IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Help with acdir and lame
ilikedirtthe2nd
post Dec 9 2005, 15:51
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 26-October 01
From: Germany
Member No.: 352



Hi,

what I'm trying to do is using a wav image + cuesheet as input for lame to automaticly create files using the "--nogap" option.

I found info about lame with cuesheet input here. The patch is outdated and it's successor is "acdir" which interprets and pipes the cuesheet to lame or other encoders.

Now, I want to to exactly the same thing the patch did with acdir: Take an image and encode it to a series of files using the --nogap option, but acdir seems to refuse the setting of --nogap or better: it parses it to lame but no mp3s are created.

I know that --nogap is quite a cripple workaround, but I'd still like to be able to create mp3s that play gapless on hardware players, that don't read the lame info tag, in one step - you know most don't...

Anyone has got the same problem as I have an solved it? wink.gif

Regards; ilikedirt
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Dec 9 2005, 16:45
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



I'm not really familiar with --nogap - however I see that it requires you to pass all files in one command line to LAME.

ACDIR works by passing data to LAME one track at a time - so I don't see how it could work in one step.

The way I see it, you need to get ACDIR to split the wave to track waves (using --extract), and then use something like GLOB.EXE to send them all to LAME - and then presumably delete the temporary track waves.

Whether this multi-step process (which could be done easily with a batch file) is to your taste, or whether there are simply easier ways of going about things, is another matter.

If this process is acceptable I'm sure we could help with comand lines if you have problems.


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ilikedirtthe2nd
post Dec 9 2005, 17:55
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 26-October 01
From: Germany
Member No.: 352



Thank you! I thought acdir was somehow able to parse the data in one commandline as the patched lame would be. Where can I find this GLOB.EXE? I might not need acdir at all...

Basicly I just don't want to have to parse the files to lame in one commandline manually like this

lame --other_options --nogaptags --nogap track01.wav track02.wav track03.wav ...

EDIT: I think I found GLOB.EXE - will be playing with it a bit and report back if I have any problems wink.gif laugh.gif

EDIT2: Hm GLOB doesn't have much variables. Is it possible to parse the list of files glob displays into a single lame commandline? unsure.gif

EDIT3: I also tried creating one big mp3 + cue and cutting it using Musiccutter. Works fine, exept it ruines the tags (no biggie copy these with foobar) and the vbr header is of course wrong (I can also fix this with foobar but it only works file per file not on a number of files...)

Thanks so far...

This post has been edited by ilikedirtthe2nd: Dec 9 2005, 19:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Dec 9 2005, 19:41
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



Your GLOB command would be something like:

GLOB.EXE -c LAME.EXE -V2 --vbr-new --nogaptags --nogap *.wav

I.e:

GLOB -c <command> <file pattern>

This post has been edited by Synthetic Soul: Dec 9 2005, 19:43


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Dec 9 2005, 19:49
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



The combined commands may be something like:

ACDIR.EXE -o "mp3\%n - $~t.wav" --extract CDImage.cue

GLOB.EXE -c LAME.EXE -V2 --vbr-new --nogaptags --nogap mp3\*.wav


Those commands assume that everything is all in the same directory (files and apps), or that the apps are in your PATH (i.e.: system32).

As you can probably see, this will set ACDIR to extract all tracks to a folder called "mp3", and then use GLOB to pick up only those waves in "mp3" and pass them in a list to LAME's --pregap switch.

Edit: The main problem I can see with this is that you are losing the ability to tag the files using ACDIR's variables. Maybe you could somehow use Tag as a third command to then tag the files - either from filename, or maybe an external file. I'm not that up on tagging from a file but I believe that Tag can do it.

This post has been edited by Synthetic Soul: Dec 9 2005, 19:57


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ilikedirtthe2nd
post Dec 10 2005, 12:24
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 26-October 01
From: Germany
Member No.: 352



QUOTE (Synthetic Soul @ Dec 9 2005, 06:41 PM)
Your GLOB command would be something like:

GLOB.EXE -c LAME.EXE -V2 --vbr-new --nogaptags --nogap *.wav

I.e:

GLOB -c <command> <file pattern>
*


Hi again smile.gif Yes, exactly what I was looking for biggrin.gif but: doesn't seem to work here... I have GLOB and LAME in the PATH but using the command

CODE
glob -c lame *.wav


GLOB only lists the files but does not start encoding through lame sad.gif GLOB is not very verbose tongue.gif

Loosing tags is no problem I'll use TAG in a batch file.

