IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

32 Pages V  « < 23 24 25 26 27 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[Not my release] Biography view
marc2003
post Mar 18 2013, 23:25
Post #601





Group: Members
Posts: 4439
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (antonyb @ Mar 18 2013, 20:58) *
In fact, I asked you, I know you have the skills


actually i don't. scraping data from websites is much harder (at least to me) than using the documented webservices such as those provided by last.fm or the echonest.

BTW, i used the alphabetical shortcuts on the page to look up all artists beginning with the letter R. do you know how many there are? 29. sorry but nobody is going to write a bespoke script for a site like that.

my only suggestion is to manually copy/paste the text into text files which my simple text reader script for WSH panel mod can then read and display in a panel. it supports title formatting so just dump the text file somewhere in your music folders and configure the script accordingly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
antonyb
post Mar 19 2013, 12:29
Post #602





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 12
From: Italy
Member No.: 97125



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Mar 18 2013, 23:25) *
QUOTE (antonyb @ Mar 18 2013, 20:58) *
In fact, I asked you, I know you have the skills


actually i don't. scraping data from websites is much harder (at least to me) than using the documented webservices such as those provided by last.fm or the echonest.

BTW, i used the alphabetical shortcuts on the page to look up all artists beginning with the letter R. do you know how many there are? 29. sorry but nobody is going to write a bespoke script for a site like that.

my only suggestion is to manually copy/paste the text into text files which my simple text reader script for WSH panel mod can then read and display in a panel. it supports title formatting so just dump the text file somewhere in your music folders and configure the script accordingly.

Good idea, but then you always update your biography, in the case of new album ..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 19 2013, 15:55
Post #603





Group: Members
Posts: 4439
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



my musicbrainz and discogs release scripts have clickable links taking you to the release page of new albums (assuming they've been added to those sites of course). they check for updates once a week (not automatically but when you select an artist and the cached data is over a week old). that doesn't mean to say the biographies on any given site will be updated but at least it's an easier way to check for new stuff.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
antonyb
post Mar 19 2013, 18:34
Post #604





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 12
From: Italy
Member No.: 97125



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Mar 19 2013, 15:55) *
my musicbrainz and discogs release scripts have clickable links taking you to the release page of new albums (assuming they've been added to those sites of course). they check for updates once a week (not automatically but when you select an artist and the cached data is over a week old). that doesn't mean to say the biographies on any given site will be updated but at least it's an easier way to check for new stuff.

How do I do this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 19 2013, 20:15
Post #605





Group: Members
Posts: 4439
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



my WSH panel mod scripts are in here: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/22801321/samples.zip

please check the readme carefully.

recent screenshot of my musicbrainz script here. (that's 2 instances showing off its different modes)

the discogs script looks exactly the same as the panel on the left except the source is obviously different. newest releases are displayed first. clicking the text links opens your browser where you can find more release information and track listings.

This post has been edited by marc2003: Mar 19 2013, 20:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjm716
post Mar 20 2013, 11:58
Post #606





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 27-May 10
From: EST
Member No.: 80935



QUOTE (romor @ Feb 26 2013, 12:33) *
you guys are helpless


smile.gif

yes most of us are!

I have to add my +1 to any method of getting the bio|review data portable into tags (as an additional option to standard output & file).
Alternately just somehow having it referenced in the Foo db would be wonderful so that it could be searched (full text or just binary: missing/present).

Any chance of this?

I understand some of the difficulties, and I know I'm helpless to do so!

However, I would be willing to donate to such an undertaking & perhaps others are also willing?!

Spring Equinox today and Berlin is buried in snow, so thoughts tend towards the very unpractical! laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
romor
post Mar 20 2013, 14:35
Post #607





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



I don't like to ask this question, but really, why would you want to match text from reviews/bios? What is your scenario?

