IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Problem when installing Foobar 2000 beta 1.0, Initialization failure : Could not access profile folder
elliott94
post Nov 21 2009, 23:56
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 21-November 09
Member No.: 75163



Hi all.
I downloaded the installer for the latest beta from the website, and proseeded to install it. I selected to install it using the standard installation, and installed it in C:\Program Files\Foobar 2000 (the default location). When the installation had finished, a message popped up saying "Initialization failure : Could not access profile folder." Does anyone know what this means?
Thanks a lot,
Elliott.

This post has been edited by elliott94: Nov 22 2009, 00:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Nov 22 2009, 00:30
Post #2





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



Seems like there were some error while accessing the profile folder, which is "C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\foobar2000" in Vista+ or "C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\foobar2000" in XP by default. Does such path exist? Do you happen to know if the user profile path isn't weird somehow on your system (e.g. some permission issues)?


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smkk
post Nov 22 2009, 01:40
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 603
Joined: 18-November 07
Member No.: 48839



Getting the same problem here when making a new standard install of v1.0 b1 (portable works fine). When i installed it over my old 0.9.6.9 (standard installation) there were no problems.
The user profile path is in it's normal place but the "my documents" folder is on another hdd if that matters.

This post has been edited by smkk: Nov 22 2009, 01:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Nov 22 2009, 01:56
Post #4





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



OK, reproduced. Thanks for reporting.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
elliott94
post Nov 22 2009, 19:00
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 21-November 09
Member No.: 75163



Hi.
So why is this problem happening, and what does it mean?
Will it be fixed in the next release?
Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Nov 22 2009, 23:39
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



It means there is a bug in the final stage of the installation. It will be fixed in the next beta.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fallon
post Oct 3 2012, 05:49
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-March 10
Member No.: 78887



This 'Could not access profile folder' problem can still reoccur in other circumstances. When Windows shuts down for some reason - like trying out a new driver and failing at that - an active Foobar 2000 can delete the 'Profile Folder' in full. Under Win 7: C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\foobar2000
It happened to me when foobar 1.1.15 was active and minimized at the time, it was not playing.
It would have been nice if a simple reinstall had worked.

I ended up uninstalling Foobar and cleaning the registry (no patience for more delays).
After this reinstall and putting the playlists folder back worked of course.
Next I found that backup playlists have to be loaded one by one, and from within foobar.
Shellextension apparently doesn't work for fpl under windows 7, 64 bit.
That fpl files are not backupped with given names, but with numbers, well...,
I don't want to go off topic here.

Conclusion for now: Foobar is a great application, but maybe not the most stable customer out there.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2014 - 06:37