IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

32 Pages V  « < 25 26 27 28 29 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[Not my release] Biography view
marc2003
post Aug 1 2013, 15:22
Post #651





Group: Members
Posts: 4448
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



yeah they do share some files - like most of the code for all my scripts is inside common7.js

but make sure you extract the whole marc2003 folder from the samples.zip though. it contains many other files not included with my playcount sync script. you can safely choose to overwrite any files if prompted.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Solynth
post Aug 2 2013, 01:18
Post #652





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 20-February 12
Member No.: 97273



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Aug 1 2013, 22:22) *
yeah they do share some files - like most of the code for all my scripts is inside common7.js

but make sure you extract the whole marc2003 folder from the samples.zip though. it contains many other files not included with my playcount sync script. you can safely choose to overwrite any files if prompted.


Oh my god, your panel is beautiful. Thanks, man.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lender1257
post Aug 4 2013, 12:50
Post #653





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 7-July 11
Member No.: 92107



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Aug 1 2013, 15:17) *
i assume you're using the built-in wiki support and not using romor's script? i'm pretty sure that doesn't show citations. i think it shows last.fm by default so you need to edit the script somewhere for it to show wikipedia instead.

or you can try my script for WSH panel mod which allows for easy switching between last.fm/wikipedia via the right click menu.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22801321/wsh/samples.zip <<read instructions carefully.


@marc2003
now i'm using your bio-script; works perfectly
question: you are saving the bios in folder "wsh_lastfm" - why ?
is there the possibility to make the plugin "non-save" bios or
should I delete them from time to time
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Aug 4 2013, 16:34
Post #654





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



This is my script, I use it for some time, and works perfectly.
This is modified Romor's script. It hase future to save Bio.txt files, and display them later..
It first search for: last.fm bio, if not found > then search for Wikipedia bio, if not found > then display text(I don't like blank panel).
*You can enter your own text.
You must enter path location, where to save Bio.txt files.
THANKS ROMOR FOR THIS SCRIPT..





CODE
folder = "ENTER YOUR FOLDER"
On Error resume Next
With CreateObject("ADODB.Stream")
.Open
.Type = 2
.Charset = "utf-8"
.LoadFromFile folder & "\" & WScript.Arguments.Item(0) & ".txt"
If Len(.Size) > 1 Then
WScript.Echo .ReadText
.Close
Else
.WriteText WScript.Arguments.Item(0)
.Flush
.Position = 0
.Type = 1
.Read = 3
For i = 1 To .Size-3
param = param & "%" & Hex(AscB(.Read(1)))
Next
.Close
Set xml = CreateObject("MSXML2.DOMDocument.6.0") : xml.async = False
xml.load("http://developer.echonest.com/api/v4/artist/biographies?api_key=OQMRCUVWC6PULGN2G&license=cc-by-sa&format=xml&name=" & param)
bio = xml.selectSingleNode("/response/biographies/biography/text[../site='last.fm']").text
If Len(bio) Then
bio = Replace(Replace(bio, ".  ",  "." & vbCrLf & vbCrLf), ".  ",  "." & vbCrLf & vbCrLf)
.Open
.Type = 2
.Position = 0
.Charset = "utf-8"
.WriteText bio
.SaveToFile folder & "\" & WScript.Arguments.Item(0) & ".txt"
.Close
WScript.Echo bio

Else

Set xml = CreateObject("MSXML2.DOMDocument.6.0") : xml.async = False
xml.load("http://developer.echonest.com/api/v4/artist/biographies?api_key=OQMRCUVWC6PULGN2G&license=cc-by-sa&format=xml&name=" & param)
bio = xml.selectSingleNode("/response/biographies/biography/text[../site='last.fm']").text
If Len(bio) Then
bio = Replace(Replace(bio, ".  ",  "." & vbCrLf & vbCrLf), ".  ",  "." & vbCrLf & vbCrLf)
.Open
.Type = 2
.Position = 0
.Charset = "utf-8"
.WriteText bio
.SaveToFile folder & "\" & WScript.Arguments.Item(0) & ".txt"
.Close
WScript.Echo bio

