IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Nero AAC, listening test :-)
rjamorim
post Jun 4 2003, 22:33
Post #51


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (spoon @ Jun 4 2003 - 06:25 PM)
How do Codecs with VBR fit in with 128Kbps? to be fair to WMA it should be VBR 2 pass, not that it will win wink.gif

Well, it would be a VBR/ABR test, except for atrac3. As Ivan already explained several times on the QuickTime 6.3 announcement thread, AAC CBR is almost ABR, due to the big bit reservoir.


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
guruboolez
post Jun 4 2003, 22:41
Post #52





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 3474
Joined: 7-November 01
From: Strasbourg (France)
Member No.: 420



QUOTE (rjamorim @ Jun 4 2003 - 09:39 PM)
QUOTE (Tripwire @ Jun 4 2003 - 05:33 PM)
If you take WMA9, be sure to use both Std and Pro.

As I understand, there's no difference between them.

WMA pro is just WMA for high bit depths, high sampling rates and multichannel. It isn't even possible to encode a 44100/stereo/16bit sample with it.

There's a difference between them. WMApro is able to encode :
stereo files
44100 hertz files
at low bitrate, using VBR settings
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Jun 4 2003, 22:52
Post #53


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (guruboolez @ Jun 4 2003 - 06:41 PM)
There's a difference between them. WMApro is able to encode :
? stereo files
? 44100 hertz files
? at low bitrate, using VBR settings

I couldn't reach these settings on CoolEdit 2.1 WMA output plugin.

What program should I use to encode with WMA pro?

What what's the difference? Slower encoding, better quality?


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spoon
post Jun 4 2003, 23:04
Post #54


dBpowerAMP developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2745
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1615



The profile options for WMApro are 2 channel only if is 24 bit, or 16 bit only if is 6 channel.


--------------------
Spoon http://www.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ff123
post Jun 4 2003, 23:13
Post #55


ABC/HR developer, ff123.net admin


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1396
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 12



QUOTE (rjamorim @ Jun 4 2003 - 01:52 PM)
QUOTE (guruboolez @ Jun 4 2003 - 06:41 PM)
There's a difference between them. WMApro is able to encode :
? stereo files
? 44100 hertz files
? at low bitrate, using VBR settings

I couldn't reach these settings on CoolEdit 2.1 WMA output plugin.

What program should I use to encode with WMA pro?

What what's the difference? Slower encoding, better quality?

You don't have to worry about WMA just yet, do you? Isn't this for a future test? But WMA9 Pro is different from WMA9 standard -- it sounds better, at least on one sample I tried at 64 kbit/s. You can access it from within the Windows Media Encoder. Also probably from Spoon's dBPowerAmp (although I haven't checked to make sure). It's kind of a maze trying to figure out just how to make WME give you access to the WMA9 Pro settings.

ff123

This post has been edited by ff123: Jun 4 2003, 23:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2014 - 03:13