IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Can't encode ac3 to ogg
AlexanderTG
post Sep 4 2005, 23:58
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 216
Joined: 26-March 05
Member No.: 20965



Hi

I had 2 ac3 files which I joined together using the following script in cmd:

copy audio1.ac3 + audio2.ac3 /b

Now when I try to encode the new audio1.ac3 it gives me an error halfway through the encoding process?

Is there a fix or a way around this problem?

Ax
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
john33
post Sep 5 2005, 08:48
Post #2


xcLame and OggDropXPd Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3760
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Bracknell, UK
Member No.: 111



I would guess that ac3 doesn't accomodate file chaining in that manner. However, ogg vorbis does, so why don't you just transcode the separate files and then chain the ogg files as you're trying to do with the ac3 files.


--------------------
John
----------------------------------------------------------------
My compiles and utilities are at http://www.rarewares.org/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
riggits
post Sep 5 2005, 10:12
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 148
Joined: 26-December 03
Member No.: 10708



QUOTE (AlexanderTG @ Sep 4 2005, 02:58 PM)
Hi

I had 2 ac3 files which I joined together using the following script in cmd:

copy audio1.ac3 + audio2.ac3 /b

Now when I try to encode the new audio1.ac3 it gives me an error halfway through the encoding process?

Is there a fix or a way around this problem?

Ax
*


You concatenated two files, each with their own header information.....
An easy way to do it right: use foobar2000, select both files and convert with Single File Output.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexanderTG
post Sep 5 2005, 20:13
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 216
Joined: 26-March 05
Member No.: 20965



I deleted the original 2 ac3 files, is it possible to extract them again from the 1 ac3 file I have now?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 6 2005, 23:41
Post #5


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



Yes, if you're really good at hex editing...


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gambit
post Sep 12 2005, 04:32
Post #6


Burrrn developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 917
Joined: 25-November 01
From: Bratislava, Slovakia
Member No.: 534



I was bored, so I wrote this:
http://www.burrrn.net/stuff/AC3.exe

Select the joined file and click "Split". If successful, you will get the original two files.

It's just my modified AC3 test application, but it should work. It's pretty simple, it scans the file and splits from the frame that has a different bitrate/samplerate/channels number.


--------------------
Burrrn - http://www.burrrn.net/
MPEG Audio Collection - http://mac.sourceforge.net/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexanderTG
post Sep 18 2005, 10:34
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 216
Joined: 26-March 05
Member No.: 20965



Thanks for that program.

I tried it and it does not seem to find the join. So I clicked "scan" instead and it gave the following results:



Does this mean that it could not find the join?

Thanks again

Ax
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gambit
post Sep 18 2005, 16:43
Post #8


Burrrn developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 917
Joined: 25-November 01
From: Bratislava, Slovakia
Member No.: 534



QUOTE (AlexanderTG @ Sep 18 2005, 11:34 AM)
Thanks for that program.

I tried it and it does not seem to find the join.  So I clicked "scan" instead and it gave the following results:



Does this mean that it could not find the join?

Thanks again

Ax
*

Unfortunately yes, that's what it means. sad.gif Sorry, you will have to split it manually. Try decoding the file and split at the position where you get the error. You can use BeSplit, or I can upload a modified version of my tool that can split manually.


--------------------
Burrrn - http://www.burrrn.net/
MPEG Audio Collection - http://mac.sourceforge.net/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexanderTG
post Sep 18 2005, 18:01
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 216
Joined: 26-March 05
Member No.: 20965



Please can you upload a modified version of your program! biggrin.gif

But don't do it if its gonna take to long. If its a simple thing for you to do then excellent! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 04:40