IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
MathAudio Room EQ for Foobar2000
k2k
post Nov 26 2013, 23:53
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



MathAudio Room EQ for Foobar2000

  • Corrects deficiencies of room acoustics (multipoint compensation).
  • Corrects acoustic imperfections of speakers.
  • Optimized for maximum accuracy of the correction.
  • Corrects both amplitude and phase components of frequency response.
  • Quells resonance peaks of frequency response while leaving the deep notches to prevent large excursions of the speaker diaphragm. Avoids the muddy sound of conventional linearizing equalizers.
  • Manually adjustable level of compensation allows one to reach the maximum transparency of the sound.
  • Supports high sample rates.
  • Applies 64-bit signal path throughout.
  • Works with USB measurement microphones (e.g. MiniDSP UMIK-1) or standard measurement microphones (e.g. NADY CM100 or Dayton Audio EMM-6).
  • Supports microphone calibration files.
  • Applies a patented method of frequency response correction.

Download: mathaudio.com/download.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
edwardar
post Nov 27 2013, 00:30
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 15139



This looks magnificent. I looked into room EQ some years ago, but the whole process was so complicated, I never got round to it. I did buy a Radioshack Sound Level Meter for this purpose though. Any chance I could use it with this plugin (or a future version)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Nov 27 2013, 00:37
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



Why is the plug-in an .exe? No thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Nov 27 2013, 01:36
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



The plug-in is packed into an 'exe' installer because it includes a Help manual. The package also includes a standard Windows uninstaller, so you can easily remove all installed files from your PC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Nov 27 2013, 02:50
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (edwardar @ Nov 27 2013, 00:30) *
This looks magnificent. I looked into room EQ some years ago, but the whole process was so complicated, I never got round to it. I did buy a Radioshack Sound Level Meter for this purpose though. Any chance I could use it with this plugin (or a future version)?

Yes, you can use it as a measurement microphone with Room EQ. Try to find a calibration (correction) file for your model and copy it to the Documents -> MathAudio Room EQ folder. It will improve the accuracy of your measurement.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Nov 27 2013, 06:20
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1167
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



QUOTE (Sandrine @ Nov 26 2013, 16:37) *
Why is the plug-in an .exe? No thanks.

You can extract it with 7-Zip (or 7-Zip Portable) and use just the DLL.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xnor
post Nov 27 2013, 06:23
Post #7





Group: Developer
Posts: 1016
Joined: 29-April 11
From: Austria
Member No.: 90198



Avast AV detected uninstall.exe as malware.


--------------------
"we are having an educated and deep technical discussion"-amirm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Nov 27 2013, 08:20
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 4687
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



From the icon, it appears to be a bog standard NSIS uninstaller. From what I've found from basic searching, to sign the uninstaller, you need to compile your own uninstaller and sign it, then bundle that with the installer instead of scripting it to generate one on the fly.

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/d34a0b13...sis/1385536852/

I'm calling false positive due to unsigned code.

Also, just extracting the component will not work, because it appears to be nothing more than a VST wrapper, as the installer also places the equalizer VST in a separate directory, alongside the documentation and the uninstaller.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Nov 27 2013, 19:00
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (xnor @ Nov 27 2013, 06:23) *
Avast AV detected uninstall.exe as malware.

uninstall.exe doesn't contain any malware. This is a false positive error of AVAST.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
oruam57
post Nov 27 2013, 19:35
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 4-March 11
Member No.: 88695



I got the plugin installed and working.

I did some measurements and got a reasonable looking frequency response.

Unfortunately, I do not hear any difference between the Bypass and Room EQ positions (both with music and sinusoidal tones) sad.gif




Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Nov 27 2013, 19:57
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (eahm @ Nov 27 2013, 06:20) *
You can extract it with 7-Zip (or 7-Zip Portable) and use just the DLL.

This method will not work because foo_room_eq.dll depends on other Room EQ files that are located in another directory. It was not practical to install all Room EQ files into the "components" directory of Foobar2000 because it could create some delay on startup of Foobar2000 (Foobar2000 checks all files in its "components" directory one-by-one every time when you start it up).

Room EQ applies well known and very reliable NSIS installer/uninstaller which is used in thousands of software products around the world. Just use it and don't worry: Room EQ does not contain any malware.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Nov 27 2013, 20:10
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (oruam57 @ Nov 27 2013, 19:35) *
I got the plugin installed and working.

