvunpack package to hopefully address the termination problem (which I cannot reproduce, but which I think is related to a bug in Cygwin). Please let me know if this does not fix the problem (or if you are not using Cygwin). If this works we'll put it in the next release. Thanks again.

experimental version

QUOTE (Speek @ May 14 2004, 02:25 AM)
Thanks for the foobar component. It works fine (so far...). Just one suggestion: maybe there should be a warning/error report in the console when a decoding error occurs (with a corrupt Wavpack file).
I like it very much that Wavpack 4 can keep decoding when errors occur. But could you make it so that the sound is muted when playing the corrupt samples? The noise I hear now is bad for my ears and my speakers  smile.gif

Yes, one of my next projects is to make playback and decoding more robust, and part of this is to mute (and report) errors. I am also considering making a utility that could do in-place "repair" of WavPack files. This would allow time to do a more thorough repair, including a crossfading of material before and after the error.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pamel
post May 17 2004, 22:49
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 15-June 03
Member No.: 7199



QUOTE (bryant @ May 15 2004, 02:12 PM)
Yes, one of my next projects is to make playback and decoding more robust, and part of this is to mute (and report) errors.

Matroska already has support for adding CRC32 data to Blocks it contains. Using this may be a little easier...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
HansHeijden
post May 19 2004, 19:33
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 75



For those interested, just updated the compression/speed webpage (see www button below) with some more WavPack -x levels. Although, the slowest ones will have to wait until some future PC...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SometimesWarrior
post May 20 2004, 07:47
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 671
Joined: 21-November 01
From: California, US
Member No.: 514



QUOTE (HansHeijden @ May 19 2004, 11:33 AM)
For those interested, just updated the compression/speed webpage (see www button below) with some more WavPack -x levels. Although, the slowest ones will have to wait until some future PC...

Thanks for the update, HansHeijden!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
den
post May 20 2004, 10:07
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 315
Joined: 18-February 03
From: Perth, Western Australia
Member No.: 5050



@FireStarter

Sorry I didn't answer you before, but yes you can use other tools to transcode to and from Wavpack4. If you stick to the 3.97 options, you can use any of the other multifrontends/transcoders without changing anything apart from copying over the latest wavpack encoder and decoder files.

If you want to use the new modes though, you need to either modify the scripts that usually sit behind these tools to make them work, or simply add what you need in the custom command section.

eg, I used Unifront 1.1 Beta today to transcode to and from Wavpack 4. If I used the old modes, I didn't have to change anything apart from copy the new files in. I wanted to encode into -hb320x3 though so I simply chose Wavpack encoder, and then turned off the built in options, and entered -hb320x3 into the "Add additional options" box. Worked a treat.

Hope this helps.

Den. cool.gif


--------------------
Den
My blog - http://www.iinet.net.au/~den
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
robUx4
post Jun 1 2004, 21:38
Post #58


Matroska Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 410
Joined: 14-March 02
From: Paris
Member No.: 1519



For those interrested, I've tuned the Wavpack beta2 code to compile and run on OS X.

The modified sources can be found here. The same source compile for Win32, Linux and OS X.


--------------------
http://www.matroska.org/ : the best vapourware / http://robux4.blogspot.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Jun 1 2004, 21:54
Post #59


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



Elite! Thanks smile.gif


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MyAdviceIha
post Jun 18 2004, 16:26
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 27-January 03
Member No.: 4753



It has been a while since any updates have been to Wavpack 4.0, so I was just seeing how development was coming along. I am very excited this release and plan to archive all my CDs using Wavpack 4.0 once it is final. Thanks for any info anyone can give.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
robUx4
post Jun 18 2004, 16:54
Post #61


Matroska Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 410
Joined: 14-March 02
From: Paris
Member No.: 1519



I guess it's quite stable.
Unfortunately CoreCodec is down so we can't really work in team.
Last I heard of David, he was working on a library version of his code.


--------------------
http://www.matroska.org/ : the best vapourware / http://robux4.blogspot.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bryant
post Jun 19 2004, 18:26
Post #62


WavPack Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1290
Joined: 3-January 02
From: San Francisco CA
Member No.: 900



QUOTE (MyAdviceIha @ Jun 18 2004, 07:26 AM)
It has been a while since any updates have been to Wavpack 4.0, so I was just seeing how development was coming along. I am very excited this release and plan to archive all my CDs using Wavpack 4.0 once it is final. Thanks for any info anyone can give.

