IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Can't get my AIF files to play, was: "New user here" (TOS #6)
preproman
post Feb 1 2012, 02:13
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-January 12
Member No.: 96576



I know this may be a stupid question. However, I can't get my AIF files to play. Does foobar have support for this file type?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Feb 1 2012, 02:15
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4844
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



I think theres a bunch of different formats that can be in AIFF. What are yours?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
preproman
post Feb 1 2012, 02:27
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-January 12
Member No.: 96576



QUOTE (saratoga @ Jan 31 2012, 20:15) *
I think theres a bunch of different formats that can be in AIFF. What are yours?



Not sure I understand? Is AIFF a container? I thought is was a format.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DVDdoug
post Feb 1 2012, 02:43
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2534
Joined: 24-August 07
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 46454



QUOTE
Not sure I understand? Is AIFF a container? I thought is was a format.
Right. It can be a container.

If it's a "regular" AIFF file, foobar2000 should play it... But, "everything" else should be able to play it too...

A "regular" AIF/AIFF file is uncompressed PCM (like a WAV file). But, there are format variations and an AIF file can contain compressed audio in a variety of compression-formats. (WAV files can be compressed too.)

So, what can you tell us about the file? Do you know anything about the file? (Sample rate, bit-depth, number of channels, etc.?) Where did it come from? What's the file size? Do you have any idea of the playing time? (From the file size and playing time, we can guess if it's compressed or not).

Try running MediaInfo or GSpot to see if you can find out anything about the format.

This post has been edited by DVDdoug: Feb 1 2012, 02:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
preproman
post Feb 1 2012, 03:13
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-January 12
Member No.: 96576



Yes most all of them was created in iTunes via CD rips. iTunes allows you to edit the AIFF encoder settings. Sample rate is set at 48kHz Channels s set to stereo and the Sample size is set to 16-bit. I rip all my CD with these settings. Now in Foobar the stopped is selected under Playback Stopped is selected and it wont play. The same files play fine in iTunes and J. River. Do I have to add a plug in?

I'm running my files off 2 NAS drives. Looks like Foobar picked up all my folder and files on both drives. But now wont play. Next question I'm going to have is cover art.

This post has been edited by db1989: Feb 1 2012, 20:39
Reason for edit: deleting pointless full quote of above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 1 2012, 04:15
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Why do you rip to 48KHz? That requires resampling your CDs from 44100Hz.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
preproman
post Feb 1 2012, 14:38
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-January 12
Member No.: 96576



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 31 2012, 22:15) *
Why do you rip to 48KHz? That requires resampling your CDs from 44100Hz.



I noticed a more open sound when I did a A/B the 44 seemed to sound more closed and muffuled, the 48 sounded more open and full to my ears.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 1 2012, 15:37
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



If it were properly resampled, you would not be able to hear any difference. There is a possibility that it involved some sort of terrible resampling that distorted the signal.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 21:46