Thanks for you help! If I get this to work I'll add it to the rockbox wiki to simplify other people's lifes happy.gif

EDIT: Maybe the topic title is a bit misleading now... I don't think I need acdir wink.gif

This post has been edited by ilikedirtthe2nd: Dec 10 2005, 12:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Dec 10 2005, 14:46
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



QUOTE (ilikedirtthe2nd @ Dec 10 2005, 11:24 AM)
CODE
glob -c lame *.wav
Won't work

CODE
glob -c lame --nogap *.wav


..will. (as long as you are running the command from the same directory in which the wave files reside.)


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ilikedirtthe2nd
post Dec 10 2005, 14:57
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 26-October 01
From: Germany
Member No.: 352



No sorry, still dosn't work. sad.gif

I tried

CODE
glob -c lame --nogap *.wav


output is:

lame
--nogap
01.wav
02.wav
03.wav

This post has been edited by ilikedirtthe2nd: Dec 10 2005, 15:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Drenholm
post Dec 10 2005, 17:18
Post #9





Group: Banned
Posts: 237
Joined: 13-October 05
Member No.: 25076



I can't find any mention of the --nogap switch on the official site's documentation and this leads me to believe that it may be outdated or useless. Gapless playback is already included in LAME-encoded MP3s by way of the encoder delay and padding tag fields.

What purpose do you wish to use this switch for and do you have the documentation describing it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ilikedirtthe2nd
post Dec 10 2005, 18:37
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 26-October 01
From: Germany
Member No.: 352



QUOTE (Drenholm @ Dec 10 2005, 04:18 PM)
I can't find any mention of the --nogap switch on the official site's documentation and this leads me to believe that it may be outdated or useless. Gapless playback is already included in LAME-encoded MP3s by way of the encoder delay and padding tag fields.

What purpose do you wish to use this switch for and do you have the documentation describing it?
*


--nogap is still there. it's in lame --longhelp. As I understand it, it fills the encoder padding space with the beginning of the following track. Of course this is useless on devices that interpret the lame tag - it's just that only the Rio Karma and rockbox devices do so...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Dec 10 2005, 20:16
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



QUOTE (Drenholm @ Dec 10 2005, 04:18 PM)
I can't find any mention of the --nogap switch on the official site's documentation and this leads me to believe that it may be outdated or useless.
I couldn't see any mention of it in the HTML docs either, but as ilikedirtthe2nd says, it is listed under --longhelp.

Also, I tend to test any command line that I suggest to members, as I don't like to be dishing out false information. I have tested --pregap and, although I haven't tested the gapless nature, I can confirm that LAME does not complain.

QUOTE (ilikedirtthe2nd @ Dec 10 2005, 01:57 PM)
No sorry, still dosn't work. sad.gif

I tried

CODE
glob -c lame --nogap *.wav


output is:

lame
--nogap
01.wav
02.wav
03.wav
I don't understand - that command was tested and works fine for me.

I really don't understand the output that you get.

You don't have a batch file called "lame.bat/.cmd" in the same folder or anything?

FYI I am using GLOB that comes with REACT. If I run GLOB on its own I see:

CODE
Glob - A file globbing utility
   Algorithm and original implementation by Matthias Wandel (MWandel@rim.net)
   Extensions and C++ interface by Joshua Jensen (jjensen@workspacewhiz.com)
   Minor additions by Tycho

Usage: Glob -i pattern patterns
  -e pattern = Exclusive pattern.  All ignore patterns are not used.  Only
               files matching the exclusive pattern are counted.
  -i pattern = Ignore patterns of the name [pattern].  Close with a
               forward slash to ignore a directory.
  -c         = Execute as a command. First file is taken as the executable.
  -v         = Verbose the command that is executed when using -c.


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ilikedirtthe2nd
post Dec 10 2005, 20:18
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 26-October 01
From: Germany
Member No.: 352



Seems like I have downloaded an other / different version of GLOB. I will download REACT then it should finally work wink.gif

OK works now, the glob.exe in REACT is a modified version... Thank you for your help

This post has been edited by ilikedirtthe2nd: Dec 10 2005, 20:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Dec 10 2005, 20:55
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



Ah, good news.

I've only now noticed the "Minor additions by Tycho" part.

I'm sorry, I should have noticed this earlier - it would have eased the pain some. smile.gif


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Drenholm
post Dec 11 2005, 11:13
Post #14





Group: Banned
Posts: 237
Joined: 13-October 05
Member No.: 25076



Oh, thanks for letting me know. smile.gif It's just I hadn't seen it mentioned before.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th September 2014 - 19:55