IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
High memory usage, leak?
tedych
post Jul 3 2011, 12:20
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 28-June 11
Member No.: 91901



Hi. Recently I switched from Winamp. No fancy interfaces for foobar2000, just made simple customizations through scratchbox.
I'm currently using foobar2000 on Win7 Ent x64 SP1, with 8 gigs of RAM (if that does matter).
I use only waveform seekbar component, and input decoders for AC3, MID, APE.
Version 1.1.7. The first version I officialy install as a main player here.
I experience an increasing memory usage over time, when listening to anything. After 3 days of uptime the memory footprint is way over 120Megs of RAM. I tend to often uptime my PC for over 6 months in a row. All programs run smoothly, and being with Winamp for over 15 years, it was just as stable, not overpassing 30-40MB after that period.
I was expecting Foobar2000 to be at least as stable and even less memory usage. After start it takes 28MB. After I play few songs, it raises to 32, and goes upwards after every played song. A playlist with ~500 tracks only.
And as I said, after 3 days it is already above 120MB. If the player is not playng anything, no memory raising occurs.
Anyone else experiencing this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tedych
post Jul 3 2011, 13:56
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 28-June 11
Member No.: 91901



I'm sorry, I managed to track down the problem with the memory leak.
It was one of the components I use (the only one now) smile.gif . What a luck... I just switched to Foobar2000 after 15 years with Winamp, and ran into a problem with pretty much the only component I liked to make my foobar somewhat prettier and usable.

This post has been edited by tedych: Jul 3 2011, 13:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jul 4 2011, 03:53
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (tedych @ Jul 3 2011, 13:56) *
I'm sorry, I managed to track down the problem with the memory leak.
It was one of the components I use (the only one now)
To quote myself from a recent post:
QUOTE
Which was. . . ?
(. . .) as a general principle, it would be nice if users who found their answer might mention what it was, in case anyone else had read and wondered the same thing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zao
post Jul 6 2011, 14:56
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 908
Joined: 25-September 03
From: Umeň, Sweden
Member No.: 9001



It was my waveform seekbar, 0.2.12.
There's a lovely leak there due to missing local cleanup on an access violation, which in the foobar2000 world is a non-fatal error.

That particular leak was fixed in the (not properly released) 0.2.13.1 in the component thread, and as far as I know, there's no major leaks in that version.


--------------------
Zao shang yong zao nong zao rang zao ren zao.
To, early in the morning, use a chisel to build a bathtub makes impatient people hot-tempered.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jul 6 2011, 18:43
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Thanks, Zao!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th September 2014 - 23:19