Else

Set xml = CreateObject("MSXML2.DOMDocument.6.0") : xml.async = False
xml.load("http://developer.echonest.com/api/v4/artist/biographies?api_key=OQMRCUVWC6PULGN2G&license=cc-by-sa&format=xml&name=" & param)
bio = (("WIKIPEDIA:" & vbCrLf & vbCrLf)) & xml.selectSingleNode("/response/biographies/biography/text[../site='wikipedia']").text
If Len(bio) Then
bio = Replace(Replace(bio, ".  ",  "." & vbCrLf & vbCrLf), ".  ",  "." & vbCrLf & vbCrLf)
.Open
.Type = 2
.Position = 0
.Charset = "utf-8"
.WriteText bio
.SaveToFile folder & "\" & WScript.Arguments.Item(0) & ".txt"
.Close
WScript.Echo bio


Else

WScript.Echo "We can't find biography for this artist. Maybe your tags are incorrect or you lose internet connection. Please note that latest one tag ''artist'' must be corrected field.. If your tag is alredy properly field, that means that thoes artist is unknown, or you enter misspeled name. Also when you played radio stream, some station does not send information about artist, so this also causes problem." & vbCrLf & "Thank you for understending.." & vbCrLf & "For further information, and posible solution, check this site:" & vbCrLf & "http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=70955." & vbCrLf & "Your Foobar theam.."


End If
End If
End If
End If
End With


This post has been edited by mire777: Aug 4 2013, 16:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Aug 5 2013, 09:39
Post #655





Group: Members
Posts: 4448
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (lender1257 @ Aug 4 2013, 12:50) *
question: you are saving the bios in folder "wsh_lastfm" - why ?


because caching is good. what's the point of consulting the internet on every play? once you've built up a cache, it also means you see the text instantly on track change when the bio already exists instead of waiting that long second or two... tongue.gif

you can delete the *.json files on a periodic basis if you really can't afford the disk space to keep them. rolleyes.gif

@mire777, you might consider using my WSH script as that allows for easy switching between last.fm and wikipedia via the right click menu. it means you can check the wikipedia text even when last.fm text is present and vice versa. it uses exactly the same source (echonest) as romor's script so the content will be identical.



https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22801321/wsh/samples.zip

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Aug 5 2013, 11:07
Post #656





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Aug 5 2013, 10:39) *
@mire777, you might consider using my WSH script as that allows for easy switching between last.fm and wikipedia via the right click menu. it means you can check the wikipedia text even when last.fm text is present and vice versa. it uses exactly the same source (echonest) as romor's script so the content will be identical.



I love your script, i tried it earlier. But i run Wsh panel mod 1.4.2. , and this is not compatibile with my version.
If i update Wsh panel, it will crash my skin.
I use Xch4nge skin, and there are a lot of WSH scripts..
Maybe i can change all Wsh sript in my skin, and then update. But it's a big job...
So my only solution is to somehow edit your script itself.

*EDIT: Ok i changed script, now works on WSH 1.4.2. smile.gif

I have only one question:
How in your script to set transparent background?

This post has been edited by mire777: Aug 5 2013, 11:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Aug 5 2013, 14:28
Post #657





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



Ok, It's finished. Changed background, fonts ...
Only to fix menu now.

Thanks Marc..




This post has been edited by mire777: Aug 5 2013, 14:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Aug 5 2013, 17:49
Post #658





Group: Members
Posts: 4448
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



ah yes. i see you're using that old modded version which allows that glass affect. you can't upgrade your component (although i think the last was 1.4.4) but you seem to have to figured out how to edit my script so it will work.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Aug 5 2013, 20:44
Post #659





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Aug 5 2013, 18:49) *
ah yes. i see you're using that old modded version which allows that glass affect. you can't upgrade your component (although i think the last was 1.4.4) but you seem to have to figured out how to edit my script so it will work.


