IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Foobar using 245 MB of memory
sevenarts
post Sep 27 2013, 15:31
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 5-September 12
Member No.: 102912



As the topic says, my Foobar is taking up 245 MB of memory as soon as it's started up, and more if I'm doing anything in the app. It can be a little slow at times, music playback sometimes halts and stutters if I'm moving files around through File Operations, transcoding, or applying ReplayGain. It also crashes at time. I often use File Operations to move tracks from my C drive to an external drive, and if I move too many files in one go, Foobar stops working and goes into "not responding" mode and can only be stopped from the Task Manager. I have to move the files in smaller batches of maybe 30 files at a time.

I have, admittedly, a pretty loaded setup:

- almost a terabyte on my C drive and another 500 GB on an external drive, all housed in the same library, totaling around 88,000 files
- a layout (in Default, not Columns UI) that includes Album List, SimPlaylist as my main Playlist, ESPlaylist as a cover browser, and Playlist Organizer to view all playlists in a tree
- other components including Audioscrobbler, ipod Manager, Autobackup, Playback Statistics, Text Display UI Element, Masstagger, etc.

Is this about normal considering how much music I have and how many components I have? Or is something else going on? I love how I've been able to customize Foobar but also hate the slowness and crashes.

Here's a screenshot of my setup if it helps anyone tell what's going on here.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Sep 27 2013, 16:01
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1286
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



What you write about shouldn't bog down the foobs like that. Can you post a list of all your components?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sevenarts
post Sep 27 2013, 16:05
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 5-September 12
Member No.: 102912



Besides the ones I already listed, I have Columns UI installed (but not used currently), Pop Up Panels, WSH Script, and that's it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daeron
post Sep 27 2013, 16:19
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 362
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 59818



How many autoplaylists do you use? How about excessive use of titleformatting (especially in your library viewer)? Those can ramp up some usage in my experience.

Otherwise you could just make a backup of your client and get rid of elements one-by-one to see if anything uses significantly more than expected.

Also increasing output buffer size might help to avoid skips under heavy load.

This post has been edited by Daeron: Sep 27 2013, 16:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Sep 27 2013, 16:20
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4439
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



perhaps try removing the EsPlaylist cover browser temporarily. if it's set to browse your library, i believe it will load all covers into memory which might be a problem on a large collection.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ouroboros
post Sep 27 2013, 18:37
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 289
Joined: 30-May 08
From: UK
Member No.: 53927



QUOTE (sevenarts @ Sep 27 2013, 15:31) *
Is this about normal considering how much music I have and how many components I have? Or is something else going on?
I have 100,000 tracks, ESPlaylist, Simplaylist, 3 separate Facets panels, foo_jesus, plus 8 autoplaylists, and mine uses ~215 MB i.e. roughly the same as yours.

QUOTE (sevenarts @ Sep 27 2013, 15:31) *
...music playback sometimes halts and stutters if I'm moving files around through File Operations, transcoding, or applying ReplayGain. It also crashes at time. I often use File Operations to move tracks from my C drive to an external drive, and if I move too many files in one go, Foobar stops working ...


What sort of "external drive"? USB, Windows server, Linux server, dedicated NAS? If it's over a network, how are you connected - wired, wireless?

Have you checked your C partition for errors? What about the (various) Windows event logs (Control Panel - Computer Management - System Tools - Event Viewer) - are they showing any disk related events or errors?

This post has been edited by Ouroboros: Sep 27 2013, 18:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Sep 27 2013, 19:21
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1004
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



Please follow the Support Forum guidelines, point 2., to make sure you are not using any broken components. Regardless of RAM usage foobar2000 should not crash.

This post has been edited by Kohlrabi: Sep 27 2013, 19:22


--------------------
Audiophiles live in constant fear of jitter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
larryfine
post Sep 27 2013, 19:28
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 21-September 10
Member No.: 84040



Well, I suggest you stop monitoring library.

Preferences-> Media Library-> right-click path-> [unchek monitor for changes while running, and leave only run on startup].

This will stop the continuous reading of the hard drives, and perhaps there is a slight improvement in overall performance.

I have 98000 tracks and fb2k occupies only 130 MB of memory.

Cheers.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sevenarts
post Sep 28 2013, 01:09
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 5-September 12
Member No.: 102912



Thanks for th suggestions, all. A few things:

- I do have lots of auto playlists and lots of complex title formatting in the Album List. I deleted some of both and brought the memory usage down to around 200 MB now, though I'm still getting the lagging.

- Removing ES Playlist temporarily didn't seem to have much impact. It doesn't browse my whole library anyway, only the current playlist.

- The external drive is a USB drive. It's not always on, and the problems seem to occur whether it's on or off.

- No hard disk errors or event viewer problems, the computer works well other than Foobar.

- All components check out fine.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wander
post Sep 28 2013, 11:45
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 25-May 11
From: Germany
Member No.: 90967



Try removing all of your panels one by one and write down which one consumes how much memory. Remember to backup your config, just in case.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 20:17