IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
How fare can AccurateRip distinguish between different users?
OliP
post Jan 7 2013, 18:43
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 6-January 13
Member No.: 105636



I have a lot of rare CDs, with often no DB entrys, so that I cannot verify.
(I rip with EAC)

In some cases, Iīve ripped a rare CD 1 year ago. At that time it was not present in AR Database.
Now 1 year later Iīve ripped the CD again with the same Hardware and Software and configuration. Only a newer version of EAC!
- And got a confidence of one.
Cos the CD is very seldom, itīs most likely that this is my own result!
How can I know?
How far does the Database distinguish between different CD-ripping results / hardware-software configurations of different users?


I ask that, cos in the past Iīve often ripped a well known CD, got e.g. confidence 8, submitted to AccurateRip, and ripped again one week later.
Got again confidence 8! So in that case, the database has not given me my own result back that I have submitted one week ago? Otherwise I would have gotten a confidence of 9!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So whats true now?
Does AR DB recognize me or not? Remembers me again one week later, but forgot me after one year?
???????????
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garym
post Jan 7 2013, 19:40
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 517
Joined: 16-September 06
From: United States
Member No.: 35261



Spoon can confirm, but I've read before that the confidence of "1" could very well be your own submission to the database. On the other issue, I recall that the database is not updated on a "live" basis. So it likely takes much longer than a week before your submission becomes part of the database.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Jan 7 2013, 19:40
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3425
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



Well, to answer one of your questions, I'm pretty sure that new submissions are only entered into the database periodically, so the same confidence two weeks straight is not unusual.

For the rest, I think I remember that while there is only one submission for a track, the system remembers the user that submitted it, but as soon as there are two that match from different users, it simply keeps a count.

Edit: garym got there first.

This post has been edited by pdq: Jan 7 2013, 19:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garym
post Jan 7 2013, 19:48
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 517
Joined: 16-September 06
From: United States
Member No.: 35261



QUOTE (pdq @ Jan 7 2013, 13:40) *
For the rest, I think I remember that while there is only one submission for a track, the system remembers the user that submitted it, but as soon as there are two that match from different users, it simply keeps a count.


hmmm, if this is true then I'm probably wrong about the match of "1" a year later. This issue has been discussed in some threads either here or at illustrate (dbpa) forum. But with a quick search I can't find them.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spoon
post Jan 7 2013, 20:45
Post #5


dBpowerAMP developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2752
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1615



If there are no other results in the database for a given disc ID the a single submission is all that is required, this could easily be yourself 1 year ago.


--------------------
Spoon http://www.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OliP
post Jan 8 2013, 15:39
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 6-January 13
Member No.: 105636



English is sometimes not easy for me.
----------------------------------------------

OK so I can gather here a --NO-- it can not distinguish, and puts eyerything in the pool, also when a user rips a CD 5 times! What of course usally will not happen!


So its a fact that the Database cannot distinguish/differ different submissions.
When spoon, really has inventetd the DB, heīll be able to tell that it is like this.
Or?

This post has been edited by OliP: Jan 8 2013, 16:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spoon
post Jan 8 2013, 18:33
Post #7


dBpowerAMP developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2752
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1615



The database tracks your submissions, so all old submissions are replaced by newer ones.

The final database does not indicate it was your rip or not


--------------------
Spoon http://www.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OliP
post Jan 8 2013, 20:39
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 6-January 13
Member No.: 105636



QUOTE (spoon @ Jan 8 2013, 18:33) *
The database tracks your submissions, so all old submissions are replaced by newer ones.

The final database does not indicate it was your rip or not

So internally every checksum has a unique ID!
But the DB does not give that information to me.
When ist was me one year ago - I get confidence 1 now, without any possibility to know that this 1 is my own result of the past, right

??

This post has been edited by OliP: Jan 8 2013, 20:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garym
post Jan 8 2013, 20:47
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 517
Joined: 16-September 06
From: United States
Member No.: 35261



QUOTE (OliP @ Jan 8 2013, 14:39) *
When ist was me one year ago - I get confidence 1 now, without any possibility to know that this 1 is my own result of the past, right


This is correct.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OliP
post Jan 8 2013, 22:05
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 6-January 13
Member No.: 105636



QUOTE (garym @ Jan 8 2013, 20:47) *
QUOTE (OliP @ Jan 8 2013, 14:39) *
When ist was me one year ago - I get confidence 1 now, without any possibility to know that this 1 is my own result of the past, right

This is correct.