AFAIK, you can't instruct foobar to tag files from text files, nor you can tag files with text that has new lines, other way than manually.
You can tag from text files with Mp3tag and I'll show you here how to extract XML data to text files:

- download this stylesheet: https://gist.github.com/b91dee6eeac15d8bdfb3
- run it through XSLT 2.0 aware processor, i.e. Saxon:

CODE
"C:\Program Files\Saxonica\SaxonHE9.4N\bin\Transform.exe" -s:foo_allmusic.xml -xsl:foo_allmusic.xsl

Above command will create text files for each review and biography item, named accordingly.


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjm716
post Mar 21 2013, 17:16
Post #608





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 27-May 10
From: EST
Member No.: 80935



QUOTE (romor @ Mar 20 2013, 15:35) *
why would you want to match text from reviews/bios? What is your scenario?


Thanks much for the text technique.

Why?

missing/present is pretty obvious, otherwise, it's just nicer to have a bigger data set for search and cross-referencing
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
romor
post Mar 22 2013, 04:40
Post #609





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



But it will interfere common search...

You could also try lyricsgrabber component, as it seems it does allow writing arbitrary data to arbitrary tag automatically


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eric75
post Mar 24 2013, 12:59
Post #610





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-March 13
Member No.: 107367



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Mar 19 2013, 20:15) *
my WSH panel mod scripts are in here: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/22801321/samples.zip

please check the readme carefully.

recent screenshot of my musicbrainz script here. (that's 2 instances showing off its different modes)

the discogs script looks exactly the same as the panel on the left except the source is obviously different. newest releases are displayed first. clicking the text links opens your browser where you can find more release information and track listings.

Hello Marc thanks a lot for all your scripts.
Some questions:
- Is it possible to chain some external scripts ? (IE LastFM + AMG + ...) or do I need to have multiple Biography panels to do that ?
It looks it is stopped after 1st successful one. or am I wrong in some place ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 24 2013, 13:12
Post #611





Group: Members
Posts: 4439
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



if you're talking about this component's ability to run scripts in order until it finds some content then no. mine won't do that. also, i don't have an AMG script so you'd have to stick with biography view for that anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eric75
post Mar 24 2013, 15:03
Post #612





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-March 13
Member No.: 107367



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Mar 24 2013, 13:12) *
if you're talking about this component's ability to run scripts in order until it finds some content then no. mine won't do that. also, i don't have an AMG script so you'd have to stick with biography view for that anyway.

Hello Mark

I mean if I setup multiple commande lines in biography "external script" biography component box:
- are they all run in sequence (from top one to bottom one)
- or is it stopped at some point ?

If not possible to run them in sequence I have the option to merge all the scripts I need in one but I think that it is easier to manage with multiple ones.

Thanks, Eric
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 24 2013, 15:15
Post #613





Group: Members
Posts: 4439
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (Eric75 @ Mar 24 2013, 14:03) *
- are they all run in sequence (from top one to bottom one)


i believe that is the case. i presume it stops when one of the options returns some content. maybe romor or someone else more familiar with it can answer that. as this is a global setting, i guess it won't work if you want multiple panels. again that would require confirmation from someone who really knows. tongue.gif

all my scripts are completely independent of each other, being self contained as they are in their own panel. perhaps setup a WSH panel with my last.fm script (it displays exactly the same content as this component/romor's script). then have this component check for the AMG script? put them next to each other or in tabs perhaps?

This post has been edited by marc2003: Mar 24 2013, 15:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eric75
post Mar 24 2013, 15:33
Post #614





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-March 13
Member No.: 107367



Yes, I am going to try this way
Thanks again Mark
Eric
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
islandguide
post Apr 6 2013, 09:38
Post #615





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-April 13
Member No.: 107548



QUOTE (romor @ Feb 20 2013, 13:51) *
Edit: Sooner than later, here is 6 line vbscript that renders as expected full last.fm bio: https://gist.github.com/aa2ada8bdc93144abd03

Hi and thank you for this script romor!

