IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Using FAAC for encoding movie audio track
Dark Shadow
post Oct 11 2012, 09:12
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 1-March 02
Member No.: 1424



Hi,

For capturing analogue TV shows (yes, old stuff isn't it?), I'm using mencoder and x264. Not sure about what to use for the audio track though.
With mencoder, I can only use FAAC and no other AAC encoder, at least without going through a hassle. Now I wonder, is that better or worse than lame at the same bitrate? Bitrate should be around 80 or 96, definitely not above 128 (if using AAC, for lame I'd go with 128 to be on the safe side).

I tried looking for information about this, but most sources are from 2005 and therefore not very up-to-date. How does FAAC (1.28) compare nowadays?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LithosZA
post Oct 11 2012, 11:51
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 26-February 11
Member No.: 88525



FAAC does not do well at all at 128Kbit/s last time I checked. You would be better off using LAME or an alternative AAC encoder such as Apple's AAC encoder.

Edit: I don't know mencoder, but Vorbis might be the best option by muxing Vorbis and H.264 into a MKV container.

This post has been edited by LithosZA: Oct 11 2012, 11:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlloyge
post Oct 11 2012, 12:15
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 695
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



I've encoded, with Handbrake (which uses faac aac encoder), numerous DVDs, with average bitrate of 112 kbit stereo. No problem as far as I can hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jossilint
post Oct 11 2012, 15:18
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 2-August 12
Member No.: 101956



ffmpeg with hi-quality fdk-aac integrated does the job too.

ffmpeg -i INFILENAME -c:a libfdk_aac -profile:a aac_low -flags +qscale -global_quality 3 -afterburner 1 -vn OUTPUT_AAC.m4a
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dark Shadow
post Oct 15 2012, 09:39
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 1-March 02
Member No.: 1424



Thank you all for your suggestions and recommendations. I think I'll just use lame preset 96, my capture card does only mono anyway, and that should be enough for that task and is easy and unproblematic.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd August 2014 - 07:49