IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Lame extreme command line for EAC ?
swayzak
post Jul 12 2009, 20:05
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



Hi

I'm currently rebuilding a system, but stupidly forgot to keep the command line for the Lame Extreme preset.

Can anyone give me it, so I can just paste in to the External Compression commandline field ?

EAC 0.99 prebeta 5
Lame 3.98.2

thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Jul 12 2009, 20:51
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



Hmm . I've tried inserting this into the default command line:

%l-V 5%l%h-V 2%h -V0 --vbr-new %s %d

Still encoding at 320.

Not really sure what I'm doing here I'm afraid ... unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Jul 12 2009, 20:51
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 463
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



After dedicating 5 seconds to a search in HA:

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=EAC_and_Lame

--preset extreme or -V 0 (identical) is what you want
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Jul 12 2009, 21:03
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (Alexxander @ Jul 12 2009, 14:51) *
After dedicating 5 seconds to a search in HA:

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=EAC_and_Lame

--preset extreme or -V 0 (identical) is what you want


Thanks

Yes I know that, but I'm not particularly skillful at commandline stuff.

Where exactly do i put "-V 0"

As you can see, I tried to put it just behind the vbr-new bit, but didn't work.

Should I keep the preceding commands ("%l-V 5%l%h-V 2%h") etc. ?

I'd be really grateful if someone could just post the exact commandline that I can just paste into the EAC field.

thanks again


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jul 12 2009, 21:06
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



CODE
-V 0 %s %d
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Jul 12 2009, 21:16
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Jul 12 2009, 15:06) *
CODE
-V 0 %s %d


thanks

I've now tried:

"%l-V 5%l%h-V 2%h --vbr-new -V 0 %s %d"

Still 320kbs (reported in FB2K).

Apologies for being thick here, but any further advice ?


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kornchild2002
post Jul 12 2009, 23:12
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2078
Joined: 8-April 05
From: Cincinnati, OH
Member No.: 21277



Just put -V 0 %s %d in the command line. Nothing more, nothing less. That just worked for me with the latest version of EAC and Lame 3.98.2.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Jul 13 2009, 00:40
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (kornchild2002 @ Jul 12 2009, 17:12) *
Just put -V 0 %s %d in the command line. Nothing more, nothing less. That just worked for me with the latest version of EAC and Lame 3.98.2.


Thanks

That seems to give more realistic results - although the average bitrate in FB2K is around 280, which is higher than I used to get with Extreme preset.

What does the default EAC commandline do then (%l-V 5%l%h-V 2%h --vbr-new) ?

PS I'm shocked by how much quicker this (now relatively old) E6600 is compared to retired P4 3.06 - CD extracted/compressed in no time at all !

This post has been edited by swayzak: Jul 13 2009, 00:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Jul 13 2009, 08:33
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 463
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



QUOTE (swayzak @ Jul 13 2009, 01:40) *
That seems to give more realistic results - although the average bitrate in FB2K is around 280, which is higher than I used to get with Extreme preset.

Could it be earlier you used an older Lame version? V 0 = extreme preset and 280 kbps is rather normal for some music genres encoded with Lame v3.98.2.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Jul 13 2009, 09:02
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (Alexxander @ Jul 13 2009, 01:33) *
QUOTE (swayzak @ Jul 13 2009, 01:40) *
That seems to give more realistic results - although the average bitrate in FB2K is around 280, which is higher than I used to get with Extreme preset.

Could it be earlier you used an older Lame version? V 0 = extreme preset and 280 kbps is rather normal for some music genres encoded with Lame v3.98.2.


Yes I was - average kbps was about 225. So the bitrate for this "preset" has increased then ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shadowking
post Jul 13 2009, 10:43
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1526
Joined: 31-January 04
Member No.: 11664



Average is on non-HF noisey content. Try -V0 -Y
This will change HF behaviour for freq > 16khz

Also 3.98 vbr new produces larger files for some presets.


--------------------
Wavpack -b450s0.7
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jul 13 2009, 15:15
Post #12





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE
Yes I was - average kbps was about 225.

For the same album?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Jul 14 2009, 22:43
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Jul 13 2009, 08:15) *
QUOTE
Yes I was - average kbps was about 225.

For the same album?


No

But the average kbps for an album (rock / electronica) before was always around 220-240

I also download stuff encoded at Lame Extreme (with older version of Lame) - these also come out at about 220-240.

Never 280

This post has been edited by swayzak: Jul 14 2009, 22:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jul 15 2009, 15:39
Post #14





Group: Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE
I also download stuff encoded at Lame Extreme (with older version of Lame) - these also come out at about 220-240.

Can you tell exact LAME version and parameters?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Jul 15 2009, 20:42
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Jul 15 2009, 09:39) *
QUOTE
I also download stuff encoded at Lame Extreme (with older version of Lame) - these also come out at about 220-240.

Can you tell exact LAME version and parameters?


Not really - it's AllofMP3 live online encoding and they don't state the exact version of Lame. Many options, but I've always used their Lame Extreme mode (stated as "approx 240 kbps - and this is indeed what I get, not approx. 280).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bodhi
post Jan 10 2010, 10:39
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 10-June 06
Member No.: 31712



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Jul 12 2009, 21:06) *
CODE
-V 0 %s %d

What about:

QUOTE
-V 0 --vbr-new %s %d


?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
psycho
post Jan 10 2010, 11:53
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 241
Joined: 14-October 05
Member No.: 25099



@Bodhi

--vbr-new is obsolete with LAME 3.98 and above.


--------------------
lame -V 0
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bodhi
post Jan 10 2010, 11:56
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 10-June 06
Member No.: 31712



Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Dec 15 2012, 12:49
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



Hello again

I am trying to set up the latest version of EAC (again) on my Win XP / 7 computers.

I can't get that command line to work for Extreme preset - every time I try to close the compression options window it says there is an error !

Can someone advise please ?


thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Dec 15 2012, 15:03
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 489
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



There are new placeholders in EAC:

-V0 %source% will work, or:

-V0+ %source% if using "extended" LAME 3.99.5z.

Be sure to click "Add ID3 tag" box.

This post has been edited by Apesbrain: Dec 15 2012, 15:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Dec 15 2012, 20:25
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Dec 15 2012, 09:03) *
There are new placeholders in EAC:

-V0 %source% will work, or:

-V0+ %source% if using "extended" LAME 3.99.5z.

Be sure to click "Add ID3 tag" box.


Thanks

And the file path setting ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 07:15