I did some measurements and got a reasonable looking frequency response.

Unfortunately, I do not hear any difference between the Bypass and Room EQ positions (both with music and sinusoidal tones) sad.gif

It is impossible. Play music and move the vertical slider up and down in the Room EQ mode. You will hear noticeable changes in timbre and volume of the sound.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
oruam57
post Nov 28 2013, 14:35
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 4-March 11
Member No.: 88695



QUOTE (k2k @ Nov 27 2013, 20:10) *
QUOTE (oruam57 @ Nov 27 2013, 19:35) *
I got the plugin installed and working. I did some measurements and got a reasonable looking frequency response. Unfortunately, I do not hear any difference between the Bypass and Room EQ positions (both with music and sinusoidal tones) sad.gif
It is impossible. Play music and move the vertical slider up and down in the Room EQ mode. You will hear noticeable changes in timbre and volume of the sound.


Sorry, I misunderstood the function of the vertical slider. Now I see that the frequency response is corrected for the part above the white line only.







Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Nov 28 2013, 20:42
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (oruam57 @ Nov 28 2013, 14:35) *
Sorry, I misunderstood the function of the vertical slider. Now I see that the frequency response is corrected for the part above the white line only.

Yes, Room EQ removes everything above the dashed line while leaving the notches below the dashed line. This is one of the most important features of this plug-in. Conventional room correction systems often try to “equalize everything”. As a result, they create large excursions of the speaker diaphragm at certain frequencies. The large excursions of the speaker diaphragm create non-linear distortion and the sound becomes “dirty”. The vertical slider of this plug-in allows you to choose between “full” and “partial” types of correction. Consequently, you can get the best possible sound.

Please note that the sound of your speakers becomes more silent when you remove the room resonances. Don't forget to move left the “Bypass signal volume” slider to make the volume of the bypass signal equal to the volume of the processed signal. After that you will be able to correctly compare the quality of the processed sound with the quality of the original sound.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Dec 16 2013, 21:22
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



News
A new version of the plug-in has just been released. The new version includes a custom target curve feature. This new feature can be used for drawing your own reference frequency response.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pro_optimizer
post Dec 21 2013, 08:33
Post #16





Group: Developer
Posts: 99
Joined: 6-June 06
Member No.: 31515



QUOTE (k2k @ Dec 16 2013, 22:22) *
News
A new version of the plug-in has just been released. The new version includes a custom target curve feature. This new feature can be used for drawing your own reference frequency response.


Hi k2k, fantastic work!

To top it off, maybe you could offer correction curves for a few cheap stock microphones (Best Buy, etc.). Would be more than willing to pay $1 a piece.
For example, here's a quite popular one: http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-980240-0403.../dp/B00022TNHM/

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
muxx
post Dec 23 2013, 18:47
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 16-March 12
Member No.: 97854



Hello, I have a Behringer ECM8000 microphone. I let it calibrate and got a correction file like these.
Can the software read ASCII (text) microphone correction files with file extensions like .sen/.mic/.cal etc. ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Dec 24 2013, 12:07
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (pro_optimizer @ Dec 21 2013, 08:33) *
Hi k2k, fantastic work!

To top it off, maybe you could offer correction curves for a few cheap stock microphones (Best Buy, etc.). Would be more than willing to pay $1 a piece.
For example, here's a quite popular one: http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-980240-0403.../dp/B00022TNHM/

Your example mic is not so cheap. Just compare its price ($35) with the price of a professional calibrated measurement microphone like EMM-6 ($48) or UMIK-1 ($75).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Dec 24 2013, 12:15
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (muxx @ Dec 23 2013, 18:47) *
Hello, I have a Behringer ECM8000 microphone. I let it calibrate and got a correction file like these.
Can the software read ASCII (text) microphone correction files with file extensions like .sen/.mic/.cal etc. ?

Yes, Room EQ can read ASCII (text) microphone calibration files if you save them with the extension .CAL or .FRD.

Use "Save As" in your browser to save the text of the calibration file as a text file (e.g. calibration.txt). After that change the file type from “txt” to “cal”: open the text file in Notepad, click File – Save as - Save as type – All Files, then type the new name (e.g. calibration.cal) in the “File name” edit window and click the “Save” button.