Thanks for the interest. smile.gif The third (and probably last) beta is almost ready and should be posted next week. Like robUx4 said, this version will include a library interface to the encoding routines and an updated Cool Edit / Audition filter (which will now support its native 32-bit floats). I have also made the decoding more robust to errors and added error reporting to the foobar plugin. Despite the lack of CVS, I have incorporated all of robUx4's linux/apple mods, so hopefully it will compile elsewhere with a minimum number of tweaks. Oh, I also improved the noise shaping in the hybrid mode.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tec9SD
post Jun 20 2004, 09:08
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 21-June 03
From: S. East, U.S.
Member No.: 7317



Nice to hear, thank you all for your time and effort.

Has MD5 support been created already?

Thanks, tec
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bryant
post Jun 21 2004, 05:28
Post #64


WavPack Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1290
Joined: 3-January 02
From: San Francisco CA
Member No.: 900



QUOTE (Tec9SD @ Jun 20 2004, 12:08 AM)
Has MD5 support been created already?

MD5 has not been available in any release up to now, but it will be included in the new beta.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dzy
post Jun 21 2004, 07:59
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 7-September 02
Member No.: 3318



is the md5 going to be the md5 of decoded raw data or md5 of compressed data like monkey's audio?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bryant
post Jun 21 2004, 18:40
Post #66


WavPack Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1290
Joined: 3-January 02
From: San Francisco CA
Member No.: 900



QUOTE (dzy @ Jun 20 2004, 10:59 PM)
is the md5 going to be the md5 of decoded raw data or md5 of compressed data like monkey's audio?

I chose to calculate the MD5 signature on the raw original uncompressed audio (not including headers). This seems to be the most logical to me for the purpose of verifying the integrity (and version) of the original audio track. This seems to also be the method used by Shnutil and OptimFROG (and I verified my values against those programs).

The disadvantage is that these will not be useful in checking hybrid lossy WavPack files, but WavPack's regular error checking will detect any errors in those. However, the user can still identify the original source by the stored signature even if they didn't create (or download) the correction file.

Please let me know if I made the correct decision (it's not too late to change my mind)...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
guruboolez
post Jun 21 2004, 18:45
Post #67





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 3474
Joined: 7-November 01
From: Strasbourg (France)
Member No.: 420



Does it mean that files need to be decoded in order to check md5 validity?
I like Monkey's Audio md5 hashing, because I could check the integrity of my library very, very quickly. It's really nice, especially for slow computer like mine.

I good compromise might be two MD5 signature. Is it possible?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bryant
post Jun 21 2004, 19:13
Post #68


WavPack Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1290
Joined: 3-January 02
From: San Francisco CA
Member No.: 900



QUOTE (guruboolez @ Jun 21 2004, 09:45 AM)
Does it mean that files need to be decoded in order to check md5 validity?
I like Monkey's Audio md5 hashing, because I could check the integrity of my library very, very quickly. It's really nice, especially for slow computer like mine.

I good compromise might be two MD5 signature. Is it possible?

Hmm, that's a good point. Of course, WavPack files verify a lot faster than some others (especially if you avoid using "high" mode), but I'll look into the diffculty of storing a compressed sum as well.

Aren't there stand-alone programs that provide that kind of functionality (with arbitrary file types)? They would certainly be faster and more efficient than anything I could provide for just checking the integrity of the compressed files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
guruboolez
post Jun 21 2004, 19:34
Post #69





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 3474
Joined: 7-November 01
From: Strasbourg (France)
Member No.: 420



QUOTE (bryant @ Jun 21 2004, 07:13 PM)
Aren't there stand-alone programs that provide that kind of functionality (with arbitrary file types)? They would certainly be faster and more efficient than anything I could provide for just checking the integrity of the compressed files.

Changing tags -> modified md5.
Monkey's MD5 checking is not affected by any tag modification.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bryant
post Jun 21 2004, 19:49
Post #70


WavPack Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1290
Joined: 3-January 02
From: San Francisco CA
Member No.: 900



QUOTE (guruboolez @ Jun 21 2004, 10:34 AM)
Changing tags -> modified md5.
Monkey's MD5 checking is not affected by any tag modification.

Hmm, good point #2... smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
robUx4
post Jun 21 2004, 21:49
Post #71


Matroska Developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 410
Joined: 14-March 02
From: Paris
Member No.: 1519



IMO it's good to compute it on the encoded data.
#1) there are less data to compute
#2) in normal mode the data are purely equivalent
#3) MD5 also applies to hybrid mode

Also does the MD5 applies to the whole file or just parts ? (and therefore many MD5s)


--------------------
http://www.matroska.org/ : the best vapourware / http://robux4.blogspot.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 05:17