Yes, i found what's the difference in old and new WSH, change that, and now work fine. Great script..
Thank's Marc smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Static
post Aug 6 2013, 12:31
Post #660





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 6-February 06
Member No.: 27579



QUOTE (mire777 @ Aug 5 2013, 21:44) *
Yes, i found what's the difference in old and new WSH, change that, and now work fine. Great script..
Thank's Marc smile.gif


Can you please post the edited script? I also use the old WSH and I can't update it because it breaks my skin.

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Aug 7 2013, 00:14
Post #661





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



QUOTE (Static @ Aug 6 2013, 13:31) *
QUOTE (mire777 @ Aug 5 2013, 21:44) *
Yes, i found what's the difference in old and new WSH, change that, and now work fine. Great script..
Thank's Marc smile.gif


Can you please post the edited script? I also use the old WSH and I can't update it because it breaks my skin.

Thank you.


Here is script: http://pastebin.com/rCiZ4xYt

Which version of WSH panel mod you use? And skin?
I don't now if you like this font, i use...

This post has been edited by mire777: Aug 7 2013, 00:27
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
romor
post Sep 1 2013, 18:22
Post #662





Group: Members
Posts: 670
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



QUOTE (PeteG @ Jul 17 2013, 12:10) *
Hm.
I've just found out, that script is doing fine on my Vista 32-bit machine, but still no luck on the Windows 7 64-bit machine.

Sorry especially to you patient Pete, but not until now I had spare time...

I made regex version of allmusic script which doesn't use mshtml library and thus no problem should be expected on different platforms and IE versions, and it's located here: https://gist.github.com/13ebd9e29260a35c8145
For some reason this regex version is twice faster than previous one using html dom, so I would advice other users to try.
It's alpha version, which I tested on couple of releases and find it work as expected.


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
PeteG
post Sep 2 2013, 12:16
Post #663





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 10-June 12
From: Denmark
Member No.: 100577



QUOTE (romor @ Sep 1 2013, 18:22) *
Sorry especially to you patient Pete, but not until now I had spare time...

Wow. I must admit that I was beginning to give up the hope. Thank you so much, romor! biggrin.gif
I've only had time for a preliminary test, but so far everything is working as expected on Windows 7 64-bit. Some 20 albums (checked beforehand): Found and retrieved, first via cmd and then via Biography Server. 100 % backwards compatibility with the existing XML file. Very, very nice. The speed improvement is maybe of more interest for programmers? I rely on the generated XML file, and that's a quick load.

The nit-picking department: The helpline (error message) doesn't match the name of the VBS file...

As a sidenote (site note can one say that?): Using AdBlock in a browser (Chrome) seems to prevent admission to compilations and other subgroups (and possibly other stuff?), I've just found out. Since they changed layout in July, I has been of the belief that that stuff was gone forever. Well, well, well. This has nothing to do with your script.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SmirG3l
post Sep 3 2013, 11:05
Post #664





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 31-August 13
Member No.: 109896



What I'm doing wrong lol? Some band info is in Russian and some in English


This post has been edited by SmirG3l: Sep 3 2013, 11:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
godrick
post Sep 29 2013, 23:49
Post #665





Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 31-December 10
Member No.: 86948



Romor, a belated but big thanks for your regex version. I just got around to playing with it, and I think it works better with a little change that you probably originally intended. I think you meant to end the For/Next loop contained in lines 43 through 53 of your latest revision upon the first match, so I added the "Exit For" line below and I get better matches as a result:

CODE
  For Each k In dAlbum.Keys
    If Match(Split(k, "..")(1), query) And Match(Split(dAlbum(k), "..")(1), Arg(0)) Then
      artistLink = Split(dAlbum(k), "..")(0) & "/biography"
      albumLink = Split(k, "..")(0)
      If result = "bio" Then
        search = biography(artistLink)
      Else
        search = review(albumLink)
      End If
      Exit For
    End If
  Next
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
godrick
post Sep 30 2013, 07:25
Post #666





Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 31-December 10
Member No.: 86948



Romor, a few other observations on tne regex version:

I get a few more successes if the search query is in lower case (without causing any problems at least so far)
CODE
Set reMatch = .Execute(Request("http://www.allmusic.com/search/albums/" & Escape(LCase(query))))

For whatever reason, that works to see the review for Pink Floyd's The Final Cut review that would not otherwise be found with either the panel or cmd window.