Copy the calibration file to the Documents -> MathAudio Room EQ folder. Then exit Foobar2000 and start it once again. The name of the calibration file will be shown at the top right corner of the Room EQ graphical area.

This post has been edited by k2k: Dec 24 2013, 12:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Jan 6 2014, 21:53
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 1993
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



Hm. Anyone know whether the IMM-6 ("I", not "E") is good for anything? Small and practical to bring around ... and when a few friends have borrowed it I can just buy another one.
http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-iMM-6-C...t/dp/B00ADR2B84


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GABYBARO
post Jan 10 2014, 12:09
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 10-January 14
Member No.: 113932



HELLO,
Room correction mode, foobar when playing a song, I hear a beep every 5 to 10 seconds.
Es it possible
Hi
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Jan 10 2014, 21:41
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (Porcus @ Jan 6 2014, 21:53) *
Hm. Anyone know whether the IMM-6 ("I", not "E") is good for anything? Small and practical to bring around ... and when a few friends have borrowed it I can just buy another one.
http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-iMM-6-C...t/dp/B00ADR2B84

This mic is designed to be used on iPhones and Android phones, not on a PC. If you want to use it with your PC, you will need to use an adapter cable to go from TRRS (4 wires) to TRS (3 wires). Besides, you will need to use the Mic Input of your PC, which can be less accurate than the Line Input. You may want to look at Dayton Audio UMM-6 or MiniDSP UMIK-1 instead.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Jan 10 2014, 21:43
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (GABYBARO @ Jan 10 2014, 12:09) *
HELLO,
Room correction mode, foobar when playing a song, I hear a beep every 5 to 10 seconds.
Es it possible
Hi

There are two versions of the Room EQ plug-in: Room EQ for Foobar2000 and Room EQ VST. Room EQ for Foobar2000 is free and works without any beeps. Room EQ VST is designed to be used with professional audio workstations (DAW) and it is not free (demo beeps). You can use Room EQ VST with Foobar2000, but you don't need to do it because Room EQ for Foobar2000 includes all features of Room EQ VST. Just install Room EQ for Foobar2000 and you will have no beeps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Jan 11 2014, 02:50
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 1167
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



QUOTE (k2k @ Nov 27 2013, 11:57) *
QUOTE (eahm @ Nov 27 2013, 06:20) *
You can extract it with 7-Zip (or 7-Zip Portable) and use just the DLL.

This method will not work because foo_room_eq.dll depends on other Room EQ files that are located in another directory. It was not practical to install all Room EQ files into the "components" directory of Foobar2000 because it could create some delay on startup of Foobar2000 (Foobar2000 checks all files in its "components" directory one-by-one every time when you start it up).

Room EQ applies well known and very reliable NSIS installer/uninstaller which is used in thousands of software products around the world. Just use it and don't worry: Room EQ does not contain any malware.

It's not because of worries, I am sure I can trust you. I don't install anything (unless I really really need to), always make or use portable versions. This way I fully use ONLY one drive and keep the OS drive (SSD) clean and at the maximum of speed and efficiency and it's better for backup purposes, the folder/drive is just one.

This post has been edited by eahm: Jan 11 2014, 02:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k2k
post Jan 12 2014, 20:14
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-November 13
Member No.: 112606



QUOTE (eahm @ Jan 11 2014, 02:50) *
It's not because of worries, I am sure I can trust you. I don't install anything (unless I really really need to), always make or use portable versions. This way I fully use ONLY one drive and keep the OS drive (SSD) clean and at the maximum of speed and efficiency and it's better for backup purposes, the folder/drive is just one.

MathAudio Room EQ is not able to slow down your system. However, if you want to keep everything under your control, you can use the following manual method of installation:
1. Download mathaudio-room-eq-for-foobar2000.exe from http://mathaudio.com/download.htm
2. Open it with 7-Zip.
3. Copy foo_room_eq.dll to the "Program FIles (x86)\foobar2000\components" folder (Windows x64) or "Program FIles\foobar2000\components" folder (Windows x32/x86).
4. Open the "$SHELL[17]" folder and copy the "MathAudio" folder with all its content to the "Program FIles (x86)" directory (Windows x64) or "Program FIles" directory (Windows x32/x86).
Please note that you will need to manually delete all these files if you will want to uninstall the plug-in.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 17:01