I've been trying to get it to work but I don't seem to be able to succeed. I followed the instructions that you posted and the script seems to run but it only returns the first letter of the last.fm bio as a result. That is, in the bio window I see the images and then just one (capital) letter. Any idea of how I might be able to fix this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
romor
post Apr 6 2013, 14:26
Post #616





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



Most probably you haven't set UTF-16 encoding and you used cscript with "//U" switch.
So in preferences select the the command, then set "character code" to UTF-16 and hit "update" button


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
islandguide
post Apr 6 2013, 14:37
Post #617





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-April 13
Member No.: 107548



Ah, you are right and now it works. Wonderful!

Thank you again and sorry I troubled you with such a silly little mistake.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Apr 6 2013, 20:39
Post #618





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



i know it's a question that only a noob could do but...
where do i find this menu?



I'm tring to use the vbs script by romor for the full last.fm bio. but i don't understand where can i find the proper menu to load it blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
islandguide
post Apr 6 2013, 21:57
Post #619





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-April 13
Member No.: 107548



QUOTE (romor @ Mar 4 2013, 09:33) *
Step by step walkthrough:

1. download the script from provided link and save it in foobar's folder
2. In foobar's preferences navigate to "Biography Server" page and from "Available source list" listbox, add "Run External Script" item to the "Current source list" list box. Move it to the top with the "Up" button
3. In foobar's preferences "Run External Script" page, in Artist tab, type exactly what you see in quoted image

(Preferences->Tools->Biography Server->Run External Script)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Apr 7 2013, 12:34
Post #620





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



QUOTE (islandguide @ Apr 6 2013, 21:57) *
QUOTE (romor @ Mar 4 2013, 09:33) *
Step by step walkthrough:

1. download the script from provided link and save it in foobar's folder
2. In foobar's preferences navigate to "Biography Server" page and from "Available source list" listbox, add "Run External Script" item to the "Current source list" list box. Move it to the top with the "Up" button
3. In foobar's preferences "Run External Script" page, in Artist tab, type exactly what you see in quoted image

(Preferences->Tools->Biography Server->Run External Script)


Ops, sorry, i completely missed the "Run external script" mený...
I followed every step but it doesn't seems to work for me, or probably i'm missing something else...
here's what i actually did, but (i'm using the DarkOne skin) the BIO panel is empty :S

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Propheticus
post Apr 7 2013, 12:49
Post #621





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 10-September 11
Member No.: 93615



works flawlessly here... also darkone skin. Have you made sure the script is placed in foobar's root folder?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Apr 7 2013, 13:15
Post #622





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



QUOTE (Propheticus @ Apr 7 2013, 12:49) *
works flawlessly here... also darkone skin. Have you made sure the script is placed in foobar's root folder?


Yes it is.
May it be related to the fact that i'm using a portable foobar2000 installation??
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
acmodeu
post Apr 9 2013, 14:41
Post #623





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 28-September 07
From: Petrozavodsk
Member No.: 47418



Is there any way to make it stream more than 6 artist pictures?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
romor
post Apr 9 2013, 16:18
Post #624





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



QUOTE (acmodeu @ Apr 9 2013, 15:41) *
Is there any way to make it stream more than 6 artist pictures?

Value seem hashed in configuration file. So even if you try brute force you probably can't go far and test if you can trick it.

@foomark: maybe try with absolute path to script file: `cscript //nologo "c:\...\lastfm_bio.vbs" ...`

This post has been edited by romor: Apr 9 2013, 16:18


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Apr 9 2013, 17:09
Post #625





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



QUOTE (romor @ Apr 9 2013, 16:18) *
@foomark: maybe try with absolute path to script file: `cscript //nologo "c:\...\lastfm_bio.vbs" ...`


ohmy.gif
i tried this method and the result is ....
look blink.gif

PS: i'm italian, idk if the result with your script should be in English or Italian, but i don't think it have to be like the one i got laugh.gif
PPS: if i double click on it, the whole panel gets empty.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

32 Pages V  « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 05:20