I've forgotten what little I knew of regular expressions, so I can't suggest specific improvements, but I found that album titles that have punctuation marks of single quotes or apostrophes (and maybe other marks) would not result in displayed reviews in the panel, but reviews would be found and displayed in a cmd window. Album titles with colons, commas, dashes, periods exclamation points or question marks did not have any problems.

Lastly, I observed that allmusic reviews or artist biographies without any attribution (no "by ..." text) would result in the correct links found, but would not display the review or biography in the panel or cmd window. An example of a review without attribution is The Beatles' Past Masters compliation.

The regex version works very fast - I like it!

This post has been edited by godrick: Sep 30 2013, 07:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
romor
post Oct 5 2013, 15:07
Post #667





Group: Members
Posts: 670
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



Thanks for diving in, Godrick smile.gif

Indeed, I did overlook on "Exit For" statement, which is now corrected, together with replacing two dots as separator with two tildes.

Cheers


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neons
post Oct 13 2013, 23:13
Post #668





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 23-February 13
Member No.: 106833



Is possible to have some vbs or js script that will display more than 6 image from last.fm in foo_uie_biography panel?
I don't want to download pictures in folder, only to load image in memory and display them in panel?
I use Romor script to display bio text, and it works well.
I search something simmilar for image, to use with foo_uie_biography panel, not in separate wsh panel, and i can't find?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Oct 18 2013, 11:37
Post #669





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



I don't know if anyone else has a problem, but something strange is happens with biography images.
Example for artist Madonna, i have only one image, even if i try different settings in preferences(max artwork count is set to 6), nothing happens.
I tried to reset the page in preferences, even to reinstall foobar, nothing help..
Same happens for all artist...
Does anyone have the same problem?

This post has been edited by mire777: Oct 18 2013, 11:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Oct 18 2013, 11:47
Post #670





Group: Members
Posts: 4448
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



the service has been turned off.

http://www.last.fm/group/Last.fm+Web+Servi...21604/_/2216689
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Oct 18 2013, 11:56
Post #671





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Oct 18 2013, 12:47) *


This is bad. I thought it would happen sooner or later. Maybe it's time to consider some alternatives...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Oct 18 2013, 12:41
Post #672





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



maybe this can help:

http://musicmachinery.com/2013/03/27/getti...-echo-nest-api/

http://static.echonest.com/demo/images/images.html

https://github.com/plamere/en-demos/blob/ma...ges/images.html


I tried to download image with AlbumArt downloader from last.fm, it work ok, i download 10 images without problem...
I know it's not the same, but maybe help..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Oct 18 2013, 17:44
Post #673





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



image response from echonest:

http://developer.echonest.com/api/v4/artis...&format=xml

we can use link to download image in folder and display in foobar...

This post has been edited by mire777: Oct 18 2013, 18:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Oct 18 2013, 23:24
Post #674





Group: Members
Posts: 4448
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (mire777 @ Oct 18 2013, 12:41) *
I tried to download image with AlbumArt downloader from last.fm, it work ok, i download 10 images without problem...
I know it's not the same, but maybe help..


that works well so you might as well use it. the reason it still works is because it uses the website, not the API.

This post has been edited by marc2003: Oct 18 2013, 23:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mire777
post Oct 19 2013, 11:56
Post #675





Group: Members
Posts: 341
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100550



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Oct 19 2013, 00:24) *
QUOTE (mire777 @ Oct 18 2013, 12:41) *
I tried to download image with AlbumArt downloader from last.fm, it work ok, i download 10 images without problem...
I know it's not the same, but maybe help..


that works well so you might as well use it. the reason it still works is because it uses the website, not the API.


I know that. Would you consider to do something with echonest?
You can use link from echonest response to download image, and then display in foobar.
I make vbs script that download image from website, but i don't now how to point script to read echonest response in xml?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

32 Pages V  « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2014 - 00:09