So does the database internally recognize, that it is the same user and configuration? No.
To be able to really distinguish between different Rips, and to work perfectly, the database would have to store the complete hardware and software configuration of each user according to the CD-ID.
And thats to much data.
Is it like that?

So ridiculously, I could rip a CD in intervals of one month (so that thereīs time to save my checksum).
Then, when I rip the CD after 1 year, Iīd get confidence 12. And thatīs all my own results!

This post has been edited by OliP: Jan 8 2013, 22:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garym
post Jan 8 2013, 22:11
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 517
Joined: 16-September 06
From: United States
Member No.: 35261



QUOTE (OliP @ Jan 8 2013, 16:05) *
QUOTE (garym @ Jan 8 2013, 20:47) *
QUOTE (OliP @ Jan 8 2013, 14:39) *
When ist was me one year ago - I get confidence 1 now, without any possibility to know that this 1 is my own result of the past, right

This is correct.


So does the database internally recognize, that it is the same user and configuration? No.
To be able to really distinguish between different Rips, and to work perfectly, the database would have to store the complete hardware and software configuration of each user according to the CD-ID.
And thats to much data.
Is it like that?

So ridiculously, I could rip a CD in intervals of one month (so that thereīs time to save my checksum).
Then, when I rip the CD after 1 year, Iīd get confidence 12. And thatīs all my own results!


I thought spoon said that if you reripped on same machine, when this was reported to Accuraterip it would REPLACE your old report. So if you reripped 12 times, it would still only be in the database as ONE report. So after a year if you did a comparison, you'd get a confidence of ONE. But Spoon will need to confirm if I'm interpreting what he said correctly.

p.s. If you ripped 12 times on 12 different machines, I'm assuming that it would show up as 12 different submissions to AR. But this makes sense as the rip was on DIFFERENT machines.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OliP
post Jan 8 2013, 22:37
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 6-January 13
Member No.: 105636



QUOTE (garym @ Jan 8 2013, 22:11) *
I thought spoon said that if you reripped on same machine, when this was reported to Accuraterip it would REPLACE your old report. So if you reripped 12 times, it would still only be in the database as ONE report. So after a year if you did a comparison, you'd get a confidence of ONE. But Spoon will need to confirm if I'm interpreting what he said correctly.


Then the database must have information about my machine and my software!
Either the AcurateRip-system takes every rip to the database, no matter of whom it came from - Or it is able to distinguish.
I havenīt understand what spoon meant with his sentence

The database tracks my submissions, but the "final database" does not indicate it was me or not.
Me as a german speaker does not really understand this sentence...
Does it distinguish or does it not...

This post has been edited by OliP: Jan 8 2013, 22:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
korth
post Jan 8 2013, 23:33
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 447
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 88969



Think of it as a two-part database. The first part is where the ripping program sends the data. This part tracks your submissions and determines whether or not to add to or replace the data in the second part (the 'final' database). You access only the information in second part (the 'final' database) to verify your rip. This part does not have information about your machine.

This post has been edited by korth: Jan 8 2013, 23:40


--------------------
korth
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
_if
post Jan 8 2013, 23:59
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 18-December 10
From: Ohio
Member No.: 86607



There's one CD I ripped awhile ago (May, specifically) on two computers and submitted results on both to try to get it in the database. Now I just got a new computer, ripped the CD again, and it still says it's not present in the database. Not sure what to do about that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post Jan 9 2013, 03:27
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 566
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



QUOTE (_if @ Jan 8 2013, 16:59) *
There's one CD I ripped awhile ago (May, specifically) on two computers and submitted results on both to try to get it in the database. Now I just got a new computer, ripped the CD again, and it still says it's not present in the database. Not sure what to do about that.


Earnest question: why would you feel the need to make multiple rip submissions of the same disc to the AR database?


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
_if
post Jan 9 2013, 05:53
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 75
Joined: 18-December 10
From: Ohio
Member No.: 86607



My old drive sucked so I ripped it on another computer to check if the rip was all good (had to use foobar's bit-compare to verify since it didn't get in the database). Then I got a new drive along with the new computer and ripped it again to see the CD was added and if it matched.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 00:14